We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #112 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

stayed at the Artemis for 3 nights. arrived a Schipol Airport and got bus 195 which is outside of main airport entrance to the 'IBM' stop. The bus was 2 euros each and the journey takes about 10 mins. ask the driver to point out the hotel as you can just see it from the IBM bus stop and is a couple of minutes walk.
Checking in can be done anytime but the rooms were not ready when we arrived so we left our cases in the secure left luggage room and went exploring.
We paid for a travel pass which allows you to travel on all public transport that is blue and white in colour (this includes all the trams.) These passes can be bought for however many days you are there and work out the cheapest way to travel.
The tram and bus stop (same stop) is a 10 minute walk away. Ask the reception staff and they wil point out the way. the tram was the best option as it stops at Leidseplein (the main bar / restaurant area )all the way up the main shopping street up to the central station. Like an Oyster card, you tap in and out each journey.
The hotel itself. The staff were friendly and helpful and check in was painless.
The room was okay. The lighting in the room was very poor, as a female, i find that most hotels have poor lighting around the table area but this was particularly bad. Bed was okay and shower room was okay. as you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast was great. Lots of selection, hot and cold, naughty and healthy!
we ate in the hotel on the first night as we had had a very long day. We both had the burger and chips and it was very nice.
Our flight home was on a Sunday. there is no bus 195 on a Sunday so we paid 25 euros to get a taxi. If you want to do the public transport ot the station it will take you about an hour wheras a taxi was about 7 minutes!
With regards to where the hotel is in relation to the centre of Amsterdam, it really is no great hardship. The tram and buses take about 20 minutes and they are very regular.
The food and drink (especally spirits) are very expensive, especially if you eat in the china town area next to the red light district. You can do it on a budget, there are Mc Donalds and Burger king galore out there but if you would like something more discerning, be ready to pay! lots to choose from though.
for a great lunch - sandwiches, muffins etc, go to B&B Lunchroom. we went to 2, one in Liedsestraat (main shopping street) and the other i believe was somewhere along Kalverstraat. ( Have reviewed it on the restauraunt section) For a proper cup of coffee, there are 3 Starbucks !!
Had a lovely time, 3 and a half days was somewhat too long (although it was absolutely bitterly cold when we were there, should te weather have been nicer, the 'mooching about' we like to do would have been more enjoyable!) would go back in warmer weather for a couple of nights.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
14  Thank LondonAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Artemis is a Design Hotel; that means you are surrounded by style, with an art exhibition in the foyer. Smart! Situated between the airport and Amsterdam centre in a quiet, business district, your sleep is not inhibited by the noise of revellers nor the glare of city lights. For this bonus you merely have a trip to town on a bus ( 145 or 18) or a tram (2) - it's worth noting that the airport bus (195) does not operate to / from this area at weekends. Weekdays, a white bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you ( free) to the nearest Metro station. ( We got lost on the metro system the first time - but Dutch people not only all speak English, they are extremely helpful and friendly).

Our room on the first floor of the hotel was spacious enough, comfortable beds, beautifully clean, and a facility we thought did not exist except in the UK : Tea and coffee-making facilities in your room! You are a little surprised by the 'no-lock' (opaque) glass bathroom door - but maybe that's a modern Dutch touch; there was a similar one in a Museumsplein loo.

Breakfast like a King and Queen here - so generous, so varied. We ate in the hotel one night and that too was good, mid-priced cuisine.

In Amsterdam we avoided a blizzard by spending a brilliant day in the Hermitage Museum , currently the temporary home to Van Gogh, plus an Impressionist exhibition, and including lunch in their excellent cafe. A short walk along the canal from there, we were delighted by the Handbag Museum. Housed in an elegant Herengracht house, it traces the history of bags from medieval to modern, all fascinatingly displayed. There's a lovely tearoom here too and , inevitably, a museum shop selling handbags!

Other 'musts' in the city : a circular canal trip to get a sense of the place, coffee in the glamourous Hotel Krasnopolski on Dam Square, and , when you are weary of the action, a peaceful visit to the Begijnhof oasis, through a small door ( like Alice!) in Spui. My friend spotted that places entitled 'Coffee House' ( sic) hosted people who were having a cigarette and a drink - " just like in the old days". She fancied this 'luxury' and got out her packet of Silk Cut, only to be politely told " Sorry, Madam, you can only smoke joints here." !

Ours was a Travelzoo escape and we were particularly pleased with our choice of hotel and the value of this 4* city-break. The only disappointment was to discover that Amsterdam does not appear to have a Christmas Market - but there were two outdoor skating rinks including one for small children.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Margaret B,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay and the tips for a nice stay in Amsterdam. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, that you have avoided the Dutch blizzards in a cultural way and have experienced the coffee shop smoking policy!
We do hope that we can welcome you again in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis when you decide to visit Amsterdam again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and arrived from Schipol by bus (4 euros each) at about 11 a.m. We had arranged early check in but this wasn't possible before two o'clock Had a complimentary beer and hit town 20-30 minutes by no.2 tram ten minutes walk away. We bought 72 hours tickets 16 euros each - excellent value and reasonably frequent. The hotel was fine the room a good size and a huge bed. A few bits were a little tired around the edges but not worth worrying about. Service was excellent staff very friendly and accommodating. We ate in the restaurant on irst night, limited menu, above average prices but generally satisfactory. There was a reception for an art display so quite lively although no freebies for outsiders. I'm afraid I must be a philistine because I see no value in lumps of 6x2 rough sawn timber as objets d'art but I assume he phoney artists make a living. Some of the other pieces had a curiosity value. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price, various cold meats, fish, cheese etc all the usual delights although conspicuous by their absence were fried eggs! Otherwise all ok. Check out fine and efficient. Maybe the hotel was more interested in the art than the customer experience. Lacks a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HenryHoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear HenryHoolihan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our stay. Every three months we change the Dutch Design and art exhibition in the lobby. When you were in the restaurant we had the opening night of the new exhibition ‘Sustainable’: the lumps you saw for example are made out of scrap wood and dressed with found material. We are happy you have enjoyed our service and he breakfast. If you would like to have a fried egg, please ask our breakfast waiters.
We hope we are able to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Strictly a business hotel and that too if you only intend to work and sleep in that part of town.

Extremely small rooms – again I repeat, only good enough to work and sleep !!!

Not much dining options and need to walk for about 15 mins to the nearest metro station.

Quite away from the city center – 15 mins walk to the nearest metro station and then another 20 mins metro ride to the city center.

I stayed there in Dec and definitely was not a time for a dip into the swimming pool, so no comments there !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aakashshirodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel with friends for a 3 night visit at the beginning of December. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is really modern and clean and the staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of different choices. Like other reviewers, we were concerned about the transport situation, but soon discovered that just a 10 minute walk away was an excellent tram service. The tram was every few minutes. We were unsure as to which method of transport to use initially, i.e. bus, train or tram and in the end opted for the tram. We bought a 4 day tram pass from reception for 20 euros each which proved an excellent investment as we used it to criss cross Amsterdam on the excellent tram service - real good value for money. The tram took approximately 20 minutes to arrive at the centre of Amsterdam, giving us plenty of opportunity to see the sights on our way in. The tram also runs up until midnight so we were able to use this service to get back to the hotel after a full day out. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123willow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear 123willow12 ,
Thank you for your nice review about your stay in our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed our facilities and the frequent tram service to the city centre of Amsterdam. We are also looking forward to welcome you again in future in Dutch Design Hotel Artemis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Visited the hotel for a 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Hotel is great, excellent breakfast buffet choice and clean modern rooms. We were slightly concerned about the location after reading these reviews but public transport is great. The bus stop is right outside the hotel street, the 145 bus comes every 30 minutes and is only 2euros each for a 15 minute journey to the centre. The hotel also provides great information regarding bus times and stops to the centre so you know exactly where you are. If you plan on spending full days in the centre and using the hotel as a place to sleep in between then we really didnt find a problem with location - great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear lovethestates,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay and the good public transport access to the city centre. We hope we are able to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is business hotel but perfect for access to Amsterdam. It has plenty of underground parking at 2 euros per hr or 19 euros per day. There is restricted parking in Amsterdam centre so this was great. The tram stop is literally a 5-10 min walk away. Tram takes about 15 mins to centre - everything is within walking distance. The hotel is in a business park (next door to IBM offices).
The motorway is literally along side the area so easy to find.
Nice room, very modern and clean.
Great vending machine in the lobby selling all those items people tend to forget - such as converter plugs etc.
Did not eat but there is a nice restaurant.
We went for leisure trip and to be honest Amsterdam had it's wicked way with us! (Not in that respect I must add)!! A very blurred ending to a great weekend! We will be back at New year for another installment of this great city!! Enjoy y'all!!!
Very spacious room, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Dutch Design Hotel Artemis, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear CharlesandCharlie,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay in Amsterdam. It is nice to read you have enjoyed your stay and the city. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#126 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Blue Square
#164 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,019 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing