We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, clean & professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #99 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean & professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Good location - even if you like walking because its only a 25 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Good grocery store across from the hotel. Staff were friendly and professional. We stayed in a 2 star room with shared bathroom - the bathroom was ALWAYS clean. Unlimited towels, soap, shampoo always provided and kept on hand in the bathroom. I commented on how clean the shared bathrooms were to reception and she told us that they mix the floors with all types of rooms so that its unlikely there will be more than one person needing to use the shared bathroom at any given time. Plus the bathrooms are cleaned throughout the day too, not just in the morning. There are areas in the hotel to chill out which is good if waiting to catch a flight. Great wifi. Didn't take the breakfast because it seemed expensive....€19 per person...I kindly responded with a "no, thank you!". Great stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jade_064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    490
    175
    97
    86
See reviews for
156
449
98
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

In common with other reviewers, I'd recommend understanding what the Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Assembly is before booking here. It's not a conventional hotel, and you shouldn't expect such when you arrive.

I booked a three-star room. The room was spacious, but very sparsely furnished with quirky furniture, and located in the basement with a small window and two light bulbs. The shower freestands in the middle of the room. There's no wardrobe or coat hangers, just pegs on the wall. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bed linen of good quality. I slept well.

If I'd been expecting a traditional 3-star hotel room, I would have been surprised and probably disappointed. Don't book here if you want a room as you would find in a chain hotel.

I would like to have explored the hotel more, and been on a trip where I wanted to experience new and different things. Maybe I'll try that next time.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to understand where your room will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlicum
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a week of business meetings in the hotel: perfect service and food. The Lloyd hotel is an experience! Rooms are weird but perfect! We had 4* and 5* rooms and especialy the 5* rooms will be a good memory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnekeBerlicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at the Lloyd Hotel for a long weekend in October with my significant other. The place has character and we liked it but I can see how some people may not.

We booked a three star room and had one where you create your own bathroom by opening out the folding wall (it's difficult to explain). The bed was very comfortable and once you get the hang of showering in the middle of the room and squeegeeing the floor afterwards it has all you need. The different lamps and lighting in the room were cool. Going to another floor to find some tea/coffee was quirky but quite fun. Housekeeping was minimal though - ie used coffee cups not removed from the room ...

Location is out of the way of main tourist attractions and you'll probably need to master the tram system or rent a bike.

Restaurants nearby: el cantine right next door - friendly with a good selection of beers and hearty food, great apple pie. Jamie's Fifteen - bit hit and miss and too expensive for what it is. Gare de l'est: excellent-cosy and relaxed, the set menu we had was very tasty, popular with the locals.

Some people might say the Lloyd is pretentious and sells spartan functional rooms as minimal chic with an expensive price tag. We suspended our cynicism and consequently enjoyed our weekend probably more than if we had been in your usual identikit hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we waited 5hours to get the room after they said we should only wait one hour. the room was after 6 hours available but no one told us about it, i had to ask again when we could get it.
The room was very beautiful with the italian shower, but not very clean as we arrived.

Room Tip: our room 402 war very good but not clean as it should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Knl_baechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The first reviewer paid 450 Euro, we paid 105 Euro so we were more happy I suppose. When I booked I knew the bathrooms were communal and down the hall. I did not know that the hotel is considered five star and maybe this is a stretch but I was thrilled with the quirk that this hotel offered. Imagine very clinical. When we walked into our room the room was floor to ceiling white tile that didn't even look clean (it was), the bed was comfortable and clinically white as could be. Furniture clinical. The whole room a photographers dream. Open you mind and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewartlane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I must warn everyone that wish to book a room in this Hotel. First of all, they charged you cut throat prices.For 450Euro a room, what we got was appaling and a ripped off. We booked a different category type of room but unfortunately when we arrived, that particular room that we booked were occupied by someone else!Too tired to argue, we went up to our room to find the biggest nightmare.The room was bare, just a queen size bed simple bedside table, no shower, just an ordinary bathtub.The ameneties were the worst i have ever come across for a so called 5star hotel,they only give us 2 small bar soaps, and 2 tubes of shampoo!What a joke! If you like to take a shower, there are communal ones outside at the corridor! Cables running all over the room,the TV was not working, bedsheets has flint all over,its like they wash the bedsheets together with tissue papers.We called the reception to ask for the Housekeeping to change the bedsheets in 30minutes after we go out for dinner,but to our horror when we came back late in the evening,nothing was done!In the morning we called the room service for 2 cuppuccinos,guessed what their reply was? They will have to charge us extra 14Euros just to deliver the Coffees!! That's ontop of the coffee charges!! What?? We got this room605.Everyone please stay away from this hotel, they are trying to robbed you in broad daylight. What you see in the video in the advertisement is a joke!When we checked out, we ask to see the General Manager of the hotel, guessed what the reply is, no one is around, they will get back to us! What cheek,please tell the GM, that he should not be there,quit, do something else! I am telling all my friends about this nightmare stay, trust me, i will not let this get unnoticed.

Room Tip: For the price that they are charging...Go somewhere else!!!!! Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Azmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#72 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing