We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Brilliant small hotel. Location is good, it is close to the red light district but it was absolutely fine, don't let that put you off. I felt extremely safe there, and even walking around the red light district in general. The hotel is unusual but very cleverly designed to make the most of the space available.

We had a front room overlooking the canal, it wasn't at all noisy. The owners were very accommodating especially Rachel who was just lovely and is a born host! We had good conversations about food and music.

The breakfasts were fab, really good to start your day. I can still taste that Gouda cheese with cumin and the fresh bread. It just had a lovely feel and atmosphere - would absolutely recommend and return.

Room Tip: We had a front facing canal room, wasn't at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elemii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    109
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
395
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this hotel for three nights this week. We always visit luxury chain hotels and choosing a family run hotel was a new thing for us. We chose by reading other trip advisor reviews and we were glad that we did. It is a lovely hotel in a perfect location in walking distance to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. The first night we did not want to walk far and we enjoyed a delicious thai meal and cocktails in a bar and ice cream and waffles, all on the same street as our hotel! The hotel room number 6 was romantic but also functional with a pretty garden view. We had a good nights sleep each night and were not disturbed by any street noise. The hotel owners were welcoming and very helpful and thoughtful. We enjoyed the prosecco and chocolates and the mini bar treats in our room The breakfast was ample and the chef was very polite. We would use this hotel again and it has certainly made us more keen to use a family run hotel again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Pacheco, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great small hotel. Very close to Amsterdam Centraal Train Station, even if it is quite close to the Red Light district, is not a very noise place (specially if you get the rooms in the back of the building). Great breakfast spacially made for you by the owners, Rachel & Pepjin, who are really superb host!
We arrived one day before King's Day, and they rented a boat to share with all their guests for that day..which was a perfect way to live (as a local!) that "crazy" holiday.
Really recommend the place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited Amsterdam at the end of April and found the location of this hotel to be perfect for exploring the city. Attractions are within walking distance.

Above all, Rachel and Pepjin are amazing hosts catering to your every need and making your stay memorable. We will surely see them again on future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miruna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Amsterdam was the last stop on our European trip and my wife left it up to me to find a hotel. After some simple searches I was intrigued by the description of this location and by the overwhelmingly positive reviews.So I booked for 2 nights. As soon as I made the reservation I started receiving information from the hotel about how to get there, things to do and just overall helpful information. We arrived by train last Tuesday morning and found the hotel on foot with no problem. Since check in was at 2 and here we were at 9:30 AM Pepijn asked if we had any plans. Ana (my wife) was wanting to see the Van Gogh Museum and Voila! 2 tickets to the museum and detailed directions to the location were in our hands in 5 minutes. The museum was great and we arrived back at the hotel at 3 PM. Bags are in our canal-view room and Rachel took us up to the room and filled our heads with all the information we needed to enjoy the amenities of the room...mini-bar (free), Espresso machine which made killer coffee, how to use the AC if needed. You could just see the delight in her eyes when talking about her hotel. The room was way more than I expected with a huge bed, comfy bedding and pillows and a great view of the canal. We settled in and when dinner time arrived we walked just a couple of hundred meters to an Argentinian Steak House which I do believe had the best lamb chops I have ever eaten. We had asked Rachel about a canal cruise and she called me in the room shortly thereafter and said we could go that day but we were tired and made arrangements for a 2 hour cruise the following day. Breakfast on Wednesday morning was great. Bacon, eggs, croissants, bread, cheese, all types of spreads and jellies. It was great and Gabriel, the cook, was fast and efficient. After a day of shopping we returned for our cruise and Pepijn told me that since we would be leaving too early on Thursday to enjoy breakfast he has a couple of things we could take on the cruise. Champagne, still water, sparkling water and cookies. He didn't have to to that but I could tell he wanted to make sure we had a good time. Well French champagne and 2 hours on the canals was a great way to end our stay. Loved this hotel and I hope we can return one day in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dry99913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Misceatsleepdrink was a great base for our trip to Amsterdam, our first floor canal view room was spacious, clean and comfy. The owners and other staff were friendly and very helpful offering really useful advice on how to make the most of our visit. The hotel was close to the station, just a 10 minute easy walk, and was near to a lively market square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed in this bed and breakfast for 2 nights and wish my wife and I would've booked more time here in Amsterdam!!! The bed and breakfast has the perfect location for visiting Amsterdam. It is within walking distance to the Amsterdam Centraal train station so it is very easy to get to when arriving in the city. The two proprietors are very friendly and were excited to hep us navigate Amsterdam and point us in the direction of all the worthwhile attractions. The rooms were perfect, romantic, and very stylish. We stayed in room 6 on the top floor and were very pleased with all of the accommodations. Rachel kept our fridge stocked with beer, cokes, and apple juice! She even had chilled champagne and chocolates for us upon arrival! A hot breakfast was prepared every morning, and you could order what ever you liked. The hotel is located very near a central square and right on a canal, one of the evenings my wife and I sat at one of the bars on the square and people watched for over an hour. We will definitely be returning to this hotel any time we go to Amsterdam. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing