We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Hotel Misc is unique and probably the reason we had the best vacation ever. Thanks to Rachel and Pepijn we had everything we needed and the guidance to have a wonderful stay in Amsterdam. These great people went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I have to agree with all the good reviews on this site and want to say we found the hotel very clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and my husband said he felt like he was sleeping in a cloud. The mini fridge and coffee machine were great extras. The breakfast was great and a wonderful way to start the day in Amsterdam. I have never written a review of a hotel before, but wanted to put my two cents in and let people know what a great place this is. We stayed in a canal view room and were very comfortable. There is street noise with the window open, but with the window closed we didn't hear a thing. We also loved the white noise machine and ceiling fan. When we mentioned the noise to Rachel she offered to switch us to a garden view room. We didn't want to move however and had a great stay and slept quite well. The location is excellent and we walked everywhere. I could not give a place a better review. It is just a great place and I can't wait until we can go back again and bring some friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    115
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
422
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We found this place using TA, and once again it did not disappoint! This little B&B is great! The Rachael and Pepijn are genuine people. They make you feel very comfortable and welcome. The location was the best part. Minutes to anthinig you want. We loved going for a late night walk through the red light district, great people watching. Then when you have had enough your room is just around the corner.

The stocked fridge is a nice touch as well. Great for those late night munchies :) Breakfast was yum. Our last day there we had an early flight, so upon returning to our room on our last night we found a cute spread of bread and cheese and hard boiled eggs for our early departure.

We stayed for 5 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. Amsterdam is a great city, with so much to see. I would definately stay here again next time. Great people, great location, great room, great breakfast. Book it....you will love it :)

P.S there is a chinese massage just a couple of doors down. It is totally professional, and open until 11 pm. After a long day of walking ( and trust me you will be be doing LOTS of walking) it was so nice to get a couples massage and then stumble back to our room which was 1 minute away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELCOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

We highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel with the neat theme rooms and fantastic breakfasts! The location is perfect - walking distance from the train station and to the Dam Square. Rachel and Pipijn were most accomodating and kept out luggage until our room was ready for us to check in. We stayed in the The Desgn room facing the canal. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The mini fridge was well stocked with drinks and snacks that were compliments of the hotel. Our friends stayed next door in the Wonders room. A very beautiful room with Indian - Asian decor.
Our Desgn room was al white with a more modern effect. Each floor of the hotel has two rooms. Our two rooms were in the first floor - one flight of stairs. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast prepared by Rachel including fresh squeezed orange juice with bacon, eggs, great cheeses, toast, fresh fruit and coffee. It was truly a meal that set us up for the day! Thank you Rachel! Dont forget to get directions from Rachel and Pippijn for the Flea Market which is only a few blocks away. It is near the Rembrant House whcih is also a must! The location of the Misc offers plenty of restuarants and bars directly outside the door and down the streets. You will enjoy your stay at Misc - we certainly did and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

What a fabulous time we had in Amsterdam and misc eatdrinksleep served as a perfect base. It's like having your own place with friends always available. You sit in the kitchen for breakfast, talk to fellow guests, and get idea's for the day's adventure. No request we had was too much. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obcbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Rachel & Pepijn run an OUTSTANDING little hotel. I would stay with them again in a heart beat. Truly great location, very central and an easy walk from the station if you don't have too much to carry. The rooms are large, modern and very clean. They are also stocked with FREE gourmet coffee, juices, soda, water and snacks. Rachel let me use a lap top to check e-mail throughout our stay (high speed and free) so I didn't have to drag my lap top along. She was also a great resource for where to go (to eat, for live music, antiques, museum times and on and on...). While we were there it was quite warm, but the rooms had fans and the windows opened, so we were never bothered by the temps or noise outside (very quiet).

It truly felt like we were visiting family and can't say enough kind things about them or there great hotel. It's a true hidden gem and will enhance your stay in Amsterdam.

Rent bikes! It may seem crazy when you first arrive, but the bike traffice flows so smoothly, we felt safer riding bikes then walking!! Besides, it allows you to cover so much more of the town. Make sure to ride through Vondel Park and you MUST go by the last great record store left in our downloadable world, "Concerto". If you have enough time, you can easily bike your way into the country side and see windmills and great vista.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboysrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have just returned from a short break in Amsterdam and I have to agree with the majority of people who have reviewed Misc. This is a lovely six roomed hotel situated in a traditional old Amsterdam house. The hotel is right beside Nieuwmarkt which is a beautiful old square and is within easy walking distance of all the most popular areas in Amsterdam. The main building in the square is the Waag which has to be seen lit up at night. It's beautiful.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and therefore overlooked the canal.Some people have commented on the noise at night but I really didn't notice this, and we were sleeping with the windows open. It was lovely to waken in the morning and watch the boats and the ducks, and see people already going about their day.
The room was really well stocked, with a good free mini bar and coffee maker. The bathroom was well equipped with high quality products and again had everything we needed.
The main selling point of this hotel is the owners. During our stay they couldn't have been nicer..even down to posting my mail! Our arrival in Amsterdam was delayed, but our welcome at the hotel was quick and friendly. The hotel has a compact breakfast area where we were served a very generous breakfast. The Dutch breakfast of breads, cheeses, ham, cereal and fruit are all served, but the owners served freshly squeezed orange juice, fantastic coffee and bacon and eggs which they made while we chatted.
This is a great wee hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NipIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Really delighted with our stay. Although our room could possibly have done with a better clean (the inside of the cupboard was dusty), that was more than compensated for by the stylish decor and comfortable bed. The location was absolutely perfect, too, which means it's easy to pop back to the hotel during the day. It's a little pricey, but worth it for having somewhere a little different. And there are nice touches, like a free mini-bar with soft drinks and snacks, plus free and fast Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing