We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool spot but uneven overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #96 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool spot but uneven overall”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked two rooms and they were unique and cool attic spots. The two-star room was small and drafty but worked for our teen-aged daughters. Our five-star room was larger but still drafty with pre-fab fiberglass bathroom unit in the corner. Reminded me of a squat I stayed in in 1997, not exactly five-star. A noisy pump sends waste water out as needed. Shower is not enclosed, so no complete privacy and though the water is warm, the air is cold. The maid came about every other day, but s/he never dusted the little TV. The restaurant was good, both food and atmosphere. One waiter remembered us and was very friendly as we stayed ten days. Other staff didn't ever seem to know who we were but we're generally helpful. My sweetie asked one woman at the front desk for a recommendation for Christmas dinner and she told us "like most Dutch, I eat at home with family." The location is great, though. Three stops to centraal, or take the 10 tram around city central and walk in. The aesthetic is cool. A little training for staff, and eliminate the reference to five-star anything, and it would be a good deal and a fun and unique accommodation.

Room Tip: For five-star, insist on 602 or 607. Otherwise, go for three or two star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    542
    193
    106
    90
See reviews for
173
512
109
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I like this Hotel very much, the combination of this Old House
with modern art! And the service was great, Thank you! Also the Place Seouls the hotel
Is very nice, the docks from Amsterdam.
We will come back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Utakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very artsy and hip so be prepared, this is not a Holiday Inn. Rooms are very interesting. The bed I had was fabulous, great comforter and pillows and really amazing sheets. Clean room, clean bathroom. I had a room with a private bathroom, but there are shared bathroom options for budget travelers. The hotel has lots of nice nooks and crannys to work in or hold an impromptu meeting. Creative atmosphere.

The neighborhood is great with a couple of restaurants and a big grocery store across the street. The hotel is a very short walk from the train only about three stops from Centraal Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travl4funandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ive stayed here 2 times. Im a travelling dj, and late check out is a must for me, and there was no problem here. The rooms are different, but they feel very nice. The restaurant is great, and a welcome change to the usual bad food found in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rune-rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, in, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Located a short bus ride away from the Amsterdam centeral station where the main tourist attractions are. The area is really quiet and peaceful seemingly a university area. The hotel also has atram stop on the back which is two stops from the centeral station. The staff are really helpful and wifi is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was so happy this was off the beaten path, but easy to get to. Straight shot from the train station, and on a line that takes you straight to common amsterdam destinations.
Much more residential neighborhood itself, but a few handouts around.
The rooms are strange, each ones different.... Ours was fun for a few days, but I wouldn't enjoy it for more than that. I'm sure if you don't like your room you can switch!
Restaurant was great, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff.
Building itself has a lot of history and is a landmark in itself worth seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehmetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We try to stay in interesting places when we travel, and Lloyds was definitely a unique stay. Our room was well designed and comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly. The entire place had an air of design enthusiasm, and there were a number of places to comfortably settle in and read a magazine or get online with the hotel's free wi-fi. The restaurant is lovely, and the food was very good. Initially we had been worried that it might be too far from places we wanted to go, but like others have said, the tram is literally steps away. And, if your a fan of a fresh Oliebollen, there's a stand within 5 minutes of the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekatpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#116 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#102 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing