We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ Above average standard + Clean - Expensive breakfast - Far from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #114 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“+ Above average standard + Clean - Expensive breakfast - Far from downtown”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at Artemis Hotel for two nights between end of March 2013 traveling with my girlfriend.

Rooms
We had a large room on the 5th floor with two single beds. The room was tidy and our beds were comfortable.

Service
Room service available at a charge.

Front desk
Helpful staff but slow check-in, even though there were no other guests at the front desk.

Internet
Free Wi-Fi internet throughout the building.

Breakfast
Expensive at €19,50, did not utilize.

Restaurant/Bar
There is a modern restaurant/wine bar on the ground floor.

Location
The hotel is located between downtown Amsterdam (8 km/5 mi) and Schipol airport (8 km/mi). We arrived by car and to avoid paying for garage we parked on the street at the back of the hotel.

Price
We stayed for two nights and paid 200 EUR. Breakfast and parking not included.

Summary/Overall view
We were happy with our stay but will look for a hotel in a more central location on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    656
    247
    97
    48
See reviews for
116
667
49
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

the only thing that i didn't like was that it isn't in the centre of amsterdam. but there's a tram every ten minutes. we enjoyed our stay very much! the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. the people who work there are very friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiche12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

hard 2 find but very nice and spacious and well presented rooms are lovely and very clean overall great stay, would like 2 of been closer but there is a near by bus stop that u can purchase tickets from reception would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pj
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with tour group. Good rooms, clean but very far from town. Had to walk about 20-30 mins to a good halal restaurant. Walked back but streets were lonely and dark. If you are on business & have dealings with the offices nearby, then this hotel is for you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank taziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Artemis in the course of a business trip to Amsterdam because it was close to my company's offices. It is a typical 'sleep factory' for business folk rather than a hotel for couples on a 'getaway' stay, particularly as it is so far out of the centre of the city.
Check-in at around 6 p.m. was slow as there was only one member of staff at the desk who was trying to juggle phone calls and other requests whilst I waited to be registered.
Overall the stay was just about ok BUT I was disappointed on several fronts with my room on the third floor:
1. The lighting was appalling - all of the lights had bulbs that merely glowed at about 25 watts each so that even with every light on in the room it was impossible to work comfortably without eye strain.
2. The screen on my T.V. did not work but this was rectified the following day
3. The sink waste was broken and I could not drain out waste water and had to have maintenance attend to it.
4. The shower was very low on power and below standard considering this is a modern hotel building.
5. The weather outside was very cold and I found the room temperature insufficient although the bathroom underfloor heating was reasonably efficient.
I did not eat dinner at the hotel but did take breakfast. The buffet style breakfast selection was very good but as I only eat a light continental style meal it was very expensive at over EUR 25 inc. tax and it would have been fairer to offer two prices for continental and full breakfast.
Overall a very average hotel and I would not choose to stay there again if I have to visit Amsterdam on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoversReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on business. We arrived late and decided to have dinner at the hotel. The food was pretty good and the staff very friendly. The check in / out was painless. The breakfast buffet was v. well presented, although I did not spot any non-lacto products (such as Sojamilk, but I also did not ask so they might have been available).
The rooms were clean, although the room look and feel was not at the highest standard (hence 4/5 stars). The bed/pillow combination was not the best but that I guess is mostly personal taste.
We tried to get to town by bus and it took ages, so definitely a cab job unless you have time to spare.
Overall a positive stay.

Room Tip: Quite location. I could have asked for a double bed rather than getting 2 singles for myself, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2012. We took public transport from the airport to the hotel and ended up getting lost! Would recommend getting a transport pass but get a taxi from the airport to save messing around with trams/buses!

Comfortable beds and clean rooms, lovely breakfast too!

The Hotel is a 5/10 minute walk to the nearest tram stop and the tram journey is around 15/20 mins to Leidseplein.

We felt that the distance from the hotel to the city centre was worth it to be out of the loud/busy centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraLH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#131 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,211 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing