We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #114 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Artemis has convenient location in the middle of business park and close enough to Schiphol airport. All in all everything works: hotel is clean and service friendly but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was very basic. Gym room was small and not equipped well enough considering the overall level of the hotel. Overall a "just fine" experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    526
    211
    78
    41
See reviews for
88
526
42
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe. UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here, two couples, for a long, holiday weekend break. The hotel itself was commendable but not ideal for a holiday to Amsterdam because of its location. (I endorse what previous reviewers have already said). The hotel is located on what is principally a business park, as a consequence the hotel is also, principally, designed for business people. On the Saturday and Sunday evening the hotel and bar were fairly quiet. On Monday night, however, it was chocker with delegates and quite noisy.
We also agree with the previous reviewers concern with the glass, un-lockable door to the bathroom/toilet. We were very impressed with the reception and restaurant staff but had concerns over the lady who looked after the room. Although there was a kettle the only thing to add to the hot water was sugar! Yes, we could have asked but it's not a facility we required, However after three nights you would have thought she would have checked on the situation. Also, on the second morning, returning from breakfast about 9.30 am we found our room was not only being cleaned but the bed linen was being changed!! We still had a further night to stay! We also had to wait about 15minutes before she had finished!

To sum up, we enjoyed a inexpensive trip to this beautiful city, we stayed in a lovely hotel. The price we paid was that the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pianist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thank you once again to Trip Advisor which helped me to book this lovely friendly hotel although not in the Amsterdam town itself the hotel has very easy access via trams or local bus service. The hotel staff are very attentative to your needs and have plenty of travel information about trips which can be booked there and travelling around locally. We managed very well with tram service and used the local bus. The hotel is very good quality, it is very clean and tidy and the full breakfast buffet is superb. Our hotel room was 601, an executive upgrade was provided to our delight as we had a problem with our booking with the hotel direct. Our room provided us a fantastic good night sleep, excellent bathroom facilities, complimentary room bar of daily Pringles, water and 2 cans of Heineken. Our nights sleep was enhanced by a comfy bed and of course peace and quiet, a luxury you would not receive if you stay central Amsterdam as the town is bustling with noise at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay prior to a Norwegian fjords Cruise and did not feel regret that we needed to travel to sightsee. I would recommend this light and airy and spacious hotel for business and leisure and recommend the outdoor seating area for a peaceful sunny spot of chilling with a drink after a day of fantastic sightseeing as Holland has so much to see and so much beauty to see. Hope you have a great time there too.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet. However a higher floor will provide better views. If you get a good deal on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A nice hotel with kind stuff and and amazing breakfast. When you are going as turist, position is not so great because you need to travel about 20 min with tram until you reach center. Parking place is 19 euro per day, that seems a bit too much but it is very easy to reach the hotel from highway. Rooms are clean , the only thing that a bit bothered me was the bathroom with milk glass door. That wasnt even a real door, so you can kinda see everything inside :) Anyway I had a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irisicaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 nights on a business trip to a company that was 3 minutes walk away so from that perspective, it was good. However, as per previous reviews, it isnt close to the centre of Amsterdam and there is little around it ie no shops, cafes, restaurants so you really are "out in the sticks"

I had the breakfast and while decent, there was no variety on any of the days. I ate one night in the restaurant and it was good food but quite pricey as they can charge what they want as you arent going to wander off anywhere else locally.

I travelled a couple of times into the centre via tram 2 (10 minute walk from the hotel) and if you are heading into the Dam square area, its a 30 minute ride. This route didnt appear to have as many trams on it as others so both times i used it, i had to wait at least 15 mins for a tram and it was then very crowded. Travel from the airport was easy - 5 euros on bus 195 and it stops just around the corner from the hotel - this seemed to run every 30 mins until 7pm.

The rooms were adequate for the price paid - some of the staff very helpful and friendly, others quite abrupt - same as everywhere really i suppose. If you are working at IBM, NCR or PWC and want to be local then this is the place. If i returned, i would head into the city and travel out each day to work so there were different places to eat/drink at night.

Room Tip: If you need Wifi like i did then definitely dont use room 201. I got put in here first and had to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is not central but the transport links are excellent and you can buy your tram tickets at reception. The staff are extremely helpful, courteous and polite. We were helped by a young man on checking in and out, during the latter he realised we were on our way to the airport and as it was late evening/early morning he said we wouldn't be able to buy refreshments as everywhere would be closed. He went to get us coffees and then, when our taxi arrived, he got us more coffee to take with us. Very kind and we were most grateful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Artemis was hard to find at first and we wondered where the hell we were as it was a Sunday and everywhere was deserted, however The Artemis caters to the huge business park that surrounds it and was a great find away from the hustle & bustle of the town. the staff could not have been more helpful & friendly on reception. We soon discovered that we were just a 10 minute bus ride away from the town and even about a fifteen minute or so ride to the airport so you are perfectly situated if you want peace & quiet as well as the fun of the city. The hotel even provides bicycles and we took one out to Vondel Park and had a great afternoon getting stoned in the park and rushing back like maniacs on the bikes from what we now call The Great Storm of Amsterdam, which we now realise was only the noise of the trams and not a crazy storm heading our way in the clear blue skies (we wondered why everyone else was just lying around in the sunshine unaware of this huge storm)! Once you know where the hotel is then it is easy to find and is a lovely tranquil place with a nice restaurant (although quiet & a limited menu if your budget is tight) that has a lovely outside area with a large pond/small canal with ducks & lillies. It was lovely out there. The rooms were more than adequate, were nice and clean with big comfy beds & had modern bathroom & a fridge. A balcony would have made it perfect but then we may have just been stoned the entire time if we had had one! This hotel is definitely recommended and we intend to go back as it was very reasonably priced too. Get off bus at Louis Armstrong Strausse

Room Tip: They even have smoking rooms available if you need that kind of thing but with only a window so we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
2.1 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing