We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Weekend away xx” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #118 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend away xx”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have been to Amsterdam a few times as we LOVE it there.... We are so pleased that we decided to book the Artemis, the location of the hotel was great, the staff were so helpful, Room was a normal spacious standard room and breakfast catered for all needs (i'm a fussy eater)!!!
We actually didn't want to come home!

This time we decided that we wanted to stay outside of Amsterdam centre in a quiet location, this was the best decision as it was so easy to get into the Centre of the city at any time of the day.

Already looking at dates for us to come back!!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xGemzYx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    570
    229
    85
    41
See reviews for
96
583
44
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in January with my partner. I have to say I was very impressed. We were greeted by the hotel staff and made to feel very welcome from the outset. Our room was ideal for what we needed, beds were very comfy - just what you need after a day walking around the city!

Ok so the hotel may not be in the city centre but this does not matter its only 20 or so minutes away, the trams run every 10 mins and they are cheap! In fact getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city at the end of the night is actually quite nice.

I paid £260pp for 3nights (including flights) and I have to say it was one of the best city breaks I have done- for the same money I have previously stayed in some aweful hotels in the centre. I would rather have a nice clean, tidy and comfortable hotel and grab a tram!

Its the first time I have been on a City Breack and not felt like I need another break to get over it!

This hotel will not dissapoint!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meats1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. The hotel rooms our modern, spacious and comfortable, perfect for relaxing in after being out all day. We found 3 days to be just the right amount of time, we checked out Museums, went shopping, went on the canal tour and enjoyed long walks around the city. There is so much to see you won't run out of things to do. Hotel is a short tram ride from town but worth it due to the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharmElSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Like many others I stayed here only briefly for a business trip, so not really long enough to try all the hotel offers. That said the check in and out was efficient, the taxi arrived on time, the room was clean and nicely decorated, and the hotel itself placed well for local business.

Nothing that wowed me, but at the same time nothing to be negative about...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip as the Amsterdam offices for my company are very close. It is quite far from the centre and not an easy journey so not really a tourist option. The hotel itself is quite stylish and the rooms are fairly clean but show some signs of wear, perhaps a refurb is due soon. The breakfast was not included and at 25 euros, it was a very expensive option for business users with very little time to have more than a quick bite.
Evening meal - we had an evening meal there as a group of 40 staff, most of which had travelled in from various European countries. Recognising the difficulty in feeding such a large group, the trip organiser from our company arranged a choice of 3 options for each course. As a vegetarian, this left me only one option. The starter was a creamy soup, served in a coffee mug, with no bread. My main course consisted of, one medium sized mushroom covered in tasteless melted goat's cheese, sprinkled with salad leaves and very sour cherry tomatoes. Colleagues who had ordered the stroganoff or the burger waited 30 mins for the side dishes of fries and salad to arrive. Most of the burgers were uncooked, and one colleague had to return his to the kitchen. Some time later it was represented, the same burger warmed up in a fresh bread, still with raw meat in the centre. Despite the notice and very limited other diners, the staff were over stretched and inefficient. A bad option for food, an ok option if you need a box room in that area of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASmith198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything Is very good, convenient place next to the office where we did have our meetings, rooms are well decorated, simple but I felt immediately well is this atmosphere. Breakfast well prepared with a lot of choice, the restaurant is also good but need more choices if you stay in this hotel more than 3 nights. A small point: I waited for more than 30 mn my main course but this was just because the waiter forgot to order it so!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nothing wrong with the hotel inside. Room was fine, spacious and clean. But it's so so far from the centre of Amsterdam. 10 minutes walk to the tram stop then half an hour on the tram to the centre. The car park is expensive at €17.50 for 24 hours (that's a normal price for the centre of Amsterdam but this is not the centre). But on the other hand my room was cheap. I didn't try breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Volkshotel
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing