We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #200 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Almost a year after visiting Amsterdam, i bring to my mind beautiful pictures and memories from my stay in Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast. The fresh tulips in our room, the delightful breakfast , the friendliness of the host and the beautiful room itself made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blured_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
435 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

September 4 to 6, 2009. We spent a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We truly appreciated the comfort, peace and quiet, cleanliness and coziness of this B&B. We had not stayed there previously, so of course we didn’t know how it would be – but as soon as we met Kevin at the top of the stairs, we knew we would have a great stay – and we did. Kevin is the perfect host – helpful when asked, but discreet.

Breakfasts are delicious, the beds are very comfortable, and while the B&B is in a residential neighborhood, it is close to everything.

We can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

From the moment you enter the back room, the fragrance, elegance, and comfort of this place welcomes you. My wife and I spent three wonderful days there and highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SyracuseVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
204 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

If you want to feel like an Amsterdam local, stay here.

The B & B is in a historic Amsterdam town house with the usual steep staircase. The suite is located on the second floor. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood on leafy Roetersstraat right in the city center with good connections to tram and subway.

The spacious, bright and airy suite sleeps four and features living room (with small balcony), bedroom, bathroom with shower and seperate restroom. It is equipped with all amenities like DVD player, kitchenette, PC and W-LAN. We especially liked the super comfy beds and the fluffy towels.

Breakfast is served in-room and is prepared to your likings. Every day, we were surprised by a new breakfast variation (omelette, pancakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit...)

Our hosts, Kevin & Sonny, perfectly took care of us and gave dinner tips and directions.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

My family of four just got back from a stay at the Dumas and Considine Bed and Breakfast in Amsterdam. We could not have chosen a more comfortable, convenient and thoroughly delightful place to stay. The accomodations consist of the entire floor of a small house near the University. There is a large living room with kitchen, computer access, dining table and a lovely small balcony with a view of a canal. This room also has two twin beds. The second room has a queen/king bed and overlooks a schoolyard. There is also a large room with shower and a separate toilet room. Everything is cheerfully decorated and pristinely clean. Our host, Kevin Considine, was extremely helpful and even packed us a delicious breakfast for our early trip to the airport. I heartily recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Amsterdam. My only caveat is that there is quite a long staircase so this would be imappropriate for anyone who cannot climb stairs.

Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we didn't want to stay in a large hotel. I contacted the B & B direct in December and with no fuss made the booking.

Set in the Plantage neighbourhood and in the old Jewish Quarter it's ideally placed for most attractions but with the peace and quite that comes from being in a mainly residential area. Dam Square is walkable, but it is 20 mins away. Public transport, buses, Metro and taxis are plentiful, and with the exception of taxis fairly cheap.

The breakfast is delightful, the owner polite but approachable and with extensive knowledge of the area pointed us in the direction of several excellent restaurants. We ate Tibetan for the first time, it was great.

The B & B was clean, kingsize bed, large room, shared bathroom with adjoining room not a problem as our friends were staying there.

I would stay there again if I went back to Amsterdam which was a great long weekend break with lots to do and see.

  • Liked — Clean, airy and bright
  • Disliked — Very Very steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

This B&B is really nice and welcoming. Our room was very spacious, everything extremely clean and fresh looking. We had access to the whole floor and I can say we really enjoyed our stay. How lovely to have fresh fruit for breakfast in the morning, strawberries, pineapple, grapes, melon along with croissants, toast, eggs if we wanted them, tea and coffee.
Kevin was very helpful, providing any information we needed as to where to go and visit, how to get there and the best way to do it.
There are 38 stairs to climb to reach this accommodation so if you have trouble climbing steps this may not be for you but for the fit amongst you I would fully recommend this Bed & Breakfast and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazz-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#190 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Hotel Arena
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast
Address: Roetersstraat 18, 1018 WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant comfort and convenience in central Amsterdam. Enjoy your own beautifully appointed private floor in a lovely, restored 19th century Dutch townhouse. Conveniently located within walking distance to all the major attractions, our green and historic Plantage neighborhood borders the Amstel River in the center of Amsterdam. Free unlimited broadband internet usage and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam b&b
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing