We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, badly kept hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Ranked #328 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sat watching a mouse run across the room where you are supposed to be sleeping isn't what I had in mind when I thought about staying here. Dirty toilets, dirty rooms, with a nice view of a restaurants bin shed. Stinks. Not impressed at all.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

if you're looking for a family hostel-this is not the one to go for with it's rooms a similar size to a sleeper trains dormitories HOWEVER if you are looking for a cheap and easy place to spend the night with no curfew and a window to throw up out of after a heavy night it was perfect. The staff were useful and very friendly especially a young man named Benny who let us keep our luggage at the hostel after check out time until our flight later that evening. although the stairs are a little risky and it is pretty hard to find we had a wonderful stay, were given a free map and were pointed in the direction of the nearest Albert Heijn! if travelling again I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As what felt like the only budget level tourists to visit Amsterdam and NOT want to get stoned and wasted 24/7, we figured we’d be fighting a losing battle finding a good hostel to begin with.
There wasn’t too much to fault with the hostel itself, yes the stairs were like a ladder, and there was a level of ‘student sharehouse’ type grime to the place that only a full renovation could fix… but from the other reviews on this site, I gather unless you pay a fortune this is the norm in Amsterdam.
There were pro-active cleaners around the hostel each day, so besides residual wear-and-tear tattiness it was reasonably clean, and the linen seemed clean enough too. Beds were comfy and shower was always hot. Staff seemed friendly and helpful enough, and though wifi was at times patchy, we were able to get on the free network from the restaurant downstairs resulting in non-stop access.
The biggest downside to this hostel is the other clientele. It was packed out with the kind of obnoxious Australian party kids that make us embarrassed to admit our nationality in cities like Amsterdam.
First couple of nights were fine, but on our last night our room was overtaken by a group of Gold Coast bogans who were young and self-centred enough to think that the fact they were in a youth hostel meant they could have total disrespect for everyone around them and no-one else should care.
If you want to get simultaneously wasted and stoned, deliriously assure your friends that their odd miniskirt and beanie combo is ‘totes stylin’ ‘, party loudly in your dorm room until midnight, before you go out to seek some ‘bangin’ ‘ members of the opposite sex … then come home at 3am to strew bottles and tomato sauce smeared chip packets across the floor of the room then this is the place for YOU!
If not, perhaps reconsider this hostel. Trams are so frequent and quick that taking the compromise of staying a bit out of the inner city is worth it if you’re actually in Amsterdam for the art, architecture and culinary experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it's the perfect location if you want to go out at night in Amsterdam - less than a 5 minute walk away from the best nightlife. Friendly staff. Wifi only worked in reception. Rooms were very small and our dorm for 5 was very cramped and the toilets and showers weren't very clean. However if you're planning to go out this is a good hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went on interrail, and this was definitely the worst hostel we've stayed at during our trip. Being 5, we booked a 6 people dorm, but then we found out we would have been 7 and a mattress had been placed on the floor for the new guest. Then, the lockers didn't work with our normal locks and if you wanted to use them you had to rent a lock at the reception (obviously paying). We couldn't pay with a credit card but only cash and the receptionist gave us no receipt at all. Then when we left we asked if we could leave our luggage there for the afternoon (as you do in every hostel in the world) and they said no...crazy. So, my advice is to book in another hostel and STAY AWAY from this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisisambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel had lovely and helpful staff, who even happily replace your key card for you when you loose it at 3am on nights out and wake up the whole hostel trying to find it. Tiny winding stairs also make being drunk difficult, but youre going to get that everywhere in amsterdam. proper tiny toilet but its frequently cleaned. warm showers. cosy bed. we had a balcony! right next to loads of restaurants and bars, including a veggie place. right next to a tram stop. one problem, no kitchen, and if you want a mug of hot water you have to pay 50c, which was ridiculous. hot water should obviously be free. free wifi which reached my room which was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay here was two nights, but had trouble getting in Paris and arrived early the morning after we were meant to arrive. The hostel manager let us into our room at 6am because we had to pay for the night before, they were not rude about it and extremely helpful.

The room itself is small, but clean. The rooms can be stuffy but the manager came and turned on the fan to air the room out!

The staff were lovely, friendly an helpful.

We enjoyed our stay, the beds comfortable, there are lockers to put your valuables (bring a padlock though) and the doors are secure!

For your travelling backpackers, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reneealyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
914 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
782 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13/1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $22 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing