We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My kind of place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The worst thing about misc eatdrinksleep? That name - which makes it sound like some kind of capsule hotel or backpacker hostel, rather than what it is - a wonderfully individual, romantic hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam. Rooms are delightful, individually decorated and overlooking either canal or garden. All are equipped with good coffeemaker, toiletries, robes, big comfortable bed, good lighting and a gratis minibar - no alcohol (a small bar downstairs provides that) but chocolate, snacks and soft drinks, all included in the room price - a first for me, but typical of the way the place is run. The owners are friendly and extremely helpful without being in any way overpowering - all in all the place is a perfect example of what 'customer focus' should really mean (and very rarely does).

Downsides? Some people might find the canalside rooms a little noisy - if so, then ask for a garden room. And the stairs are very steep and narrow, but this is a traditional Amsterdam house and that's the way they work. I can't comment on the breakfast as I was leaving too early in the morning, but if the plate of fruit, bread and local cheese that was left in my room was any guide, I'm guessing it would be better than acceptable.

Getting here from the airport - unless you're laden down with luggage, don't waste money on a taxi. Fast train is 20 minutes and a few euros, the walk from Dam Square to the hotel is interesting and takes between 10 and 15 minutes. Note that although the hotel is on the edge of the red light area, you need never know it, and the Niewmarket square which it sits on is great for a couple of beers and a spot of peoplewatching. Plenty of cafes and restaurants around too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rjmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    104
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
376
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Love this little hotel and would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a small hideaway. As soon as we got there we felt part of the city and had a great stay. Great couple run the place. They can arrange a cannel boat ride and are extremely helpful for local info (including coffee houses) . Free mini-bar and breakfast in the room for our early departure were extra special nice touches. Only suggestion would be to get bicycles. Note that this hotel is not for the "old at heart" who need to take an elevator to their room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenRutenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Excellent Hotel in a fantastic city.

Took a taxi from the airport for about 40 Euro.No cheap but soooo easy.

Read the other reviews - right on target!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May. We chose the hotel based on reveiws from this sight and were very pleased with the result. The Hotel could not be in a better location and the couple who run it are so helpful and friendly. We found the room (which was on the canal) quiet at night, but we do live in a city centre.
We would highly recomend the private canal tour run out of the hotel. There are some great places to eat on the square, our favourite by far was the Cafe Bern- great fondue!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcorkchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed here from 20 -23 April this year and could not have wished for anything better. We had a large, clean quiet room at the back with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The tea/coffee machine and complimentary snacks were welcome and the breakfast was excellent and made to order.

The owners were friendly and hospitable and made some excellent recommendations to us including a private boat trip on the canals (arranged by them) and a great Indonesian restaurant for dinner one night.

The location is super and we felt very safe. We walked there from Amsterdam Central station in about 10 minutes.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again next time in Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WMBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay here on a recent trip. We especially enjoyed Rachel's hospitality. The stairs were steep but manageable and the room was small but nice and had everything we needed. We especially appreciate the complementary drinks and snacks provided in the room. The bathroom was roomy and shower good, although I would suggest replacing the shower curtain with doors. Breakfast was nice and I especially appreciate having an egg made to order. The location was very good - on the outer edge of the red light district, near a lot of sights but on a quiet street so we felt very safe. And you can't beat the short walk to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

This is a fantastic little place and I can only echo all the great things that have been said before. It is a small unassuming-looking hotel (we walked past it the first time too!) but inside it is great. The rooms are amazing - as it wasn't too busy, we were allowed to choose which room we wanted out of 3 - we chose the Rembrandt room and it was lovely being surrounded by all those great masters! The room was not huge, but perfectly big enough with all the facilities you'd expect (and more - a fridge packed with chocolates and soft drinks for free!). Rachel was a lovely hostess - friendly, helpful but not over the top. Breakfast was low key and informal but tasty (fresh eggs and lovely yummy cheeses). For a central location so close to the red light district, this was surprisingly quiet and non-mainstream - its just a lovely quirky hotel and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScaryCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing