We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #113 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Typical 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's definetely a good bargain to book this hotel.

First of all, rooms are well-equiped and clean but sometimes "dutch design" seems a bit strange. For instance, hair-dryer was in the room near mirror when you can't see your head unless you sit one a bed. Also there were some troubles with water pressure but nothing serious.

Secondy, location is not that bad. Of course, it's a bit far from city center and it'd take you about 30 minutes to get to the city centre using tram. But the area near hotel is really nice. There are a lot of parks with ducks and even rabbits.

But if you want to choose this hotel, please, note, that there are not any good cafes nearby, so it'd be better to book room with breakfast which is really tasty and meets all demands.

Thanks to hotel team for our stay!

As usual, if you have any question, don't hesistate to ask

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    510
    204
    76
    41
See reviews for
85
507
42
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

As a frequent Hotel user for business across the UK and Europe I can easily sat that this 2 night stay for a stag event had the most unhelpful staff I have ever experienced.

NO welcome. NO description of the Hotel Amenities. NO coming to the room to check problems with TV. Reluctant to help with directions as we were English and on a stag do in Amsterdam.
Its a shame because everywhere else in Amsterdam the service was excellent.

All front desk staff should be trained immediately on the very basic of guest relations

The actual Hotel was fine but the staff make the experince so for that reason I would never stay here again.
rebanks3@gmail.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banks_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for three days and was really good little out of the way but we enjoyed that. The buses and trams are really eay to use. The hotel is clean and really comfy. The breakfast was good and loads of selection. The hotel helped us loads and printed are boarding passes of which was brilliant would highly recommend hotel and Amsterdam

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was not too helpful. The person checked us in charged us $200 euro for deposit when other reviewers say they were charged $50 euro.

They only answered question to yes or no and didn't not appear to be willing to help by cutting the answers short when I was asking about getting around. I got stuck with this hotel because I had already booked it after I realized how far it was from the city center and the hotel was unrefunble so I was stuck with this hotel. Even the train and metro were not too far but it was exhausting dragging the luggages from train to metro and metro to the hotel. The trains and metro were confusing, not easy to get around so I would definitely stay away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_91210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed there just recently, really good service, very helpful, rooms have a funky decor, the bathrooms heated floors, a little way out from Amsterdam city center, but close to bus and tram lines and very easy to use, lovely little quiet spot if you don't want the bustle of all the tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nantucket_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference at one of the companies close to the hotel.. Based on the tripadvisor I would never have booked it personally.

The good thing is that it is not as bad as I was prepared for. The room was reasonable clean (though not spotless). Check-in was fast and done by a very friendly lady. The hotel is in a quiet, clean and safe location. Beds are fine, pillows a bit thick to my liking. Breakfast is just OK, acceptable coffee, nice bread and for the rest the basics. Had dinner there and it was enjoyable, but again nothing to be thrilled about.
Underground parking is good and enough spaces avaiable. It is a bit expensive, but that's everywhere in Amsterdam. Also city parking is very expensive.

It just does not feel like a 4 star hotel, everything is quite basic, just clean enough. Wifi is free, but also slow. Not enough elevators (2), long lines in the moring to get down.

Would I recommend it? If it is only a couple of nights for work in the one of the surrounded buildings, it is just fine. So yes. For visiting Amsterdam.... there must be better alternatives out there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fine; both front view as well as back view are looking to a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel has a good environment, the staffs are friendly and the accommodation is really nice and cosy, however, the location is not that good, you have to walk about 15 mins to get a over 30 mins bus to the city centre. Around the hotel there all are business building, not that noisy, maybe a good point, and not convenient if you want to have fun around. It is easy to get to the airport with the bus, also could get to the train station by direct bus (although take much time), have bike rental service. So maybe you can rent a bike in hotel and ride to the town. :) Didn't try the breakfast there since it cost around 20 euros, and for the meals, maybe also expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing