We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting for a group gathers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5&33

5&33
Martelaarsgracht 5 | Art'otel Amsterdam, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 820 53 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: The innovative dining concept 5&33 fuses food, people, art and design to present a uniquely creative environment across two floors for art lovers and foodies alike. 5&33 serves an all-day and late-night menu of small-plates, ideal for sharing, inspired by the vibrant flavours and colours of the wider Mediterranean. Ingredients are fresh, local, seasonal and honest. Our dining environment is a place to be creatively inspired.
Seattle and Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great setting for a group gathers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had an excellent time during a farewell party for a colleague. The setting was perfect and the dishes were all just delicious. The preparation and communication before the event was extremely prompt and responsive. The staff attending to our area were outstanding, graceful and present but unobtrusive. It is just thrilling to see 5&33 setting an example of what truly excellent service should be in a city that has a lot to learn in this area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seattletoamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, Manager at 5&33, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear seattletoamsterdam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback after visiting 5&33!

We are so delighted to hear your group had a great time here with us, we are here to serve and make sure your experience is always fantastic.

Your words match perfectly with what we aim to achieve, so we are extremely pleased you all enjoyed.

Thank you again, we can't wait to welcome you back here at 5&33 very soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    104
    32
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Terrific service, tasty drinks, average but fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have quickly become a regular here because of how they run their restaurant/bar. After two visits, the staff remembered my drink preferences, and they always try to accommodate me in the event I wasn't able to make a reservation. The exhibitions they have downstairs are a nice touch and make it a great place for dates, as you have a conversation starter built into the evening. Food is nothing special, I've had almost everything and would suggest the ox cheeks or chicken and chips above all, but the atmosphere and tasty drinks make up for the average food. As an Amsterdam local, I can tell you that finding a place with friendly staff is almost impossible, which is why this hotel bar has become my favorite!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adricornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, Manager at 5&33, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear adricornell,

Thank you so much for your review and for always visiting us here at 5&33!

We are glad to hear we have become your local, thank you for being our advocate.

Regarding your comments on the food, we have most definitely noted your review after trying most of the menu, the kitchen will have a look at this to see what improvements can be made.

On the other hand, we are happy you enjoy our service - something we pride ourselves on.

We loom forward to seeing your smiling face very soon back here at 5&33, we have the drinks chilled and ready for you.

Thank you again for taking the time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trendy place with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here with friends and was surprised by the 'big city' atmosphere this place radiates. Very cool and trendy, friendly and attentive service and nice food. Will definitely go again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OandO-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, Manager at 5&33, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear OandO-AMS,

Thank you for visiting us here at 5&33 and for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with your friends.
5&33 is a great place to come and enjoy a casual drink with friends, or even a bite to eat - so we are happy you enjoyed the surrounds.

We have the wine chilled and ready for your return.

Thank you again for visiting us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value Italianesque food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good value wine list and great service from the waiting staff. Interesting Italian food and ever-changing art wall.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stotty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, Manager at 5&33, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear stotty007,

Thank you for visiting 5&33 and taking the time to leave your feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our selection of wines, this is great news. Along with this and the service we pride ourselves on, we are glad this made for a very enjoyable time for you.

We will be sure to keep the art curtain updated for your next visit to 5&33!

Thank you once again for visiting 5&33!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Chic, quiet, with an almost Zen-like serenity.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chic, quiet, with an almost Zen-like serenity. Dimmed light and soft listening music on the background.
One can sit in a lounge aside the fire or at tables.
The staff is well trained, kind and hospitable.
The formula is sharing dishes.
We enjoyed the Burrata with Mozzarella heritage tomatoes & basil, Sea Bass ravioli and Zucchini fritti, followed by an excellent coffee.
It was an enjoyable stay!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, Manager at 5&33, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Diederick W,

Thank you so much for visiting 5&33 and for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We are so glad to hear you had an enjoyable and peaceful visit. We aim to please and are glad you enjoyed the ambience as well as the restaurant menu. You're right, the burrata is a tasty dish - we are happy to hear you were able to try it.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Amsterdam.
The burrata, sea bass ravioli, zucchini fritti and the entire 5&33 team will be await your return.

Bedankt and tot ziens!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5&33 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to 5&33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing