We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oranje Umbrella Walking Tours
Open today: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Oranje Umbrella Walking Tours
from $20.72
More Info
from $172.71
More Info
from $20.15
More Info
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
118
6
1
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
6
1
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide the red light district great tour lovely guide coffeeshop tour tour today hour tour coffee shop ganja culture fun weed coffeeshops blast information company insight
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 133 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2014

Eric was very professional. His multi-linguistic skills were very helpful.. He was resourceful. He was able to individualize the needs of the group. He is/was a people peson.

Date of experience: August 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Although Erik was a very friendly and amusing tour guide, this tour was a complete rip off. We signed up for a group tour, which ended up being private- which means you go to bars with him and either buy drinks for Erik, or sit there while he watches you drink (Erik never asked for a drink, we just felt like we had to get him one too). The website specifies free samples at the coffee shop, this was not true, I had to purchase and then he smoked it with us. I guess it was free samples for him. After a night of spending our money on his drinks, and weed- he then asked for the tour price and reminded us that tips are appreciated. Very unhappy about this tour, we paid for a friend for the night. 2 person tour cost about 75 euro. . . rip off.

4  Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik S, Owner at Oranje Umbrella Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

While we respect freedom of speech, and the need for all customers to report if they have a negative experience, this one I feel the need to comment as it was entirely false. As we sometimes have large groups and small groups, this tour was specifically made private as it was the parties honeymoon( emailed previously before tour to inform us and we confirmed). They were told this at the beginning of the tour, and we substituted the free cannabis trial( which in all honesty is cheaper weed than what was purchased during the tour), for souvenir wristbands and keepsakes for their recent engagement and wedding(also told at the beginning of the tour). Also the tour price for the red light district is E7,95 each, not 75 Euros ( it clearly states this on our website) and there was no friend brought on the tour, only the couple as it was there honey moon ( most honeymoon couples don't bring a friend with them on a tour as a third wheel?) . This is sadly a lie, and hurt our reputation, as well our hearts because we all had such a fun time together. No drinks are requested to be purchased, and the drinks were freely offered without hesitation. I was humbly appreciative for buying a drink, and we never mention " tip us at the end of the tour" we say you are allowed to if you enjoyed it, and the customer DID tip. We respectfully request that this be changed to reflect accurate information. If such a terrible tour was given, we would rather offer a refund immediately, of the actual tour price, which is 7,50 per person. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Erik is both professional and fun so our tour was on time, delivered what he promised AND hit the high points of what we were most interested in seeing. We are pretty adventurous so the need for a tour guide wasn't immediately evident but my goodness it made a HUGE difference. Erik knew exactly where to take us for the experience we wanted and he was knowledgeable about the history as well as current events and the diverse communities. This coupled with his sense of humor made the tour a blast. We had so much fun we are going AGAIN tonight...this time dinner!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank SageSaundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Erik was an amazing guide through the red light district, really taking care of us.
I loved the fact that we were only a small group making the tour feel more personal, the tour didn't feel like a scripted walk about. Erik also knows his Red Light District info.
I would definitely recommend this tour without hesitation!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank tinamae90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

As a first timer to Amsterdam, my Daughter and I were fortunate to book this tour as the Tour guide Erik was amazing with his comprehensive knowledge both culturally and historically. We were a group of 4 of differing ages and Erik made us all feel very relaxed and safe in his company and he was very flexible with what we wanted to see and recommended nice restaurants and places of interest as we walked . Overall, it was a memorable experience and I would definitely recommend Erik and his company to everyone who is looking for a unique experience.

Date of experience: July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ballina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews