We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the young and delirious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Ranked #323 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
On the Road
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For the young and delirious”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As what felt like the only budget level tourists to visit Amsterdam and NOT want to get stoned and wasted 24/7, we figured we’d be fighting a losing battle finding a good hostel to begin with.
There wasn’t too much to fault with the hostel itself, yes the stairs were like a ladder, and there was a level of ‘student sharehouse’ type grime to the place that only a full renovation could fix… but from the other reviews on this site, I gather unless you pay a fortune this is the norm in Amsterdam.
There were pro-active cleaners around the hostel each day, so besides residual wear-and-tear tattiness it was reasonably clean, and the linen seemed clean enough too. Beds were comfy and shower was always hot. Staff seemed friendly and helpful enough, and though wifi was at times patchy, we were able to get on the free network from the restaurant downstairs resulting in non-stop access.
The biggest downside to this hostel is the other clientele. It was packed out with the kind of obnoxious Australian party kids that make us embarrassed to admit our nationality in cities like Amsterdam.
First couple of nights were fine, but on our last night our room was overtaken by a group of Gold Coast bogans who were young and self-centred enough to think that the fact they were in a youth hostel meant they could have total disrespect for everyone around them and no-one else should care.
If you want to get simultaneously wasted and stoned, deliriously assure your friends that their odd miniskirt and beanie combo is ‘totes stylin’ ‘, party loudly in your dorm room until midnight, before you go out to seek some ‘bangin’ ‘ members of the opposite sex … then come home at 3am to strew bottles and tomato sauce smeared chip packets across the floor of the room then this is the place for YOU!
If not, perhaps reconsider this hostel. Trams are so frequent and quick that taking the compromise of staying a bit out of the inner city is worth it if you’re actually in Amsterdam for the art, architecture and culinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    39
    33
    44
See reviews for
2
8
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it's the perfect location if you want to go out at night in Amsterdam - less than a 5 minute walk away from the best nightlife. Friendly staff. Wifi only worked in reception. Rooms were very small and our dorm for 5 was very cramped and the toilets and showers weren't very clean. However if you're planning to go out this is a good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went on interrail, and this was definitely the worst hostel we've stayed at during our trip. Being 5, we booked a 6 people dorm, but then we found out we would have been 7 and a mattress had been placed on the floor for the new guest. Then, the lockers didn't work with our normal locks and if you wanted to use them you had to rent a lock at the reception (obviously paying). We couldn't pay with a credit card but only cash and the receptionist gave us no receipt at all. Then when we left we asked if we could leave our luggage there for the afternoon (as you do in every hostel in the world) and they said no...crazy. So, my advice is to book in another hostel and STAY AWAY from this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisisambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Louth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel had lovely and helpful staff, who even happily replace your key card for you when you loose it at 3am on nights out and wake up the whole hostel trying to find it. Tiny winding stairs also make being drunk difficult, but youre going to get that everywhere in amsterdam. proper tiny toilet but its frequently cleaned. warm showers. cosy bed. we had a balcony! right next to loads of restaurants and bars, including a veggie place. right next to a tram stop. one problem, no kitchen, and if you want a mug of hot water you have to pay 50c, which was ridiculous. hot water should obviously be free. free wifi which reached my room which was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay here was two nights, but had trouble getting in Paris and arrived early the morning after we were meant to arrive. The hostel manager let us into our room at 6am because we had to pay for the night before, they were not rude about it and extremely helpful.

The room itself is small, but clean. The rooms can be stuffy but the manager came and turned on the fan to air the room out!

The staff were lovely, friendly an helpful.

We enjoyed our stay, the beds comfortable, there are lockers to put your valuables (bring a padlock though) and the doors are secure!

For your travelling backpackers, this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneealyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

So first, the hostel rooms are tiny. Too tiny for an average sized person. Bathrooms are also tiny, there's about 5 inches from the toilet to the door, which is not enough at all. The showers flood, and are basically closets with tiles on them. The place was quite dirty, and didn't feel very hospitable. There are no common areas and no kitchen. It's a decent location, around a 20 minute walk to Amsterdam center. I had no incident with the staff, though I only interacted with them once.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDuJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, but for the price you pay you don't get a kitchen, the shower is basically a cupboard and so are the toilets. There's also no communal area (well except for the reception) but that's tiny and you wouldn't wanna hang out there. Rooms are tiny and overcrowded, staff were ok to me but I fully believe the other reviews. So many better places if you shop around !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liambancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#236 of 368 in Amsterdam
739 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#297 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,903 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 368 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Centre

Property: Amsterdam Hostel Centre
Address: Leidsekruisstraat 13/1, 1017 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Granada)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Granada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing