We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location in Old South” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bema Rentals

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bema Rentals
Ranked #254 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    52
    7
    14
See reviews for
29
68
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Upon our arrival we were immediately upgraded a beautiful apartment suite! The staff explained that there had been a cancellation and that they "felt sorry because we booked the smallest room in the place." Despite the upgrade, we still would have had a great time at this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and offered wonderful suggestions, such as bike rentals, and where to go in Amsterdam (no lonely planet needed). I would definitely stay here again, if only to support the small business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the apartment belonging to Hotel Bema, it was located near the Overtoom tram stop on Eerste Constantijn Huygenstraat.

It was a bit of a pain having to go to the Hotel in order to be taken to the apartment, if I was going again I'd ask if they could meet us there.
Although, it wasn't too bad as the hotel and apartment are only one tram stop apart. (If you're looking for the hotel, take the 197 bus from the airport, straight to Museumplein stop, it's really close to the hotel and saves about 50euros on a taxi).

The staff were friendly and gave us a map and also had a rack of minicards we could look through for attractions' offers. Then they took us on the tram to the apartment and showed us around.

The apartment was basic and a little old-fashioned, re-decorating would be nice. However, it was pretty clean, not much dust, no mould in the bathroom, clean sheets etc. The living room was a decent size but the sofa was tiny. There was a table and chairs for four to eat at. And a very tiny, but working TV. No hotel comforts like a phone or hairdryer.

Clean towels were provided, (3 small bath towels and two hand towels between three people).

There was a double bed in the bedroom, with no room for anything else! And a single we had asked for in the living room. There wasn't a wardrobe, just a coat rack.

The kitchen had everything we needed- a hob, fridge (with freezer shelf), microwave, kettle, coffee maker, pans, utensils and cutlery.

The stairs leading to the apartment make it only suitable for young and/or fit people who can climb a lot of steep stairs.

The location is great as you can walk to Leidseplein or Museumplein in about 10 minutes. There's also a tram stop outside if you're feeling lazy.

And a beautiful chocolate shop just nextdoor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank kayleigh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

As we travelled with 2 small children, Hotel Bema offered us a two-bedroom apartment "...located about 10min away from the hotel", in reality it was apx 5 min by tram plus 5 min on foot. The guy who took us to the apartment had 4 travel cards with him and asked us to pay for 1 tram ticket ourselves which seemed a bit greedy. But otherwise he was very friendly and helpful. So was the lady at the reception.
The apartment is very basic but full of character and situated close to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, tram stops and a supermarket (they don't accept cards in the supermarkets, be aware!). There's a kettle, a coffee machine, a toaster, a very good shower that looks brand-new, a TV. But there was no toilet paper and no soap!
The heating in the apartment wasn't on when we arrived and it seemed that it had been off for quite a while before - it was absolutely freezing in the rooms that night. And though it warmed up and was fine afterwards, I wouldn't recommend you to stay there in winter - the gaps in window frames are unbelievably big. The toilet and the bathroom are particularly cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are in Amsterdam for the location for the museums and not the prostitutes then this hotel is fine. It's easy to get to and does the job. The rooms are large the breakfast is adequate the staff is fine. The shower didn't "feel" clean and the sink dripped. If we were going back, we would stay elsewhere. The price + location do not = a value for Amsterdam.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daninboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Vondelpark
Amadi Park Hotel
Amadi Park Hotel
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#210 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#219 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bema Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bema Rentals

Property: Bema Rentals
Address: Nassaukade 351, 1053 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bema Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer affordable, fully furnished and clean apartments for short stay, always ready to welcome families, couples and small groups. The lodgings are located through the city center, all connected to trams and buses and no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bema Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing