We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A fabulous hotel in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ranked #92 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous hotel in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hello. I read reviews online to determine where we would stay for our two nights in the city. We have a four year old son also with us. The beds where phenomenal, so nice you felt heaven like in the linens. SO much so we bought a set when we left. The restaurant was nice and cozy. The ladies at the front desk were helpful and they sold train tickets and gave advice for perfect ideas to do in the beautiful city. Parking was 22euro a night extra, so if you are booking on price, take that into consideration. Also the bathroom was very standard, nothing even remotely special. Easy to get anywhere in town because the train/tram stops just in front. Our four year old had no problems seeing the entire center from this historic hotel. We loved the stairway with the unique history documented on the walls of the hotel. A great hotel choice when you take a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahschlepstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    513
    183
    99
    88
See reviews for
165
478
103
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was glad to see another dimension of Amsterdam in the form of Eastern Docklands and its smartly converted old warehouses and historical buildings (such as Lloyd Hotel). This hotel building oozes character and charmed me with its long corridors and with contrasts of old architecture and warm impeccable service.

Sumptuous breakfast is served in an airy room with at least 7 meter ceiling height, and if you feel like having a cup of coffee to your room look for a small coffee stations (at least on the 2nd floor corridor) where you can make yourself a cup of coffee at any hour of the date.

I also loved the furnishing of my room - smart and austere at the same time. Shower was funny enough placed in the middle of the room by the wall, without any wall or curtain fencing it off - brilliantly practical and simple.

There is a superfast tram-line right from behind the hotel to central station - and it generally took me 15 minutes to get to central Amsterdam.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something new while staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Myself and my partner spent 4 nights at the lloyd hotel in chilly february. We went for a 3 star room and were very impressed - stylish, big comfy bed, spacious and a shower slap bang in the middle! Not like anywhere we had stayed before. As all the rooms are unique, on arrival, as I had read in previous reviews, we were offered the possibility of changing our room if the initial one offered was not to our liking - a nice touch I think. I hadn't taken a hairdryer with me but was able to borrow one from reception no problem. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We had breakfast/brunch in the hotel each morning and ate dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The food was of a consistently high standard - simple ingredients, cooked well - I particularly enjoyed the grilled sea bass with yellow beets. There was always a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant/lounge and we popped in several times for good coffee/hot chocolate. The hotel is also well situated on the 10 and 26 tram lines - 5-10 mins (3 stops) from central station on the 26 and the 10 takes you all the way down to the museum district. I would definitely recommend the lloyd hotel to any friends visiting Amsterdam and hope to be back myself in not too long.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The only hotel in Europe with the possibility of booking rooms at 1-5* hence catering for any budget, also architecturally adapted with fantastic light angles, housing a great restaurant, a cultural centre and even elevator music- business, family, student friendly

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamanodelamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytown, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This Hotel, clearly says that their rooms are not all the same and I have to say that they are true to their word. Stayed here for just one Night and had a great room. Got a FREE upgrade and had a great room, with a large comfy bed. If you want something different, fun and handy to get to and from, then you should consider this Hotel. I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you are looking for the romantic hideaway in Amsterdam, Lloyd might not be your first pick. Depends on what you call romantic of course. The hotel itself is due to it's architectural style and original destination (partly a prison and migration center) not very cosy, but of course it is a gem in it is own typical amsterdam style. Design, "archi" freaks en trendspotters might like it the way it is. People looking for something completely different as well. The 0 to 5 star principle is rather limited to your choice of room, not of service or food quality (teh same for all guests). As such I picked right in the middle with a 3 star room. The bed was great, the room large and the bathroom cold and very basic with towels that you would rather expect in chinese bunk hotels. But altogether I felt like paying the correct price, no surprise in either sense of the word. I wouldn't hesitate to ask the reception to see multiple rooms as they all differ even within the same price category. The restaurant area is nice with high ceilings, but again, it misses some charm to feel comfy and at home (if that is the experience you are looking for).
Breakfast buffet is overpriced, better grab a coffee and croissant and go into town for a real brunch. During weekdays the (new red and rather small) bar is mainly visited by business people staying overnight with their colleagues after some meetings/brainstorms in the building. Staff at the 'reception' was welcoming and charming, the lady at the restaurant rather rude in her answer on a simple and polite request for scrambled eggs: 'absolutely not possible and that it is not her responsibility to take care of some, talk to the management if you don't like it'...
Finally the hotel is not centrally located but with tram 60 just in front you are within 10 minutes at the central station so it shouldn't stop you from picking out the Lloyd as your exploring base.
Conclusion: it's original, I like dutch designers (responsible for furniture in the rooms), it's worth a visit but don't expect something that makes you 'glow'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niels f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Liked very much, just what've expected and even more. The ambience is beautiful and the staff is helpful and sincerely glad to welcome/help you. Thanx!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank young_ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
5.2 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Property: Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building with 117 rooms, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists are involved in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Embassy is located 900 metres from Pakhuis de Zwijger. Bimhuis concert hall is a 15-minute walk away. Guests benefit from a terrace, an excellent restaurant and free WiFi. Coffee and tea making facilities are available to guests throughout the hotel. The Cultural Embassy of Lloyd Hotel is present throughout the building. Cultural events are hosted and mezzanine platforms are used for exhibitions, meetings and events. The Lloyd has a variety of meeting room facilities and a library for smaller groups. The restaurant focuses on carefully sourced local ingredients and serves a range of sandwiches, light meals and an extensive breakfast buffet. There is also a shop selling delicatessen-style foods and designer gifts. Guests who wish to explore Amsterdam by bicycle can rent one from reception. The Rietlandpark tram stop is 200 metres away and offers services to Amsterdam Central Station within 10 minutes. Anne Frank House and Dam are both within a 10-minute walk from the Station. Leidseplein and the Jordaan district can be reached by taking tram 10. Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ is 1.5 kilometres away. The Lloyd Hotel's neighbourhood is a great choice for travellers interested in city walks, architecture and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing