We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as described!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #332 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as described!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We expected budget accommodation but this was worse! We were told it was a private bathroom but it was shared, the drain in the shower had no cover so was an open dirty pipe, the sink in the bathroom had no water an the pipe wasnt even connected! The room was like a sauna!!! Way too hot to sleep...or breathe! We were told it was 4 single beds but it was double, everything smelt of cats!! The only plus side was the staff were friendly and helpful. Iv stayed at budget hotels before but not as poor quality as this, def not a 2*, more like a 1*. Wouldnt ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 34 unless u want to b up all night sweating and unable to breathe!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank LeneW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    52
    27
    93
See reviews for
7
76
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A friend of mine made the booking. Otherwise we wouldn't have stayed here judging from other reviews.

Very unfriendly reception lady, very rude and unpleasant. Even before we said hello. She is an older lady and seems to be the boss.
Our room with 5 seperate beds was not available yet (noon), check-in is at 2pm.
We ask for plastic bags to free up our backpacks so we can use them in the city. The reception lady does give us plastic bags, but with a snear: "You couldn't bring any plastic bags with you?"
We leave the bags at the reception.
When we come back around 6PM, our room had already been given to other people. Now we're forced to sleep in 3 beds. 5 big guys. No discount offered.
The excuse is that it's booking.com's fault. However that same day she admits that she gave the room away to other people who checked-in after 2pm. Unbelievable!
There is another younger lady working at the reception. She is more friendly.
Another weird thing. The day after when our friends were checking out she talked behind another friend's back saying how she "personally didn't like us". Literal quote.
Off course, when one of our friends was using his gopro camera, the older lady was all smiles and giggles. Why can't she be friendly when there are no cameras around?

The rest of the staff was friendly. Quiet location. Beds are a bit saggy around the ends.
Small bathroom but good shower.

You need to "like" this hotel on facebook before you can use their wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Montmorency, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Don't go there!
It's very expensive, ugly, dirty, noisy...my stay in Amsterdam was ruined by this very sad experience.
The staff was not nice at all. We wanted to cancel one night, the lady refused. She wasn't polite at all, and I heard her yell at French people who couldn't speak English fluently...
DISGUSTING
just run away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lililalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

As a group of young travellers, this place was more than ideal! It was cheap, which for Amsterdam is very difficult to find! We were given towels and a really comfy bed each. There wasn't much space in the hotel room as there were five of us, but we didn't mind. The ensuite was basic and small but you get what you pay for. We did see a small mouse dash along the skirting board but that didn't bother us. The windows were slightly temperamental and the curtains didn't block much light out but you can always bring an eye mask. The bar was never open but it wasn't really a problem. Everything was in walking distance. It was clean and we enjoyed our stay, we would all recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kissylums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were less than impressed with this hotel. The share toilet on our level was out of order. The swipe key cards locked us out of our room on a number of occasions. The smell of smoke was potent. The location was reasonable, but be prepared to rough it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SebTrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

went as a group of students and after reading the reviews expected the worst but it really isnt that bad. the room was clean and its a half hour walk from central station and the zoo is very close. great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Smelly, and something bites my leg in the midnight I opened the light and have a quick check still do not know what was that... overall prices for this kind of room its not worth it, do not believe on any online offer or discount even though 5 or 10percent off it is not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LEEYP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Kooyk Hotel
#218 of 367 in Amsterdam
580 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#292 of 367 in Amsterdam
478 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing