We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HIDDEN GEM.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #101 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

1st time in Amsterdam and me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights...WHAT A GREAT HOTEL!! staff friendly and helpful (they loved our Manchester accents!!), the rooms clean, had to share the bathroom/toilet faculties (this was for 1 star accommodation and we didn't have a problem waiting to use them), amazing building with it's own exhibition (within a stair way!) and great location away from the busy and noisy city centre!! WILL BOOK AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review! It makes us very happy to read that you appreciated our ongoing exhibition and that the staff treated you so well.
We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
There are newer reviews for Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay in for a weekend in Amsterdam! Amsterdam is another review in itself... Me and my partner came here with some friends and we didn't really know what to expect with mixed reviews, you have to be very open minded to enjoy this hotel, there is so mmuch history and culture to this hotel and has kept some of the historic pictures and parts of the hotel. However, being a 1 to 5 star hotel is a bit confusing because I feel there should be the basic hotel facilities in every room! The rooms are very strange indeed, and we're cleaned every day we were there to a good standard with fresh towels, staff were also very lovely and so so helpful We had a very very good time I'm Amsterdam and will definitely be returning to this hotel. Brilliant... And thanks to all the staff at the Lloyd hotel for a great weekend :-) x

1  Thank Lovethebeach2006
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the culture and history of the Lloyd Hotel, as well as our wonderful staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked and 2* but upgraded to 3* room. I recommend 3* room because they are bigger and more practical. The shower was behind a large door and a bit too much design and little functionality. Hot water + coffee in the corridor, but a bit difficult to find.

Room Tip: Choose a 3 star room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCycleHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please contact us directly if you would like to try one of our other bathroom designs in the future!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Lloyd hotel never disappoints, this was our 4th visit. A place full of character (and characters!) A little out of the way but not a long walk from Centraal. There is always the tram service which has a stop close to the hotel if your legs aren't up to the walk after a long day sightseeing. Restaurant choice a little limited, but great food. We will be there again this year - can't wait!

Room Tip: Room Price dictates which are the best rooms, lots of people stay here on a limited budget and there...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Lloyd Hotel for the 4th time. It is very nice to read that you enjoy the hotel and the many wonderful characters. We are looking forward to your 5th visit!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The decor is immaculate, the breakfast buffet is delicious, the rooms are interesting and quaint, but the best part is how helpful, friendly and attentive the staff are!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crushfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for the beautiful compliments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

There cannot be many hotels where the staff will mix you remedies for a sore throat, but I was treated to a wonderful concoction of mint, honey, lemon, cloves and hot water. Not only did it taste good, it looked and smelled amazing - a real (and very memorable) pick- me-up! It was all the more welcome because it was volunteered - I did not ask for it - just when I needed it most.

This hotel is a true experience and I cannot wait to visit again. The rooms are spacious, comfy and quirky. I had a 2** room which was very good value. Once you get used to the open showers (with accompanying squidgee mop) they are great fun. The water was really nice and warm, and the water pressure just right.

The food was lovely, managing to be both interesting and tasty. The chocolate croissant and home made jam brought me down early in the mornings in anticipation, but there was a lot of equally delicious things to choose from.

The hotel was easy to access from the train station and had plenty of space to meet and chat. It was also great that you could end your day be wending your way up to bed with a hot chocolate and a plate of biscuits. Bliss!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotonthemove63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Wow! Reading your review was like reading a poem! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were treated so well by our staff!
Kind regards,
The Lloyd Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I love the idea of this hotel and merging 1 to 5 stars. A much more diverse crowd and if your meeting friends you can decide what you can afford etc. however it was pretty expensive and there are plenty of new alternatives to hotels if you are into design like me. The service was warm and wonderful, the restaurant was great with fabulous food and coffee, but the rooms were a real let down. I chose 3 star and got an upgrade to 4 star, but the room was shabby and in desperate need of a repaint and recarpet. The bones of the hotel are fabulous and they just need some new ideas and emerging artists to quirk it up a bit like an ace hotel room. It can show case the great ideas and design of this city. The public areas and restaurant did this well but it didn't carry into my room or the others I peeked into. I love this idea and would like to see more hotels adopt this idea so that there is more diversity in guests.the area that the hotel is in is really interesting and not far from the station with great public transport. It's a lovely hotel, it just needs a bit more love!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,876 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,386 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
4.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing