We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #96 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you seek a cookie-cutter business hotel, I suggest you look elsewhere. If you're open to charm, quirkiness, impeccable service, great food & a comfortable bed, then read on. I stayed in 2 different rooms at the Lloyd in May-June 2013. First, I shared room 419 (2 stars) with a friend. This room (picture included) is large, but extremely spartan. Its walls consisted of white tiles. The shower was literally in the middle of the room, sort of a bummer if you value privacy. My roommate used it, then mopped up the puddle from the floor (mop provided). I opted to use the less-than-convenient shower in the communal bathroom down the hall (picture also included) & would've appreciated hooks & a shelf/table for towels, toiletries, etc. Fortunately, our bed was heavenly & we slept like logs. When my husband & children arrived, I moved to 4-star-room 211, which, I was told, is the hotel's only apartment. This unit consists of 2 rooms, a kitchen & a huge bathroom with a very long tub. All 4 of us were very comfortable. We ate only breakfast at the Lloyd, which was superb, & enjoyed easy access to Centraal Station (via tram #26) & Museumplein (via tram #10). The hotel has a number of communal areas filled with couches, books & tables. My children (ages 10 & 6) enjoyed exploring them. I took advantage of them to work late into the night while my family slept. Whether I return to Amsterdam for business or pleasure, I'd definitely go back to a a 3+ star room at the Lloyd Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Lloyd hotel was a great place outside the center and very easy access to the train to center station. Rooms were kinda cool in a weird asylum feel kinda way. Grocery store across the street and quite at night. The restaurant was descent especially late night after roaming the city all day. Overall kinda over priced for the rooms. The 5 star is way to over prices and the 2 star should be updated. I've stayed twice so obviously I find it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dickhaut12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

let's be honest, when you go for 1 star, it's one star. don't expect anything great. i read a comment about the reception and it's true that its pretty small and i can imagine it must be a bit messy if more than 2 people are waiting. otherwise we were ok with our bedroom even though it was very small. the matresses were good. the cleanliness could have been better though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a great experience. It's an exciting mix of recent. vivid history and absolutely modern design. The area is stark but we had a beautiful walk over to Java island and found a good bar and resturant over there. The transformation of the building has been done well, although the prison antecedents combined with stark modern design doesn't exactly make it a cosy stay. I liked the basement plant collection and the library on the top floor.The cafe felt like being in a University Department, with people actually talking to each other at breakfast - that doesn't always happen in hotels! The "hot water stations", where you could make tea and coffee, were only on even floors, which meant negotiating the stairs with hot drinks - and no trays, so I had to make the tea one at a time !
Breakfast was nice but expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel rooms vary from 1* to 5* unsure which room we had but I would guess a 3* double bed very comfy, shower bit different as was in the middle of room (open shower) TV was a little dated but worked. Hotel is a little strange in terms of décor but was a good average hotel.

To get from the Airport train station to Main train station (Amsterdam Central) take train from platform 1 or 2. When arriving at main train station come out and turn left walk 2/3 mins to tram 26 (comes every few mins) and the hotel is the 3rd stop Rietlandpark you can see the hotel when you get off the tram.

It is worth buying a 1/2/3 day tram ticket as you can get on and off as much as you like with it.

Room Tip: ask for a 4* or 5* with king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Lloyd's hotel with a group of people, all family. The building is interesting and located in a part of Amsterdam that is not touristic. The building however has quite a bit of history and that creates a nice atmosphere. The rooms are all different, but my room, spacious as it was, had a very strange shower that took up half of the room as soon as the giant door was closed. There is a nice restaurant where we had lunch. Because there are also rooms of a fraction of the price that we paid it gave us the feeling that we overpaid our rooms. These other rooms are meant for students or such which gives the clientele one sees there a slight idea of a youth hostel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the IJ-side of the building. The view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robrecht8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lloyd Hotel is a taste. you like or you don't. I did. In true Dutch style the place presents an immediate visual interest and attitude. Bold - here I am. Reception booth is kind of cool and interesting but totally impractical if there are more than 2 people waiting. I waited for more than 30 minutes as I arrived just after a conference group.

BUT the wait was worth it! The 4* room was austere and cool at the same time with fabulous simplicity and humour. Clean, functionional and a very comfortable bed.

Staff are customer-oriented in a pragmatic Dutch way. Clear, polite and focussed on their job.

Restaurant is basic fare, good if you fancy a simple meal. For something more, head to the City.

Room Tip: I got the impression Llyoyd Hotel is very keen to impress you with all the clever art and surprises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magentalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.8 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,420 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing