We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing attentive staff / modern rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing attentive staff / modern rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our first impression of Artemis Hotel was that it was a glitzy venue but stuck in a sterile business park outside the vibrant Amsterdam city center. There was no place to walk or browse in the neighborhood of two+ office buildings. Amsterdam centrum could be reached by boarding a bus right outside the back of the hotel for a 15-minute ride for by tram, a 10-minute walk to the stop. The bus came twice an hour, while the tram ran every 10+ minutes. All this notwithstanding, the attentiveness of the staff to our questions and needs was extraordinary! These individuals are hospitality professionals who know not only what this city has to offer but commanded a range of outside-of-Amsterdam knowledge that was accurate and broad. The rooms were well appointed and even those close to the elevator (not usually our first or even third choice) were quiet. For those travellers seeking to balance of city-center uproar with a quiet place to restore your soul from the day, you would not do any better than Artemis.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galliard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    527
    213
    78
    41
See reviews for
89
528
42
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Excellent hotel, smart and very stylish. The staff are fabulous and cannot be more helpfull.
Very impressed with the room. Underground car park with lift to reception. Fridge in room that can be use for your own drink or food. TV needs to be updated very old lcd no usb or hdmi ports.(we record programs on usb drive or tablet) BBC 1 and BBC News only in english. Internet and hotel info disabled. Would we stay again, Yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Really good quality hotel!!! I was really pleased with the welcoming of the staff and the room itself. Loved the design of the lobby and the restaurant. Breakfast offered plenty to choose from. The room was perfect for our needs, although the air conditioner was a bit noisy for my liking. The only downfall was that it didn't have shampoo, conditioner, showergel but they were all mixed into a single product.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Very modern with funky artistic design. Rooms are a good size, with well presented bathroom facilities and very large comfortable bed. Gym was OK too, basic but all you need (take your own water though). I eat dinner & took away a breakfast box and both were excellent. The buffet breakfast has an abundance of variety and all tasty. Would recommend if you are happy to tram/ metro into city centre. Quite nice to come out away from it all after a busy day. Overall would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful design great beds soft sheets good ac refrigerator nice staff lovely outside garden Only complaint about the hotel was the soap and the lotion They were poor quality and my skin suffered The hotel is a bit far and confusing to figure out the buses and tram so pay careful attention

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Firstly, dealing with previous reviews that complain about the location of this hotel, it is clearly and concisely stated in the hotel information that this hotel is on the outskirts and is not a city centre hotel. We purposely picked this hotel for its location. If you don't read the readily available information on the hotel don't moan if it's not what you 'thought' it would be.
Myself, my husband and 2 other friends thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The walk from the hotel to the nearest tram stop is 5-10 mins away by shortcut through a residential estate. I myself enjoyed the 15-20 min ride into the city. There is so much to see on your journey.
We spent 12-13 hours a day out of the hotel and didn't eat there but the rooms were clean and spacious and the beds extremely comfortable which was most welcoming after spending most of the day on my feet.
I will have no reservations in staying at this hotel when I next visit Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel practice descrimination of the guests on the ground of their nationality. Apparantly there are two or three sorts of guests for the staff of this hotel according to the country from which they come. The remarkable example of that was manifested on the third day of our stay in this hotel. We are tourits from Russia. The first two days of our stay we could take any place in the restaurant for breakfast. But on the third day when we tried to occupy some place we liked the Head waiter came to us and ask us if we were tourists from Russia, we answered "yes, we are". Then the Head waiter told us if we were tourists from Russian group we must go to the far corner of the restaurant to take our place among other Rusian tourists, and that we couldn't take place we liked. But when we come there to that far corner she had directed us to, we found out there was a group of Russian people who we didn't come with to this hotel, we were not from that certain touristic group of Russian, so we couldn't understand why we must sit there with them just becouse we are all Russians but not in some other part of the restaurant like any other tourist... We told the Head waiter about that and asked if we could take a place we have chosen at first. The head-water said then "o.k., if you`re not from that group you can sit anywhere' We took the food and sat daown. But then some other manager came to us and asked if we are Russian again, said if we were from Russian group we couldn't sit here, and directed us this time to another far part of the restaurant. So we had to "jump" from one place to another with our plates in hands just becouse we were Russians ! And all this outrage took place virtually in empty restaurant, becouse it was early morning and there were just few people eating there!! So it couldn't be becouse there was lack of places or things like that! When we told the Head waiter that it's descrimination of our rights she couldn't invent any believable cause than to say us "sorry i just asked you to go there for your convenience... it's all for you convenience".
I guess for his convenience the guest of the hotel has the right to take place which is convenient for him but not be chased by ungraciouse staff ! So they even didn't take the trouble to explain somehow reasonably their discriminative approach... If you are are Russian tourist who is not used to feel yourself "third sort guest" in a hotel i strongly recommend you to choose another hotel for your stay where you can get a worthy attitude !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IK144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing