We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #338 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Don't go to this hotel. Terrible service and useless. I did book my rooms on line and then they cancel without even telling me. When I called them, they didn't want to tell the reason of the cancellation!

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_424354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    52
    28
    95
See reviews for
7
78
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

stayed with my girlfriend for 4 days. bad reviews made us cautious, dont be. clean and tidy little room, amazing value for money (our deal was about 21 euros each per night) in a fantastic location (10 mins from town centre) with very helpful and friendly staff. room has a sink, bed, cupboard etc all you would ever need to feel comfortable in a place to sleep. as budget hotels go, it doesnt get much better.

bad points are that its a little noisy if you have loud neighbouring guests, the walls are a little thin, and only one shared bathroom per floor - however its kept clean and tidy.

great place, recommended for singles, couples, groups of up to 4.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamdamy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is not a good hotel, in fact its not even a bad hotel. It's an appalling hovel of a place. Please avoid like the plague if you value your money.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teno_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This has to rate as the worst hotel I have evr stayed in, the rooms were filthy, cramped and cold the windows didn't close properly, the curtains were pretty much see through and there was a big neon sign outside, staff were rude, this place is a disgrace, avoid at all costs

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Came here on a trip to Amsterdam was staying with a friend and booked a twin room. They put us in a double and said there were no other rooms available we therefore asked for our money back and said we would find another hotel and they refused to give it to us. They said they didn't have a manager and we were unable to leave because they had taken payment from us and refused to give it back despite putting us in a room we did not book. There was no shower holder and random animals in the hotel. The staff were rude and hostile and not at all helpful. There is also no lift. HORRIBLE DON'T EVER GO HERE.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Our room looked and felt like an old bathhouse, it was dark and kinda damp, it also had a strong smell of chlorine. When we asked about the internet connection that their homepage promised us we we're told that it had not been available for "some time" and that they had no clue when it was coming back up. We immediatly paid the cancellation fee and went to another hotel. Cant see why anyone in their right mind would stay at Barbacan, it wasnt even that cheap.

/Johan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnySadegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

what a rip off hostel sorry hotel,booked singles ended up sharing doubles staff very rude and allways looking to scam money from u plus its shed loads of miles from anywhere DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trelly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Kooyk Hotel
#216 of 368 in Amsterdam
583 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#296 of 368 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#226 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 368 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Muidergracht 89, 1018 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barbacan Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Barbacan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing