We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quirky and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed one night in the Lloyd hotel and it was fantastic! The staff in all areas of the hotel are friendly, efficient and interested in making your stay pleasant. I requested a room with a bath and we had a huge bath in a fun orange painted room. The food in the restaurant is excellent - we had a business dinner one night and an early breakfast before our flight home. The history of the hotel has been maintained with integrity but without compromising on comfort. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Easy to get to by tram and the staff are knowledgeable about getting to other destinations in the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for anything specific you require. The rooms are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lurkcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad to read that you had such a good stay with us and that we were able to give you some insider information about the nice spots in Amsterdam. You definately stayed in one of our more quirky rooms! Having an orange room during the World Cup was good timing though... I hope to see you again when you next come to Amsterdam.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    477
    170
    96
    86
See reviews for
150
439
97
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. It is a very nice and interesting hotel. Especially its history during the last decades. The rooms are clean. So is the restroom. Reception service is friendly and helpful. Besides the hotel is very close to the Centraal train station. Only two stations to go in each direction. Compared to some other hotels it is for quite moderate prices. When choosing to visit Amsterdam again I WILL take it again!!!

Room Tip: Take standard 2 stars room for a short stay. Absolutely satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Yulia,
It is so good to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you managed to find your way around the city with ease. I am glad that you were able to find some time to read up on our history. We are very pround to be able to house our hotel in a monumental building with such diverse history. Next time you visit us, we would be more than happy to give you a personal tour of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It's about a 30 min walk to Amsterdam Central train station, but if the weather's good then it's a nice walk along the river. I didn't take the tram but there's a stop a few mins away from the hotel. There are a couple of upmarket bars and restaurants in the close vicinity (it's a regenerated former docklands area, so feels quite trendy), as well as a supermarket over the road, so it's a good location as a base, and you can relax and unwind away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre.

The hotel itself has a wonderful central area with different lounges on different levels, and the whole building has quite an arty style. The reception is just a small desk in a corridor, so the entrance doesn't wow you, but you soon realise the building is quite special. I got a room upgrade which was a pleasant surprise and stayed in a 3* room. The staff were very friendly indeed. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoMike1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
What a great review! It's good to read that you were able to discover the gems of the Eastern Docklands area. It is an area that some forget to put on their "places to see in Amsterdam" list, but definately worth while adventuring into. Next time you visit make sure to rent one of our bikes thats the best way to get around Amsterdam.
Thank you for you kind words about the feel of the hotel.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a wonderful Easter 2014 in Lloyd Hotel. A very unusual hotel. Fascinating original story. Special interior. Great room with a harbour view. Nice beds. Good service, and all the help we needed. 2 min from the tram.

Room Tip: Give the hotell your details; what is your needs. We got a room with no door between the bathrom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aias690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us and were able to fully appreciate the hotel and its history.
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose to stay in a 1 star room, and we got just that. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room, as a 1 star didn't have its own bathroom, which was not far down the hall, and also clean. The staff would see our confused faces and they were very friendly and quick to make sure we were on our way quickly.

Room Tip: 1 star rooms look like an old hospital room, (partially broken) tile floors and walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ariel,
Thanks for writing a review. We chose to keep the wording and signage in the hotel in Dutch, so I can imagine that it could have been a bit challenging to find the "badkamer" (bathroom). I am glad that we were able to point you in the right direction. Luckily there is a bathroom on every floor so you didn't have to wander too far!
For next time you travel to Amsterdam, you now know at least one important word in Dutch...
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The Lloyd was impressive, if you are looking for something out of the ordinary and enjoy top service. If you like the big chain hotels with no personality then don't stay here.

The rooms are quirky but we loved the location and the staff were great. Breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ck7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. I hope you have a fantastic time in the Hague and hopefully you will visit us again. Anne sends her love!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is special, that is for sure.

My 2 star room was not nice at all. The shower in the middle of the room - freezing cold.

The bed and pillows was too soft and the quilt way too hot for June. No curtains so the sun will wake you up.

The room had no facilities - except the smallest TV I've seen since 1982.

Location not too great either. Best thing about the hotel is the spanish restaurant next door.which has great tapas.

Room Tip: Go for a 4 or 5 star room - my colleagues who were fortunate enough was happy with their (pricy) roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish that you had let us know at reception that you weren't happy with your room. We would have been more that happy to show you around and you could have chosen the room most suited! It is also never a problem to change the bedding if you would have preffered something lighter.
Hopefully you wil chose to stay with us again so that we have the opportunity to find the perfect room!
Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#69 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#130 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing