We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #113 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amsterdam weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean modern pleasant hotel. Room & bathroom very nice. Comfy beds. Pleasant breakfast sitting next to manmade lake. You will need a Taxi to get to the centre of Amsterdam which the hotel receptionist booked for us. Not too far from airport by taxi. Great city to visit, friendly people, lots to see, watch out for crazy cyclists tho...they don't like you walking in cycling paths even tho you can't get on pavement because of cafe tables chairs. Had a great time, took trip down the canals, red light district, great shops, cafes and bars., cant't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Check travel arrangements too and from hotel, may be cheaper getting local transport rather than tax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    509
    204
    76
    41
See reviews for
85
506
42
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I chose this hotel basing on its price, with comparison to others available in Amsterdam. The hotel is located in the business zone and is a bit away from the centre. Area does not look appealing and rather empty but seemed safe. There is nothing in the vicinity that tourists may want – bars, shops, restaurants etc. But there was a bus/tram stop nearby and I guess it enabled an easy access to the centre. Since I was there in a very cold February we opted for taxies (to the centre and to the airport).
The hotel itself looks new, with a modern, clean and spacious, and so do the rooms. Rooms are nicely decorated with all the facilities needed. We managed to catch wi-fi in the room too. The one thing that stuck in my head where the too soft bed mattresses, and I am very picky when it comes to hotel beds.
Overall recommended for its price, style and the comfort of the rooms. However, bear in mind it is away from the centre and one needs public transport/taxi to get anywhere. But if you do not mind it is a good choice away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ania-ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Schipol airport on Sunday which meant we had to take a 25EUR cab instead of the 4EUR bus. Hotel is clean and very spacious, staff very friendly & helpful. Free WiFi in lobby and rooms is a bonus but was very weak in our room. The room was quite large, nice bed, air cond worked well even though temp was 30+ degrees! Restaurant food looked a little expensive so we only ate in the town, where there is a huge variety of cuisines to suit all budgets. We bought a 72 hour GVB travel card each for 16EUR which allowed us unlimited tram travel for the duration. Highly recommend this, the trams are fast & regular, although stifling hot during the heatwave. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the tram stop & about 25mins ride to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellFeedMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Am at the Artemis hotel now and I must say we have had a very pleasant stay. The staff have been more than helpful and friendly.

The hotel is around 15 minutes from the airport, very very close. This does however mean it is a 20 minute tram ride away from the city centre. This is very easy to use though and is only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. We used the trams for the whole holiday and were a god send to get us from place to place.

The breakfast in the hotel was excellent. I am very fussy and was worried but there is cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and cold meats. Something for everyone.

The rooms are big and spacious and always kept clean. Cleaners were really friendly and didnt mind coming

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beero1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in this nice and comfortable hotel through a promotion package. The hotel is located at approx. 20 min. from Amsterdam city centre. This is rather a business hotel but in weekends you can make advantage of all the amenities that the hotel offers!
There is a nice and airy lobby with friendly staff. The name of the hotel reflects what you can find inside with some artefacts and 'art' related stuff. The hotel offers a nice terrace where you can either have breakfast or even a decent dinner. The restaurant offers good food/price quality.
The room was very comfortable and although close to the airport no noise from outside.
A good hotel for a weekend away for exploring Amsterdam. Take advantage of the public transport and leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind and take all the profits and benefits of this calm and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlabbyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The good: Very nice and clean room. Sometimes, reception staff was actually helpful and forthcoming - e.g. helping out with a simple request while maintaining a positive attitude.

The bad: A few surreal encounters with the service staff ranging from (a) being barked at in a manner you would rather expect from a club-bouncer in a bad mood to (b) organizational deficiencies of the reception staff resulting in wasted time. Also, several episodes that gave the impression that one is not a valued customer - e.g. when asking about directions, a rather shortish answer with an unhelpful and annoyed vibe. Also terrible, terrible food at the hotel restaurant, wifi didn't work most of the time and bad location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohannesTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's definetely a good bargain to book this hotel.

First of all, rooms are well-equiped and clean but sometimes "dutch design" seems a bit strange. For instance, hair-dryer was in the room near mirror when you can't see your head unless you sit one a bed. Also there were some troubles with water pressure but nothing serious.

Secondy, location is not that bad. Of course, it's a bit far from city center and it'd take you about 30 minutes to get to the city centre using tram. But the area near hotel is really nice. There are a lot of parks with ducks and even rabbits.

But if you want to choose this hotel, please, note, that there are not any good cafes nearby, so it'd be better to book room with breakfast which is really tasty and meets all demands.

Thanks to hotel team for our stay!

As usual, if you have any question, don't hesistate to ask

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
2.1 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing