We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel with a quick commute to the centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a quick commute to the centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week in one of their smoking superior queen rooms. Apart from the ashtray there was no evidence that it was a smoking room, no smell, nothing. It was clean, and most of the furnishing was in good condition. They had great lighting in the bathroom, but the screen on the bath never had a seal, so every time I had a shower water got on the floor. The bed was amazing! Really cushioned but not too soft. Breakfast wasn't included and it was quite pricey per day, about 16 euros.

We were on the 8th floor so I thought we would have a good view, however since it's in a residential area there wasn't much to see.

As for the location; although it wasn't in the centre of amsterdam it wasn't too far to get there. We took a tram to the centre everyday, which we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for and the tram stop was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We got a 4 day travel pass on the first day which was a good investment as we used the transport a lot, I would definitely reccommend getting one (they sell them at Centraal station).

I would love to stay at this hotel again! Its a really scenic view to cycle and you get to see the residential part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    527
    213
    78
    41
See reviews for
89
528
42
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, I've ben there twice last month because was perfectly located for my purposes. Not the best located though for visiting Amsterdam, although there's a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you to Leidseplein, every 1/2 hour. It takes 15 minutes approx.
Clean room, nice bathroom, large tube, breakfast is ok, restaurant is also good. So the hotel won't disappoint you, just weigh up if the location is good enough for you.

Room Tip: Been there twice and both bedrooms were fine. But I would avoid a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holdenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel is closed to Schiphol Airport, 10’ time distance. The taxi fare is 23 EUR.
During working days it is possible to take bus no.195 (5 ‘walking distance from the hotel) and get out at IBM stop. The fare is 6 EUR/person.
Artemis is located on a quite and green area, far way from the city’s crowd. In the neighborhood there are several multinational HQ and residential appartments,nothing else to see & to do.
The hotel is addressed more to business trips, guided tours and round trips. For tourists coming as individual the hotel is far way from city’s centre : you can take bus no.145 (right behind the hotel) till Leidseplein ( around 15 ‘),the fare is 2 EUR or tram no.2 ( 15 ‘ walking distance from the hotel + 20/30 min by tram) to Leidseplein ,Dam Square or Central Station, the fare being 2,70 EUR. If travelling more than 3 times/day it is better to buy a GVB day pass for 7, 50 EUR.
But we knew from the very beginning about the distance, it is not the hotel fault.
Our reservation was for a superior twin room. At the check-in we were very disappointed for the room received (no 147). It was quite small, with old furniture and nothing spectacular as mentioned on the hotel’s site presentation. .Forget about “a deluxe 4 star modern design hotel, and design rooms”. Very small bathroom, few toiletteries available.
I asked the lady from the front desk to change the room pointing that is difficult to spend 5 nights in such a small room. Her answer was so rude, stating that all rooms are de same (untrue, I read reviews on Trip Adv) .Of course it was no way to make a change. For the first day we had to ask for towels.
There is a cold atmosphere, nothing to make you feel comfortable and relaxed on this hotel.
At the lobby the furniture needs to be refurbished.
Breakfast is a usual, continental type, few things available, the same day by day. No label for the food, you have to guess what it is (especially for the yogurt).Disappointed for the breakfast service (cleaning tables, dirty floor).
Great service and food at the restaurant for lunch and dinner. Even though it is quite expensive, you can find healthy and tasty food.

Room Tip: there are different kind of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This exact time last year I would be in my room at the Artemis sleeping on the most comfortable mattress. I am feeling extremely nostalgic, so I will write my review now. The Hotel is very far form the city, but I knew that before I booked the vacation. I got a great deal from Travelocity that couldn't be beat. Know what you are getting before you book this hotel. It really is in the middle of a business district and the Hotel is hidden by tall buildings. It takes about twenty minutes to get into the heart of Amsterdam by Tram. The walk to the Tram from the hotel is about 15 minutes. This didn't bother me me cause we only slept in the hotel and spent all day in the city. The hotel was IMMACULATE. Other hotels in the same price range but located in the city looked extremely filthy when I researched them. I can not knock the hotel for being far because I did my research ahead of time and knew what to expect. The only thing I had an issue with was the shower. My partner and I are still trying to figure out how to properly use the shower without flooding the bathroom floor. Management should really post instructions. Once the bathroom floor flooded we would wipe the water up with the bath towels. This didn't go over to well with the maid service. Holland is very GREEN. The maid service would have to replace all of our towels the next day and would leave us subtle hints on how we shouldn't use all of the towels in one day. The first day we got there, there was a laminated piece of paper hidden UNDER the towels stating how green the hotel is and how we should reuse the towels. By our last day the maids depleted the number of towels they left us and left the sign in much more noticeable places. I found it amusing. I love the Artemis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We organized a training offsite for 12 with rooms and meals. The location is perfect - close to the airport for travellers and close to the city for excursions - but far enough away to hold staff attention. The art theme is good, the restaurant food way above average! Service was excellent from checking through to dinner in spite of a packed restaurant.

Meeting rooms were nice - good views with minimal distraction perfect for a group up to 20. The mid day snacks were good and the Beamer and screen were offered as part of our package. We requested wifi and additional outlets and received at no additional charge. Will use again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

if you want to stay in Amsterdam and enjoy the delights and sights of this great city, then this is not the hotel for you. In the middle of nowhere, a business district, there are no local restaurants, pubs, or even areas to walk.
The rooms are very nice, the hotel design is quirky, the restaurant ( kitchen) pretty average, but a tram, or even more expensive Amsterdam taxis. cost a fortune to get into the city centre.
Frnkly, it could be a hotel anywhere

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We got a steal of a deal through Expedia but did not anticipate how far it was from City Center. The hotel is literally in a business center, next to the MEXX Design HQ, and we would have to take a 20 min tram/bus every time we wanted to explore the town. 2.50 euro each way certainly adds up in a week!

I wouldn't stay here again. Clean accommodations, beautiful decor, larger rooms, great amenities, but unless you have a car or don't mind the commute, stay by Museumplein or Leidsplein. It's further away from the crazy partying, but you can easily walk to Dam Square.

Room Tip: Nice big king beds, get one overlooking the outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_from_the_Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Design Hotel Artemis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Design Hotel Artemis

Property: Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Address: John M Keynesplein 2, 1066 EP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Dutch design hotel ideally located between Amsterdam Schiphol airport and Amsterdam city center. With Dutch architecture and changing inspiring art and design collections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dutch Design Hotel Artemis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Artemis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing