We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Happy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #94 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at the Lloyds on a business trip. Rather than moving around town I needed some meeting places and Lloyd offered ample space for meetings. The spacious center structure around and above the dining facility was excellent to conduct meetings.

Very conveniently located in Amsterdam and great access to the airport. I did not stay in the 1-2 * rooms so I can not speak for them but my room was very funky (no closet nor hooks/places to hang my coats) and quite pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kei_Izawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    501
    176
    98
    87
See reviews for
159
459
99
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The majority of the hotels that I stay at are rather dull and predictable. The Lloyd Hotel is decidedly different and is worth experiencing once even if it's not your cup of tea. I've stayed there twice in 2013 - once in a 4* room and just recently in a 5* room. This is not the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok but it has its own charms and fascinations. Both rooms I stayed in were very large and had interesting views of this up and coming area of Amsterdam. They both had the rather distressed floors and walls that you get in converted buildings as well as wonderful snug bedding and duvets that are so good that I bought one for use at home. The rooms have unusual features - both rooms I stayed in were long and had unconventional layouts for the bathroom, bedroom and study area. The 5* room had a hammock hung between pillars. Breakfast (€17.50) is excellent and the restaurant is one of the feature spaces of the hotel. The city centre is not far away - it's about €13 by taxi to the main railway station, for example. My advice is take a good look at the hotel's website and see if it looks promising. This is a unique hotel and it provides an opportunity to engage with part of the city's history and culture.

Room Tip: Look at the website before you book - this is not a typical hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I'd stayed here before for a friend's wedding a few years ago and while the building is fascinating, creepy and packed with character, the only thing that lingered was the fact that it seemed all so overpriced for what it was. This time wasn't any different. I was staying to visit a friend so picked a cheaper room on offer, that meant I had to use a communal toilet and shower (the latter was always left in a horrible condition by earlier guests, towels on the floor, all the hooks used by dirty towels and bathrobes, soaking wet floor). My 'welcome' was this:
"Can I help you?"
"Yes, I have a reservation"
"Can I pre-authorise your credit card?"

No, Hello and welcome to the Lloyd, no interest in my visit or me as a guest. Just wanted me credit card as soon as possible. Cold, disinterested service. I immediately wished I'd stayed somewhere else.

The room was ok - not a single hook to hang any clothes from, any plugs at ground level, or a light switch to operate the lights which were just those desk lamps screwed to a wall. But the floor I was on was quiet and the bed comfy. I've picked up athletes foot from the bathroom though.
Will I stay here again? It's a half hour walk from the Central Station so not really very central (though there's a tram stop behind the hotel) and there's nothing else really around it. It's too out of the way and lacking in friendly service for me to want to stay again - as I said, it's just vastly over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: The shared 'budget' rooms aren't really worth it - you'd be better off in a cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonWeir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days whilst attending a conference in Amsterdam. It prides itself on being the first and only 1 - 5* hotel in Amsterdam (possibly the world). There are of course some immediate issues with this, not least that the communal facilities are more 1* and the prices (e.g. for breakfast) more 5*. Due to the nature of the venue the rooms are non-standard and to be honest I'm not sure what class of room I was in but to give you an idea: you enter into a "lounge" area with a spartan table with two chairs and a sofa. The bedroom is accessed via a "walk through" bathroom, with shower. There are some pegs for clothes (but no wardrobe) and the TVs are antiques from the era of cathode ray tube fired pictures!

As you can visit the place for "free" - e.g go for lunch, look round the exhibits etc. I would suggest taking the tram 26 out there, have a look round and stay somewhere central, as you will pay a price that you are more likely to be satisfied with the quality for.

Room Tip: probably best to ask the hotel what style of room you are getting, and to establish what facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in one of the one star room, and really it has nothing to do with a common one star room. Very comfortable and cozy!! and even the shared bathrooms seemed to be just for you, always free and perfectly clean!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antinulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the Lloyd hotel and was so pleased that it had kept the same charm as when I stayed about 8 years ago. The rooms are unusually large, they are so clean, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. My wife also especially liked the restaurant service and food. If/when I return to Amsterdam, for sure I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#120 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing