We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Choice!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Excellent Choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at misc eatdrinksleep. Rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable. Great location with bars, restaurants, train station, and even a grocery store are close. Rachel is very helpful with anything you need. Breakfast very nice too. Very nice place to stay. If ever back in Amsterdam, I will try and stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougsnowla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    112
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
410
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raanana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed at the misc for a long weekend.
Location is ideal - in a fairly QUIET canal street at the periphery of the red light district, right next to the Nieuwmarkt square (but not on it).
It's a small 6-rooms, kind of B&B, hotel with a very friendly and cozy atmosphere.
We stayed at the top canal-facing room, which was very comfortable - everything is clean and in place - all the required accessories - including free internet connection, safe, and a mini bar full of things, and for FREE (drinks, snacks, even Heineken beer etc...). There was hardly any noise from the street. Being used to the Amsterdam staircases, we had no trouble walking up the three floors of steep stairs (for the more elderly this might be less convenient, but that's a general Amsterdam issue...).
And now for the owners - the adorable Rachel & Pepijn - even after having read some reviews, we didn't expect such a high degree of generosity and assistance.
Breakfasts, prepared by the owners, were excellent too - a variety of breads, cereals, delicious dutch cheeses (ask them where to buy cheese if you want to take some home with you), omelets... all that one needs for a good start of the day.
We warmly recommend to buy museum tickets at the hotel. We bought tickets for both the Rijks and Hermitage, and this really saves the queues, enabling to take the "fast lines" right to the entrance. We also recommend the "hop on hop off canal bus", and tickets for this may also be purchased at the hotel.
If liking cheese fondue - Cafe Bern is the place, in the square right next to the hotel.

All in all - a wonderful location - right at the center but yet fairly quiet and relaxed, very comfortable rooms, great atmosphere and very helpful and generous owners.

Looking forward to return there; maybe try some of the other uniquely-designed rooms...

Rika & Ofer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OfeRika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

My wife and I were there for four nights in the Rembrandt room the last week of March and we were very happy with the accomodations and the personal and friendly hospitality given by Rachel and Pepijn. They were more than gracious and served up the best breakfast you can ask for along with helpful tips on getting the most out of Amsterdam including some good Dutch restaurants and great towns to visit out of the city. The place is well situated in the middle of everything but also quiet at night so you can sleep. I would recommend the hotel and would return there for sure the next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

A huge thanks to Rachel & Pepijn.
They have created my best hotel experience to date and I travel frequently with gold memberships of both hotel chains and airlines.
The hotel was probably an old merchants house as it sits at the side of a canal very near the center of town. I was a little worried prior to arrival as some of the previous reviews had said that it was in a noisy neighborhood and they had trouble sleeping.
I arrived early (Red-eye from the US), but they were very happy for me to leave my bags and go exploring and grab some breakfast while my room was made up.
I returned around lunchtime and was shown to my room (Rembrandt) by Rachel (my bags had already made it up the stairs). Rachel made sure that I knew where everything was and how to work it.
My room was fantastic. King bed, view over the canal, complimentary minibar, rain shower and a whitenoise maker for those aforementioned light sleepers.
Breakfast the next morning was also a great experience. Cooked to order Bacon & Eggs, fresh bread, pastries and coffee.
If I am ever in Amsterdam, I will check here for availability first and would recommend that everyone else do the same.

Oh, I did not use the noise machine and even slept with the windows open. It may be loud if you live in a rural area, but if you live in a city or the burbs you will probably not notice any difference.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLeeSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

we had a belated honeymoon, being we married in December and we decided to goto Paris, Cologne Germany and Amsterdam... we JUST got back. trip was from march29-april 6...
we were on somewhat of a budget being we are traveling to so many cities yet we wanted quality!
this hotel was PERFECT for that! Great Price, Location and Room for a Petit Price... well, compared to some of the other hotels!
we had a garden room (which was quiet but not really a garden but cute none the less).
our room was romantic and comfy and all the things you'd want on a honeymoon!
baroque room #6. top floor which you have to travel ALL those steps that are narrow and steep but Pepyjn is a SUPER HELP with them. . . even though his eyes popped out of his head when he saw our luggage... hehe

OK... Pepjyn & Rachel . . . the AMAZING owners and runners of this place. we LOVED them. want to visit them when we return and become friendly with them over all, THAT is how great they are! at first Pepjyn is serious, but give him a second and he's just as goofy as the rest of us. . .Rachel has these lovely big eyes and is funny and charming as well! BOTH are truly amazing and no words are good enough to describe them! REALLY!
they had the best recommendations for restaurants, any kind of sightseeing, how to get tix and whats the best time to go. . . they had all the right answers!
even the guy they used to take us back to the hotel, i have to find his full info, but his name is Ramon and he is the MOST CHARMING MAN IN HOLLAND! we LOVED him as well and in turn, just made this experience even greater as our stay.
we were SO glad we ended our honeymoon here. . .room was great, they surprised us with a kind easter/honeymoon treat, the people were amazing, the city was fascinating and i cannot wait to return to this city AND this hotel...

OH... and their breakfast...HOLY HOLY WOW WOW... filing, amazingly delicious and FREE! as is their minibar that WE LOVED!
if you can't tell already, WE LOVED THIS PLACE! staff was BEYOND HELPFUL and kind. . . rooms were clean, cute and beds...VERY COMFY!
A+ + + RATING!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SINGSTHESONGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Misc eatdrinksleep really should be categorized as a Bed and Breakfast. The proprietors, Rachel and Pepijn, run the place themselves and take good care of the guests. My fiance and I found them to be really delightful. The location is perfect, right in the heart of old Amsterdam and a short walk from Centraal Station. Be sure to write down the address before you arrive if you plan to find your own way there. I walked right past the hotel and got us lost. It's easy to miss if you aren't paying attention.

We stayed in the Afrika Room, which is on the top floor (4th floor) facing the canal/street. The furnishings and decor are great and the free drinks and snacks in the fridge are a good bonus. The bathroom with the shower is very small, but I hardly expected different.

The only problem we had was the street noise. Not at night surprisingly, but in the early morning. Construction crews were doing some work on the sidewalk across the canal. Besides this construction work the other normal sounds from the street do make their way up and through the window. There is a white noise device to help mask the outside sound and aid your sleeping, but next time I think we'll stay in one of the garden view rooms.

The free breakfast is also great. Don't skip it.

If we come back to Amsterdam, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicelynicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed in Misc in March 2009 and chose the hotel after reading reviews on here. We arranged with the hotel to be picked up from the airport and the chauffer driven merc arrived on time and without hassle. The pleasant driver gave us a short tour of the city before dropping us off at the hotel. Rachel welcomed us in the most friendly and professional way and was the perfect host all the time we stayed. We had booked 3 nights which was more than enough to explore the city - during which time Rachel booked us tables at superb restaurants and recommended tours and sights not to miss. The rooms are comfortable and warm although the bathrooms are small - however the free fridge bar is a super idea and was most welcome after a day exploring the city. Breakfasts are plentiful and fresh - cooked right in front of you.

As for Amsterdam - it is small enough to 'do' in 2 days and coming from the UK, we did notice how expensive the fall in the value of the pound has made coming here. 2 coffees for 10 euros and dinner for 2 for 100 euros is pretty steep. However we were on holiday and we took the hit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing