We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht to your Saves list
Ranked #168 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This Houseboat is situated on a lovely, quiet canal in the North of Amsterdam. We had the loft studio which came with a private roof terrace - wonderful for sitting in the evening watching canal life with a glass of wine. Yvonne and Henk, our hosts were very friendly and helpful but discreetly gave us as much privacy as we needed. We took the 5 Euro pp breakfast and it was great. A good selection and enough fresh bread and meat, cheese etc to take some for lunch, which we were encouraged to do. A 10 minute walk through a lovely park took us right to the bus for Centraal station. Perfect place to stay to avoid the noise and crush of Amsterdam in Summer but very accessible for the city. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to book the loft apartment as it has the roof terrace facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waitknowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cluses, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent four days in Amsterdam at the end of April 2014. Our host picked us up at the ferry. We had a warm welcome, Henk and Yvonne gave us a lot of information for our stay in Holland. The rooms are very nice, the breakfast is large and perfect. The place is quiet, along the canal, near a park and very closed to the city center. We rent bicycles and it was the perfect way to visit Amsterdam and to go back to the bed and breakfast ! Thanks again to Yvonne and Henk for our stay in their house boat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 688Francoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed with Henk and Yvonne in June 2013 and had the most wonderful time possible! The hosts were warm and accommodating, Yvonne even met us in her private vehicle as we came off the ferry from Amsterdam train station and brought us to their house boat which was a 5 minute drive from the boat.

Our room was spacious, clean and had a wonderful view of the canal. The rates were extremely reasonable and access to Amsterdam central was via a 10 minute bus trip that we caught after a short walk was made through a lovely park. I would have no hesitation in recommending this facility and would also not think of staying anywhere else on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
NH Amsterdam Noord
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HutSpot B&B
#139 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Hotel Isis
#265 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#20 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht

Property: Bed and Breakfast Noorderlicht
Address: Nieuwendammerkade 11, 1022 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yvonne and Henk welcome you to come and stay on their house boat. Living on the water is unique and a wonderfull experience.We have one loft with a kitchen and private shower and toilet and two rooms which share a bathroom. We offer a free pick up service from the ferry which is just 5 minutes from the Amsterdam Central Trainstation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing