We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Being Back in College”
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #9 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

At first I couldn’t put my finger on it, but by the end of my stay at misc eatdrinksleep it finally came to me. Staying here was like revisiting my college dormitory from over forty years ago (but not necessarily in a bad way). The similarities were striking: small refrigerator with snacks and beer, small bathroom, small shower, a ‘bed sheet’ hung on the wall for decoration, a large ‘poster’ on the wall, a small TV, a really funky light fixture, a steep climb up three flights of narrow stairs, drunken shouting outside at 3 a.m. in the morning (happened only on Friday night), and the smell of marijuana from down the block a bit. Just like being back in my dorm room in college. And just as comfortable and memorable.

Other reviewers have pointed out all the really good things about staying here and I agree with most of them. For me, the bottom line of evaluating hotels is this: would I stay here again if I had a choice? For misc eatdrinksleep, the answer is ‘yes’. Enough said.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms can be a little noisy - plenty an bars just down the street. But worth it for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ENBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 689 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed one night at misc eatdrinksleep and wished we could have stayed for longer. After arriving from an overnight intercontinental flight Rachel greeted us warmly and gave us directions for a short walking tour of the city while we waited for our room to be available. Knowing that we were totally exhausted from our flight, she offered to text us as soon as we could check in so we could collapse into the cozy bed for a quick afternoon nap. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and provided lots of energy for the trip ahead! As we were leaving Rachel ensured that we had the proper information to take the train to our next destination and also helped us arrange advanced tickets for the Anne Frank House, ensuring we didn't spend hours waiting in line.

We look forward to returning to Amsterdam and staying here again! Without a doubt we will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louey_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have become of late a bit cynical about top rated hotels on Tripadvisor, often it leans towards the B&B type experience with (for me) intrusively personal service and "meeting the family" rather than just good solid professional hospitality. This place, quite simply is a little gem & I see no reason to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Its small, well run with great personal touches (wonderful free minibar, great coffee in every room etc. etc.) and hosts who really know how to deliver a wonderful, perfectly judged experience.

Room Tip: Off street rooms have a nice garden view. Top floors are quiet a climb, but probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Misc Hotel with my partner as we've heard that it is a great place to be plus, you can get helpful tips from the owners where to go and what to do. It's also located just in the heart of the historic district and market. We were met by the very gracious owners and did chit chat over a glass of wine, which is totally an extra mile- big big thank you for the warm welcome Rachel and Pepijn!!! Oh and the room we stayed at was very artsy and gezellig at the same time, overlooking the canal and historic Dutch buildings! We also just walked our way to the gay area and Red Light district!!! This place is the definitely highly recommended! Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeopoldBloom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very happy throughout a week-long stay in our canal view room at misc eatdrinksleep. The room was spacious with enough room to walk around and to sit in a chair or at the desk during downtime. The large bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were of high quality, so we slept wonderfully. Occasional street noise was not enough to bother us. The coffeemaker and small refrigerator stocked with water, drinks and snacks were very generous and convenient. The shower and soaps were nice and the towels were very good.
Breakfast was a treat, multiple courses including coffee, orange juice, baked breads, nice jams, fresh fruits, ham and cheeses, eggs, bacon and croissants cooked to order and served in a pleasant bright eating area.
The narrow steep circular stairway was a workout, but we are age 60+ empty nesters and we did not mind the climb. (We did appreciate help with our luggage, which was offered and provided without our having to ask for it.) We enjoyed the experience of staying in an authentic canal house in the center of the city, and taking in the canal views from our windows.
The location is excellent for walking everywhere. We walked to Centraal Station to the north, the Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw and Vondelpark to the south, through the Jordaan to the west and to the Sheepvartmuseum to the east - all points of the heart of the city were walkable from this location. Our walking excursions usually took us through Dam Square one or more times per day; we enjoyed experiencing this busy historic area at all times of day and evening.
Misc eatdrink sleep is not a big fancy hotel, but for an affordable, good quality, exceedingly comfortable place to stay which provides generous amenities and very much supports sightseeing throughout the city, we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmptyNesterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great little boutique hotel within walking distance of everything! Pepijn and Rachel were great hosts. There was a welcome bottle of prosecco, made to order breakfasts, and a constantly stocked mini bar and coffee maker. The canal view room was great. There was a white noise machine for use if the natives got too restless outside!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skygoddessDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed a few time now and can't say enough good things about Hotel Misc! Rachel and Pepijn are great hosts who are both friendly, good humored, helpful and go out of their way to make sure their guests are well looked after! The rooms are clean, with beautiful linens and soft towels! The location is fabulous and the breakfasts are yummy with fresh breads, cheese, ham, yogurt, cereal, fruit and also bacon and eggs made to order with croissants! The coffee is great! Why stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $193 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing