We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #112 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“last minute short stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband took me away for the weekend for some chill out R and R we stayed Friday - Sunday. the room was fairly standard not worth 200Euro/night, especially as we spend lots on transport 25-30 Euros from airport and back and forth to city centre. There are transport links running 24hrs - but a little inconvenient and time consuming - especially as we were only there for less than 48hrs and as a Londoner I am used to more regular services. It would have been better for us to have paid more and been closer to the centre.

We stayed in an executive room, it was clean, the bed was large and comfortable. Although I still feel that this hotel doesn't offer value for money and would not stay here again.

The TV didn't work - but we didn't mention to the hotel as we weren't in a room much. We tried call room service at 3am but no-one picked up the phone, we didn't eat at the hotel so unable to pass judgement on food. Standard hotel prices at bar 10 Euros for 2 bottle beers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asprou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    655
    246
    97
    48
See reviews for
116
666
49
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at start of march. It is on outskirts of centre but transport to city centre is easy to access and frequent although we had a car. I couldn't criticise it for location as it clearly states that it isn't city centre so can't understand why people criticise it on that basis. It's as good as any 4 star I have stayed in - very similar to Radisson blu or Hilton. Excellent nights sleep, extremely clean, comfortable and good breakfast with lots of choice from hot & cold. Staff are super helpful and friendly - yes there are a lot of business & corporate types but it is located in the business district so no big shock there! Definitely recommend to those who want to be a bit outside centre. Previous reviewer moaned about security- but it's the same systems as in all good quality hotels so no concerns there either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t10mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is always a good choice to stay in Hotel Artemis Amsterdam although it is far from the city center. But it is so easy to reach the city center by taking the tram line 2 which goes to Central Station.

Although Amsterdam has great choices of international cuisine, the kitchen of the hotel offers you fusion food alternatives if you are enough with eating less :)

The Wi-Fi is free of charge and the reception is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajandomundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been a 'long staying' guest for just over four months!
It is like a second home. The staff are amazing and make a huge difference.
The service is second to none, especially in the restaurant and on reception.

Room Tip: I like the 8th floor because it's quiet. Ask for a room which has had the floors sanded and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, with a reception area, bar and restaurant all filled with art and quirky furniture. The room was clean, with everything we needed, but was nothing special. The bathroom door was glass, had no lock and had a huge gap all the way round, very odd and not very private - my friend and I thought it was funny but it could present a problem for shy people!! We had breakfast at the hotel - a very good Hot/cold buffet with plenty of choice.
The location of the hotel is perfect for the business traveller as it is in the business district. There are no local amenities for tourists and it is about 20 minutes to the city centre by tram. However, the area feels very safe, even at night, the trams are frequent and the tram stop is a 5/10 minute walk from the hotel.
I would certainly consider staying here again, but it's a shame it's not closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmay512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for a weekend recently and found it quite pleasant. It’s modern and had some nice design features in our room. I liked the artwork on display too. We didn’t go down to breakfast (which was included), but the dining room looked fine and staff in the adjoining bar area were friendly. This was out first time in Amsterdam (we will go back – lovely place), so it’s a bit hard to make comparisons. For us, the pillows were over-stuffed and very uncomfortable. My wife thought the room could use a good clean. For me, it was too warm (despite the reverse a/c), but in fairness every place we visited seemed to have the heating up very high! It is certainly convenient to the Airport (€25 by taxi) and only a short walk to the nearest tram stop (Line 2). I think next time we will look for a character hotel a bit closer to a canal or view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank always-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

From outside this hotel looks great. The interior is very chique, Just like the boutique hotels. I won this stay via hotelkamerveiling.nl and I had the highest bid. Check-in was OK. After I went to the room I sensed a strange smell in the room. The shower didn't work and the trash bin in the shower still had trash from the previous guests. I reported this to the front desk and they gave me another room. When I was in the room I heard someone opening the door, first I thought it was the housekeeping to assist me with the shower, but instead it was another guest. The front desk sorted everything out and I give them a big thumbs up for handling problems.Overall I had a great stay. The bus stop is behind the hotel, so that is a plus. And on the main road the stop to schiphol.

Room Tip: Always choose a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#131 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,008 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing