We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Amsterdam
Ranked #194 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    63
    12
    12
See reviews for
16
164
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Location and price were the positives. Within walking distance to just about everywhere (if you enjoy walking), otherwise public transport stops nearby. We found it was one of the cheaper options which was in the city and not in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were small with no real view but it was ok as we didn't spend much time in the room. If you need a place to crash at the end of a long walking and sightseeing day, which is within walking distance to many places and affordable, this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very close to Leidseplein square and all the bars and cafe's. Bus, train and canal boat stops nearby. Rooms were adequate, contained everything needed for a good nights sleep. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we booked our rather last-minute stay at Hotel D'Amsterdam because it seemed like a good location and it was so reasonably priced. We feel like we discovered a well-kept secret. Our room is small but no more so than the rooms in other major cities, and it is clean with a contemporary decor. The bed is quite comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. The location is wonderful with restaurants, coffee, public transportation, and tours within a 5 minute walk. Dennis and Linda are so friendly and helpful and gave several suggestions for restaurants and things to see. If we get a chance to come back to this great city, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2013..Great value for your money, rooms were a good size and very clean. Its location is great also as you are only a short walk away from Leidseplein.. Stairs were a bit of a shock for us lol but that's to be expected in Amsterdam :) (lift is available in hotel) Overall we were happy with our room and found the staff to be nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I feel a bit sorry for hotel staff that was very helpful and kind, but there are issues with this hotel need to be seriously taken into consideration before booking this hotel :
Tiny rooms - the smallest we ever been and so is the bathroom (airplane feeling) .
The matters is awful!! very soft like it saw better days... so sleep quality is poor .
no water pressure in shower (maybe because we stayed on the 4th floor)
The room wasn't clean during our stay at all. I only noticed that the trash can was unloaded once.

Besides that , as I wrote the staff is very friendly and helpful , the location is good, around 5 minutes from leidseplein area and there are also nice trendy restaurants and cafes near by at Overtoom st.


Bottom line: If you looking for good location hotel and don't mind you night sleep this is a decent value .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#212 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#268 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Amsterdam

Property: Hotel d'Amsterdam
Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 4, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel d'Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing