We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business hotel with good links to Amsterdam and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #111 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Caught the 195 from the airport plaza. Locals very friendly and pointed us in right direction € 4 each. Driver pointed out the Artemis no problem.

We were made very welcome on arrival and despite arriving very early were allocated a room quickly. Was informed about the city tax of about €50, wasn't informed that we'd be charged € 3.50 City tax per night on top of this. Not the hotels fault that the city wants its cut.

The room was twin beds and very quiet and comfortable. When we first arrived I noticed a few problems in the bathroom but the staff rectified these by the time we returned from exploring Amsterdam. Room was cleaned well.

The hotel is some distance from the centre. But we paid for a 72 hr travel card
Which meant we could use trams, buses etc. this cost about €36 for two of us. Trams and buses very regular so made it very easy to hop on and off. Never waited more than a few minutes. It was a little annoying to be so far out of the centre, especially as we'd asked last minute . Com for a central hotel, but the exercise made us feel good , despite the freezing cold winds during our stay.

Didn't bother with breakfast .. As we felt €19 each was expensive. Had a meal on our final night and it was good. Indonesian was tasty and reasonable price for what we got.

We enjoyed our stay overall . The art was interesting. Service good. Staff helpful.

We decided 3 days exploring the city was enough and headed to Haarlam for our last day. Caught the 195 back to the airport and then the 300 to Haarlam. Bought a family travel day ticket as this was the cheapest option suggested by the driver.
Worth the effort despite the small blizzard !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attilla59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and very quiet, the hotel staff wee helpful and spoke very good English. The restaurant was fine but pricey for what you got. All in all had this hotel been in the centre of the city I would have been delighted.
We booked this through last minute.com as a mystery hotel but specified we wanted a central hotel, we were assured it was!
It was a 20 minute tram ride out of town on a science park with no local amenities.
The tram was a short walk away but came every few minutes. Having bought a three day ticket it didn't cost any more to do as many trips as we wanted but after a day sightseeing it was not practical to pop back to the hotel before a night on the town.
If you're happy with public transport and organised to go out and stay out, then this might be the hotel for you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a nice hotel and the rooms were reasonably priced. But expect to travel 25-30 minutes to get to the centre of Amsterdam. Both Tram and Metro are a 8 minute walk and then it's another 15 to 25 minutes into the centre (depending on connection).
The hotel itself is neat and tidy and the staff is efficient and nice. The food in the hotel and the bar are very expensive indeed and should be avoided if possible. There are no restaurants and or shops nearby as the hotel is located in a office/business park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Room was good value. Bit of a trek into Amsterdam center but public transport is very good. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment but breakfast was priced at €18.50, you'll get cheaper in center.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katd1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant first night, the food and service was very good but the drinks a little overpriced, but this is what you expect in an hotel. Breakfast has quite a good choice with a hot selection and lovely breads.
The rooms are really clean and nicely decorated with big comfy beds.
This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the tram which takes you right into Amsterdam and all the sights, for just a couple of euros... Buy a daily ticket or if you're staying longer buy a multi day ticket. Cabs are around £30 euros and are easy to find.
We enjoyed being away from the noise of the city and the travelling in was safe and quick.
Visit la klas on platform 2 at central station for a lovely old back in time place serving cream topped hot chocolate (with brandy) and its not too busy that you can't get a seat, staff are really friendly and accommodating too.
All in all a lovely stay at the artemis, made better by the friendly people of Amsterdam.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cliff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel was a bit out of the way in terms of the city attractions. It is a 10 minute walk to the tram and then a 18 minute tram ride. The reception staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was meant to be included in our rate - only for us to get there and find out that for some reason it wasn't! Which was a bit annoying. The cleaning staff tend to just make the bed and clean the toilet - nothing else (tidy and wipe surfaces, sink etc) - Don't know if thats a European thing? The hotel itself is quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed here january 2013 and chose it because smoking rooms are available. Situated 10 minutes from the airport by shuttle (16.50 euros) I found this very beautifully modern hotel located in the IBM business district. very clean, courteous staff, helpful room service, a fantastic a la carte restaurant on site, sumptuous reception/bar/coffee area reasonably priced snacks and drinks. The restaurant offered a high standard of food very well priced and a comprehensive and suitable wine list, which i thoroughly enjoyed.
In to town buses run regularly from the bus stop at the rear of the hotel, trams are a 10 minute walk to the tram stop (tram number 2 at 2.80 euros) just sit and enjoy the ride, with stops at all the main sites in Amsterdam centre. Taxi's can be booked through reception and are priced at 20-25 euro's one way, but be careful catching cabs in town, you can get ripped off

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade, i phoned prior to check in and got a double smoking room at no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeeH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#127 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,021 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#102 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $84 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing