We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I could rave for hours about the breakfast but I won't. Delicious and fresh and the tastiest orange juice I've ever had. The owners were very friendly and easy going. The location is great and the rooms are quaint. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    109
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
395
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our week long trip through the Netherlands and Germany. I am so glad that it was last because it was the best! Rachel (from Wisconsin) and Pepijn were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. They purchased "fast lane" tickets for us to see the Van Gogh exhibit and they steered us toward the best time to visit the Anne Frank house (only a 15 minute wait). They also recommended several excellent places to eat and drink including the Puccini sandwhich shop on the way to the Hermitage/Dutch Resistance Museums and the Brouwerij 't IJ (brewery with a windmill - don't miss!).

Location: The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from Central Station down Zeedjik across Nieumarkt square. As with everything in Amsterdam, it is walking distance to wherever you want to go, but it was nice to be so close to Central Station so that catching our training in the morning was a breeze.

Room: We stayed in the Baroque room on the top floor overlooking the inner garden. It was quiet, comfortable and nicely luxurious. All of the little touches really made this room special. After walking up the three flights of steep stairs our bags were waiting for us in the room along with a bottle of prosecco, chocolates and beautiful purple calla lilies. The bed is two twins pushed together, but unlike other hotels, there is a bumper in between and king size linens with heavenly pillows (best ones on our trip). The bathroom was quite large (although the shower curtain made showering a bit cramped) with frosted windows to let lots of light in. I like how they use the soap dispensers too - wish more American hotels would do this. All items in the mini bar are included in the price of the room and they will restock everything - amazing. There's also a Nespresso machine with both coffee and teas. And I loved the robes too. The room was not large, but it was more than comfortable. The view over the inner courtyard was neat - interesting to see the surrounding buildings - and in the distance we could see the dome of the Royal Palace and the top of the ferris wheel from the carnival that was in town over the weekend. Don't let the three flights of stairs scare you... this room was fantastic.

Breakfast: Eggs any style and made to order, fresh bread, meats, cheeses, cereal, coffee and tea. Served from 9-12 (we enjoyed sleeping in a bit on our first day) but can be served earlier if needed (as on our second day when we had to catch the train they made breakfast for us at 7:45).

Wifi is free and works well in both the lobby and the room. I couldn't agree more with all of the positive things others have had to say about this hotel. I will stay here again and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANCBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The owners are fantastic people, the rooms are quaint and comfortable and the breakfasts are incredible. I have stayed here twice over the last few years and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The proximity to the train, buses, food, flower market and tourist sights is very convenient. Wifi and stocked mini bar is nice too, they really take care of all of the little things that make travelling that much more enjoyable. One of my top hotel choices around the world!

NOTE: There is no elevator and the staircase is narrow. They will help you get your bags up and down though if you need assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This lovely hotel is centrally placed, the room was super with a huge bed and we were even treated to some Prosecco. Rachel is a great font of knowledge and could not do enough for us and recommended some fantastic restaurants and always with a smile on her face. The hotel is in a super position and you can walk to all the sights. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreborLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in this little bed and breakfast and were made very welcome from the moment we stepped inside. Yes, stairs are steep but thanks to Gabriel who took our cases from us and delivered them to our room we didn't have to worry. Clean and comfortable, great breakfast, perfect location being central to everything we wanted to visit and a massive bed! Very congenial hosts with great local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and stay again if over that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in back in Oct 2012. Owners and staff were very helpful. We arrived before normal check-in and Rachel provided excellent advice for places to eat (Puccini's - nearby) and see to get our second visit to Amsterdam rolling. Our room was neat and tidy. Breakfast was great: cooked to order. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Streetside room was quiet in rainy October, but could be noisy in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QBtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

perfect bed and breakfast hotel in the heart of amsterdam. directly located at the nieuwmarkt, all interesting sites can easily be accessed via the metro, which is also directly there. typical amsterdam architecture with steep and narrow stairs. very cozy and friendly service. thank you rachel!! we will come back again in summer. :-) 5 stars plus!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing