We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“cannot find a fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“cannot find a fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 09 for a three day short break in aMSTERDAM. The hotel got in touch before hand to make sure we had sufficient information to make it from the airport to the hotel and we walked with ease from the Central Staion to the hotle in a matter of minutes thanks for their excellent directions.

Location is very central and despite its apparent proximity to the red light district, this does not impinge on your stay and it feels very safe at any hour. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

We stayed in the first room at the top of a rather steep stairs. It was a nice sized room for an old building. The shower was great and the bed very comfortable. There was no street noise of note and certainly none to keep us awake.

I was particularly impressed with the fridge (complimentary soft drinks) and the coffee maker.

Breakfast was more than adequate and was available cooked or continental as per your preferance.

The hostess was friendly and helpful and courteous.

Overall, I would stay here again without hesitation. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    104
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
374
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
annettemg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I chose this hotel based on the reviews given by others on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed.
The hotel is located overlooking one of the many canals of Amsterdam and next to Nieuwmarkt square which hosts a small market every Saturday.
Calling Hotel Misc a hotel is a little bit generous considering its size and number of rooms (6). Infact due to the narrowness of the building we walked past it twice before finally seeing it! However, that is not to say the size of the rooms was affected by this.
We stayed in one of the cheaper, and apparently smaller garden view rooms, The Retro room. The bed was huge but even still there was plenty of room around and at the bottom of the bed. The en-suite bathroom was also a good size. Due to renovation work being carried out in the dining area on the second day of our stay, we also had the liberty of seeing one of the canal view rooms which had been temporarily converted to a breakfast room. This room ( I think it was The Design room) was also of a good size and nicely decorated. The mini bar was a very welcome addition to the room and was restocked daily free of charge. A very nice touch I thought. Towels were changed daily and toiletries replenished. The shower was one of the best I've ever come across in hotel accomodation, very powerful and never a shortage of hot water which can be a problem later in the evening in some hotels. The only flaws I found with the room wes the thick layer of dust that was clearly visible on the screen of the television. I also have a huge dislike of shower curtains and felt that a shower screen could just as easily have been installed.
Breakfasts consisted of muesli's, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, croissants and bacon and eggs served to your liking by Rachel and were very tasty.
Rachel was an excellent hosts and upon our arrival presented us with a map and gave us an idea of the scale of the city. This was very helpful. It was the little touches like this that made our stay enjoyable.
I would give this hotel 5/5 except for the fact that we were not informed that the aforementioned renovations would be ongoing during our stay. Being woken by drilling and hammering at 8:30 every morning rarely adds to a holiday. We felt that we should have been offered a slightly reduced rate due to this inconvenience especially when we had not be forewarned of it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Lovely boutique hotel situated right in the heart of Amsterdam within a 15-20 minute walking distance from most places in city. Unless you want to venture out of the city centre, there is no need to spend money on the trams or buses at all!
Rooms are slightly small but very comfortable. We stayed in a canal facing room which had a nice view.
Loved the super yummy breakfast.
The owners, Rachel and Pepijn, were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van21_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We had 3 nights in Amsterdam for some rest after a long stretch of business travel. Hotel Mis was the perfect 'home away from home'!!

Rachel & Pipijn's never ending enthusiasm & knowledge about Amsterdam added considerably to our stay and they really are the most thoughtful hosts who will offer you excellent local insight.

Our room featured a glorious view over the canal, was cosy & included thoughtful touches that really added to our comfort. The location of the hotel is fabulously convenient to pretty much anything in Amsterdam.

Amongst the highlights you can expect .. an excellent breakfast individually prepared and served until a very civilised midday! Soft, fluffy towels, heavenly pillows & quality linens. Super coffee both from the kitchen & in the rooms. Thoroughly engaging hosts!!

We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — Location & boutique feel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank visitorfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This place is a dream to stay in! Unbelievably convenient location... The rooms were lovely. We stayed in the 'Wonders' room. It was so cosy and nice.

The owners of the Hotel Misc were incredibly friendly and very knowledgeable about the whole area. Excellent English.

The breakfast was nice, the area is cool - I really can't fault it. I would highly recommend it to anybody seeking a romantic getaway. I wouldn't say it's suitable for children, but as a single person or a couple, you can't go far wrong here!

Loved it! :)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DevonBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Really lovely boutique hotel in every sense of the word. Amazing hospitality and great central location. Tempted not to leave a review as we wanted to keep it a secret! Room we stayed in was thoughtfully and tastefully decorated and excellent value. Breakfast was abundant, delicious and thankfully available till 12 noon!! Would deffinitely visit again.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Misc for one week this past summer and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Here are some of the highlights of Hotel Misc:

- the location is perfect. You can easily get to most places in the city within 20 minutes by walking and/or public transportation. The neighborhood around the hotel also has much to offer.

- Rachel and Pepijn. As other reviewers have pointed out, they are phenomenal. They go the extra mile to ensure that your stay at their hotel, and in Amsterdam, is enjoyable, comfortable, and interesting.

- the breakfast and mini-bar. Rachel and Pepijn offer a very generous, very delicious breakfast that is included in the cost of the room. The mini-bar is also included and has excellent an excellent selection - all natural smoothies, fair trade chocolate, great chips, the list goes on. There is also coffee and tea (good coffee and tea, at that!) in the room.

- the rooms are uniquely decorated, clean, and comfortable. I loved the pillows. The shower is also great.

- WiFi access. Always a perk for us internet junkies.

I will definitely visit Hotel Misc again when I am in Amsterdam. It was worth every penny. The owners/hosts are wonderful and I love supporting a local business.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, value of room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank exploradora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing