We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
misc eatdrinksleep
Nearby Hotels
$350
$215
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$317
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$81
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$264
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$562
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
556
125
17
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
125
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrembrandt roomwhite noise machinethe red light districtdesign rooma garden view roomfree mini barhomemade jamssmall hoteltop floorexcellent hostsdutch cheesecanal sidebed and breakfaststairs are steepfelt like homecanal tourgreat boutique
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 708 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Misc Eatdrinksleep is such a warm and welcoming hotel. The owners were so friendly and helpful and made our stay really comfortable. The room was immaculate with everything we needed and plenty of space for 2 people. Breakfast was delicious and really laid back - a perfect start to the day. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it highly to travellers who are looking for a low key, relaxing and personal place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a week here over New Year. The first 2 nights were in a garden-view room, which was a little cramped for our liking, with awkward bedside lamps and those annoying bedcovers. However, fortune had it that we were then transferred - for a totally different reason - to the canal-view room opposite. Suddenly the extra 4 sq.m. made an enormous difference, not to mention the view and other comforts we lacked in the first room. This also changed our mind completely about the hotel!
As for hosts Rachel & Pepijn, nothing is too much for them: from carrying bags up the steep stairs and making a mean breakfast coffee to offering helpful tips on sightseeing activities and even printing out our boarding passes for the flight home!
The hotel is rather pricier than our usual choices, but this is Amsterdam and the option of a 17th-century canal house in an unbeatable central location made it worthwhile. Free wifi is available (and works properly!), as are coffee-makers and free refreshments in the rooms.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to others. Everything was perfect - well, maybe not the weather, but that's no fault of the hotel's! (Perhaps an apron at the breakfast bar would lend a more professional touch,.. if I may be so bold as to suggest anything.)
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms are larger and more comfortable
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbMurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were drawn to the hotel by the great reviews but were not really bowled over by our stay. There is no doubt that the owners were very helpful and friendly, the place was clean, good quality comfortable bedding and a very tasty breakfast cooked to order.
The downside was the noise from the street. We were in the 'African Room'. There is a large decorative photographic wall poster, perhaps 2m x 3m, depicting a tropical beach sunset which has clearly seen better days and could have done with a little tlc. The bedroom over looks the canal has a really tiny shower-room and separate toilet. There is no double/secondary glazing and perhaps owing to the proximity of the red light district, we were awoken throughout the night and into the morning on several occasions by people having fun below. We live on a busy street, a bus route, in a major city so it's not as though we are unaccustomed to some traffic noise.
We would not return to this hotel as it seems to me that sleep quality has to be the most important criteria when choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For the second year running we stayed here over New Year, and if anything, it was even better than last year. Rachel & Pepijn remain the perfect hosts, and Pepijn has now learned to smile (*joke*!!). Their service is still wonderful despite the attentions of their 1-year old daughter (who is lovely). Breakfast until midday was something every hotel in the world should copy - who wants to have to get up at the crack of dawn when they're on holiday? And the breakfast itself is great - scrambled eggs and bacon, ham and cheese, croissant, as much toast and cereal as you can eat with several choices of toast toppings, fresh orange juice, Innocent smoothies, tea, coffee - you only need to buy dinner if you wake up late and stuff yourself at breakfast! Which we did. The location is great, in the old town but just outside the red light district. There is an Irish bar about 10 feet away which shows the football (that was the only reason we went, but it was a nice friendly place with OK beer), and a further 20 feet down the road is De Bekeerde Suster, the best bar in the whole world - proper Dutch pub with their own micro-brewery plus loads of bottled (mostly Belgian) beers of great taste and potency. I recommend the Kasteel at 11% abv, but be careful! Back to how wonderful the hotel is, they will try to book anything you like - hotels, museum tickets etc and will recommend good to great restaurants for you (unfortunately t'Greetje, which we went to last year, was shut over the festive season this year). And if you're lucky enough to be there on 2nd January, you get to see the dragon dance... The only problem with this hotel is that it only has 6 rooms and they get booked up very quickly! Actually, I should have said I hated the place and that no-one should ever go there, so I can reserve my next trip whenever I want, but I couldn't do that to this wonderful couple. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are quieter, especially if you're there for New Year's Eve as we were, when the entire Dutch nation spends 10pm to 2am throwing extremely loud fireworks at each other. I kid you not, it's like the first day of the Somme.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olddeadpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in November and really enjoyed it. Great location, convenient for historic walks. Quiet room (our overlooked the garden). Stairs are the typical Dutch type, so be careful when traversing them. Breakfast was very satisfying. As was noted in other reviews, hosts Rachel and Pepjin were very good and very informative.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews