We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Worst Customer Service I have had in many many years"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #109 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

As a frequent Hotel user for business across the UK and Europe I can easily sat that this 2 night stay for a stag event had the most unhelpful staff I have ever experienced.

NO welcome. NO description of the Hotel Amenities. NO coming to the room to check problems with TV. Reluctant to help with directions as we were English and on a stag do in Amsterdam.
Its a shame because everywhere else in Amsterdam the service was excellent.

All front desk staff should be trained immediately on the very basic of guest relations

The actual Hotel was fine but the staff make the experince so for that reason I would never stay here again.
rebanks3@gmail.com

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banks_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for three days and was really good little out of the way but we enjoyed that. The buses and trams are really eay to use. The hotel is clean and really comfy. The breakfast was good and loads of selection. The hotel helped us loads and printed are boarding passes of which was brilliant would highly recommend hotel and Amsterdam

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was not too helpful. The person checked us in charged us $200 euro for deposit when other reviewers say they were charged $50 euro.

They only answered question to yes or no and didn't not appear to be willing to help by cutting the answers short when I was asking about getting around. I got stuck with this hotel because I had already booked it after I realized how far it was from the city center and the hotel was unrefunble so I was stuck with this hotel. Even the train and metro were not too far but it was exhausting dragging the luggages from train to metro and metro to the hotel. The trains and metro were confusing, not easy to get around so I would definitely stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_91210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed there just recently, really good service, very helpful, rooms have a funky decor, the bathrooms heated floors, a little way out from Amsterdam city center, but close to bus and tram lines and very easy to use, lovely little quiet spot if you don't want the bustle of all the tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nantucket_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference at one of the companies close to the hotel.. Based on the tripadvisor I would never have booked it personally.

The good thing is that it is not as bad as I was prepared for. The room was reasonable clean (though not spotless). Check-in was fast and done by a very friendly lady. The hotel is in a quiet, clean and safe location. Beds are fine, pillows a bit thick to my liking. Breakfast is just OK, acceptable coffee, nice bread and for the rest the basics. Had dinner there and it was enjoyable, but again nothing to be thrilled about.
Underground parking is good and enough spaces avaiable. It is a bit expensive, but that's everywhere in Amsterdam. Also city parking is very expensive.

It just does not feel like a 4 star hotel, everything is quite basic, just clean enough. Wifi is free, but also slow. Not enough elevators (2), long lines in the moring to get down.

Would I recommend it? If it is only a couple of nights for work in the one of the surrounded buildings, it is just fine. So yes. For visiting Amsterdam.... there must be better alternatives out there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fine; both front view as well as back view are looking to a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel has a good environment, the staffs are friendly and the accommodation is really nice and cosy, however, the location is not that good, you have to walk about 15 mins to get a over 30 mins bus to the city centre. Around the hotel there all are business building, not that noisy, maybe a good point, and not convenient if you want to have fun around. It is easy to get to the airport with the bus, also could get to the train station by direct bus (although take much time), have bike rental service. So maybe you can rent a bike in hotel and ride to the town. :) Didn't try the breakfast there since it cost around 20 euros, and for the meals, maybe also expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Able to get half price from online deal which was fantastic from 4 star hotel.

Good bits - very modern feel to hotel, rooms are big with tea and coffee and iron facilites. Single beds also good size.

Bad bits - bar in hotel closed about 11 on Saturday night, food very expensive and no mini bar in room (need to order from reception), no shops or other restuarants in area (potential money making idea as situated in business district with lots of workers)

Main issue was cleaniness, water marks on taps and glass after cleaning each day and felt like layer grime left behind. But main issue was stained bedding under mattress topper and topper itself which was only found on last day after pulling bottom sheet and topper back. Also the word 'sh ite' written on wall beside door, amusing.

Good value for hotel at price of 50 Euros per night but would be disappoint of had to pay full price

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#45 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Blue Square
#164 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,993 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,096 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#125 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing