We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar with great beer!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beer Tasting Room Arendsnest

Beer Tasting Room Arendsnest
Ranked #10 of 277 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Proeflokaal Arendsnest serves nothing but beer from Dutch breweries. Dutch beer only! Everyday open from 12:00 AM
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great bar with great beer!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I frequented this bar a few times while on holiday in Amsterdam. It has a huge selection of Dutch beers that are delicious! I recommend the winter beer Willy! The atmosphere is wonderful and the brass taps are beautiful. It is the Jordaan area within walking distance of all main sights.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    89
    14
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Best spot for all Dutch Beer Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Arendsnest came highly recommended by the people at Frederic Rent A Bike and since we were staying around the corner we gave it a try.
Small cosy interior that fills up quickly so be sure to get there early or come later in the evening.
Large selection of Dutch beers on tap and in bottles. Only Dutch beers and thankfully their not Amstel and Heineken.
No real dinner food to eat but excellent cheese plates to go with the delicious beers.
Very knowledgeable bar staff that will guide you in the right direction if ask. Sit at the bar and watch the ballet of beer as they keep up with the never ending orders of beer on tap.

Helpful?
1 Thank Czechbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Huge selection of fair-priced beers and great meet platter. Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff/owner.Thanks for a great night.

Helpful?
1 Thank ivan993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding selection of draught beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We made a point of calling in here on our recent trip, and weren't disappointed - the bar has a huge selection of draught beers, as well as many more in bottles - the beers are described on the chalkboards (type, country, brewery, ABV) so taht even without the barman's help you have a good chance of picking one that suits you - though knowledgeable advice was given freely. The barman explained that the draught beers were in such good condition because the 'barrels' they used were rather small, ensuring the beer got finished before it went 'off'.

A great bar - no snacks available, though, as far as I could see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aber-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“It's all about the beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Quite simply one of the best beer bars in the world.
Fantastic selection, friendly and knowledgeable staff and an oasis of beeriness in an ocean of Heineken swill.
Outstanding.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Tasting Room Arendsnest also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beer Tasting Room Arendsnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing