We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not the best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Ranked #301 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Amsterdam Hostel centre is not the best hostel. The entry stairs smelled like vomit and the bathrooms were pretty sketchy. They'll charge you a lot if you miss the checkout time even if it is for a few minutes. The only positive of my stay at this hostel was the location which is not bad.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    35
    31
    39
See reviews for
1
8
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Myself and 4 other girls in our early 20's stayed here at the beginning of July, for 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. The other reviews make out the hostel to be absolutely horrendous, but in my opinion the hostel does the job.
Cons - not the cleanest, shower is small and shared between 6, noisy street, no air con, and not the best social room/breakfast.
Pros - a very good location, just off one of the biggest canals, and on a great street for nightlife & restaurants. Can come and go as you please, just given a passcode. Also, free wifi in all rooms which is not something all hostels offer.
People may have complained about the stairs in this hostel, however, most places in Amsterdam are old dutch houses - meaning very narrow staircases and several floors. This was the same in an upmarket B&b I stayed in Amsterdam previously, and is not something specific to the hostel.

In summary I felt safe with the security and lockers, we were hardly in the hostel to notice its shortcomings, however I would not recommend it to those looking for peace and quiet, or those who like to spend a lot of time in their accommodation. It simply does the job for interrailers/travellers looking for a place to keep their bags and sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I made a booking for 2 persons a month before my arrival. The booking was accepted, I received a booking confirmation and an amount was debited from my credic card for the reservation.

Driving to the hostel, at 7 PM in the evening I got a call from the hostel my credit card was refused and they cancelled my reservation, there was no more place in the hostel. Instead of that the hostel advised another hostel, 5km more outside the center and more expensive.

It's clear to me that they overbooked or made another mistake (a small fee was already debited from my credit card for the reservation). Instead of admitting this mistake and making up for it they completely failed me and my friend.

I advise everyone to not book at this hostel, you might get ditched and not have any place to stay when you arrive in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hostel proposes one of the best location in Amsterdam.
Price: It is not cheap, but it was way cheaper than every other places in A'dam when I stayed there for the Easter weekend.

That's an hostel for those who do not care about comfort and just want to sleep in the center of the city, do not expect quality, cleanness, etc...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThibaultBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at what was then the Hotel Granada in March 2011, with a group of friends. I'd go so far as to say it was the worst accommodation I've ever experienced. The room was hideously unclean, with stained and probably unwashed bedding, what appeared to be blood on the wall and a ripped piece of cloth masquerading as a curtain on the very dirty window.

The showering facilities were an absolute joke. The one "shower" was in what was clearly once a small cupboard about 3ft by 3ft big, with a motion-sensitive light that went off every 2 minutes plunging you into complete darkness mid-shower. There was nowhere to put your fresh clothes so i literally wrapped them up in a bin liner so they'd stay somewhat dry & threw them on the second i was done. It's was ridiculous!

The only good thing about this place was the location. Well placed within Amsterdam and close to many amenities. The Bourbon Street music club across the street was also fantastic and a great place to hang out at until we absolutely had to go back to the room.

All in all, never again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireUK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The room I got seemed like jail, no windows and tiny with 2 bunkbeds. It had a sink inside, really dark and depressive. The shared bathroom is horrible. It's got no courtain so everything gets wet, they leave a floor squeege for you to clean once you're finished.
There's no kitchen, the reception is very small and reception opens at 9Am. The 1st floor bathroom is beside reception, so it can't be used until they open.
Entrance is a bit hidden.

To be fair, it's well located and although staff was ok, the place is not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I rate it 4 stars because this hostel does not deserve the 2 star average. I have been to many hostels so:
We were 3 single students straight out of college living in New York, on our first trip to Europe alone. The hostel was tiny, lots of stairs, breakfast was very limited, bathrooms were tiny and rooms were cramped - but it was a cheap and safe, and the staff was helpful. We had no other expectations. One night when we came back super wasted the manager came out and told us to keep it down on the staircase and go back into our room - at the time we were upset, but you know what, it was 3AM and we were wasted - he was right. Internet was pretty fast and free. Location pretty good. If you are looking for comfort and quiet - this is probably not for you. But then again, you better be prepared to pay at least double for a similar location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#285 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Property: Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13/1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing