We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Excellent hotel, very central clean and comfortable. Would definatly stay here again when visiting Amsterdam, charming hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dees-Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    108
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
393
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Spent a short week here and could not have been happier. Rachel and Pepjin were perfect hosts, knowledgeable and very informative.

Rooms are comfortable and well equiped, quiet as well.

The location is superb. If you can't be bothered to walk far there is a choice of dozens of restaurants and bars within a hundred metres.

If you go to Amstedam and want to experience the real city you have to stay in the Old town, and this hotel is situated on a canal side next to a large market square. Go. Stay. Eat drink and sleep. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here, we felt very much at home in this little hotel. We stayed in room 6 for a week, the baroque room on the third floor and although it's one of the smaller rooms, we didn't feel like we needed more space at all. There is no elevator, but they were very kind in carrying my enormous suitcase up. The breakfast was fabulous and also the minibar was free which included drinks (incl beer), chips and chocolate. The only thing is that we felt the owner was a bit hot and cold, sometimes being very friendly and talkative, sometimes being a bit short or almost ignoring us. Once he was being rude at the lovely staff member that prepared our breakfast each morning. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had an amazing five days staying in this hotel and can recommend it to everybody! It is close to all the sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. We arrived by train from the airport and it is situated 15/20 minutes from the station on a lovely old canal and easy walking distance. We stayed in the big roomy Rembrandt room with a bathroom and a seperate toilet and the minibar was stocked everyday with free drinks, beer and snacks and it had also had a Nespresso machine in the room.

The best is the owners Rachael and Pepijn and their adorable cat who made us feel so wellcome!

We had often stayed in Amsterdam and this is the first time we have stayed in this hotel and we will certainly stay here in future! .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meraai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We really cannot say enough good things about our experience while staying at this hotel. My partner and I found the hotel to be very nice in terms of location, room size, breakfasts, etc. However, it was the owners who made for such a wonderful experience in Amsterdam.

Since it is a smaller place, there was none of the usual “passports please” mentality but rather just a “welcome, make yourself comfortable and what would you like to explore” feel to the hotel. Both provided welcome assistance from providing travel guidance/printing out tickets, to restaurant reservations and even booked a private boat for the hotel guests on Queen’s Day. Given the charm of Amsterdam, I can easily see us returning in the next 5 years and without a doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Galilee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

What do you look for in a hotel for a vacation? In my view, It should be something a bit special and with home comforts that enable you to enjoy your time throughout your stay. The Misc is that place in Amsterdam. It is not a 'hotel' in the truest definition. It is a guest house, a very special guest house and the owners make you feel very much at home. The rooms are larger than the usual Euro-Hotels mini rooms and as you may have read in many of the reviews, the beds are very comfortable. But, its the extras that make this place so very good. First of all, the all inclusive price ( taxes, service etc. ) incorporating a made-to-your pleasure breakfast , nespresso coffee and mini-bar full of goodies stocked daily - these are truly special additions you won't find anywhere else. The location is also great. Yes, the rooms facing the canal were a 'bit noisy' but hey, this is the heart of amsterdam not a countryside hamlet. You can't miss with the Misc. Trust me, i've stayed at some great locations in this city and this guest house/hotel was by far the best of the crop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, and I were priveledged to spend 3 nights at this marvellous hotel. The great advantage of this hotel is the quality of service offered by both Rachel and Pepijn the owners of this wonderful gem situated on one of the many canals in central Amsterdam. The posiive reviews on this hotel are defnately not overstated. The breakfast was everything you could ask for, the room was beautiful and well furnished and the special treats in the fridge were a welcome to come home to after a day out exploring. We were getting up early on our first day as we were booked on a tour to watch the Sail 2010 festival, Rachel wouldn't hear of us leaving without breakfast so organised a special early one just for us. Nothing was too much trouble for these people. My husband and I cannot rate them high enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donlea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,316 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing