We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Noisy, cramped, unfriendly : avoid the small rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #196 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Noisy, cramped, unfriendly : avoid the small rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The least expensive rooms are extremely small and the staff was as professional as policemen would be, but clearly do not know how to smile. Our room was close to the stairs and because of that we were woken up during the night because doors were being slammed all the time. We could not close the window so to keep the temperature up we had to leave the radiator on. Buffet breakfast was overpriced relative to the offering.
On the other hand the location of the hotel is convenient relative to the tourist areas
If you are keen about visiting Amsterdam and still want a pleasant stay I'm afraid you will have to go to a more expensive hotel or choose another room.

Room Tip: Avoid the smaller rooms close to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aipalovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    180
    165
    47
    42
See reviews for
55
174
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North of London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for business. Was fine. Wouldn't be in a hurry to go for pleasure. Well connected location. Hotel seems to need an investment.

Positives. I had a very comfortable bed (four of them) and a small table and a good-sized bathroom with lots of towels and some toiletries. It was quiet and very dark at night.

Negatives. The shower door was too small in all dimensions. I had two mornings of clearing huge amounts of water from the floor before resorting to bathing instead. There were very few electric sockets. The fridge did not work. The door to the room was cracked and was very difficult to open and close.

Would be fine if pricing implied that it was cheap and cheerful. However, the rates were really expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sat_with_some_cereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

West Layton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was located in an area with excellent tram links and within walking distance of some very good restaurants and bars. Our room was extremely small, but having read previous reviews, that is what we expected. However, the room was immaculately clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were located on the 4th floor, so were not aware of the traffic noise outside.
It was also extremely useful to have free internet access via their two computers, located on the ground floor in their 24hr bar/café.
The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful so I would revisit this hotel on that basis. Next time I will probably book a twin room as I gather they are more spacious.

Room Tip: I gather the twin rooms (with beds put together, are larger than the standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were lovely, very helpful, and there was a nice terrace, but the location very noisy - no double-glazing?- and I didn't sleep much. The room was very small, I knew this before I came, but no courtesy kettle for tea/coffee, so I felt it was expensive for what I got. Everything was clean and plenty of warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was totally disappointed by this hotel. The 3 stars are not deserved. Although not particularly cheap, the room was tiny, with barely enough room to move around the bed. The bathroom sliding door was broken and couldn't be closed completely. Also the shower box doors were broken and difficult to move. The bed sheets were not clean (I found a hair on my first night there).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g75_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#190 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#240 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#277 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#159 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing