We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed October 30, 2006

We had a perfect holiday staying at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast. The owner Peter is one of the most friendly and accomodating people you will ever meet. Some people just have that special gift of making you feel welcome. He offered suggestions on restaurants, tours, ettiquette and "don't miss" items. He lent us tourbooks and shared some history of the city and the building with us. His breakfasts far surpassed anything we have ever experienced at a B&B. Each one was different reflecting a different theme. We had everything from homemade bread pudding to quiche. The property is just lovely with comfortable rooms. We even had a terrace. We will definately go back to see Peter, Tomasz and Pepe (a very well-behaved Jack Russell). I highly recommend them and the city of Amsterdam. What a restful, fun time we had!!

  • Liked — The beautiful, peaceful, comfortable place with a yummy breakfast.
  • Disliked — Like every house in Amsterdam, there are flights of steep stairs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Contact Peter and he will help you plan a wonderful visit.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank krisduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
627
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East of England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We recently stayed at Boogaard's for 1 night, as part of a weekend break in the Netherlands. If you are looking for a warm welcome and comfortable, high-end B+B accommodation with a personal touch, then Boogaard's is a great choice. It is also excellent value.

It took us slightly longer than expected to travel in to the city centre from Schiphol Airport, but we made a quick phone call to our host, Peter, who kindly waited for us to arrive and welcomed us to our accommodation. Once we had negotiated the steep stairs up to the entrance (typical for Amsterdam!), our first impressions were very favourable.

We entered a beautifully decorated, characterful interior, with a good feeling of light and space due to the high ceilings. Amsterdam houses are quite narrow, so our room was not large, but it was prettily decorated (lovely toile linens and tapestry cushions), well-furnished (large and comfortable bed), and immaculately clean. There were only two guestrooms on our floor, plus a shared bathroom and a service room with tea/coffee facilities and complimentary refreshments provided by our host. From this floor, there was also access to a small private terrace, which in good weather makes for a great place to escape from the hubbub of the city and relax with a cuppa or a good book. Breakfast is served on the floor below, in our host's dining room. We had pancakes, bacon, and spiced fruit compote with yoghurt -- delicious!

We appreciated that Peter made time to sit and chat with us, and to offer us his insights into the city and its history. We mentioned we were looking for an Indonesian restaurant, and he was able to give us a great recommendation for a lovely local place in the heart of the old city.

If you need disabled access, or are looking for a huge room, or for ensuite accommodation, then Boogaard's is not the place for you. However, Boogaard's is the polar opposite of an anonymous chain hotel. We had a fantastic stay, and recommend it highly.

Helpful?
19 Thank finella_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

While checking reviews with the intent of booking 4 nights at a B & B in Amsterdam, Boogaard's stood out as being truly exceptional. We were delighted when we were able to make reservations and then, once the commitment was made, began to wonder how it could possibly be as good as other guests had claimed.

Well, it is! Our stay at Peter Boogaard's establishment was absolutely wonderful. We were at the end of seven-weeks' travelling and were hoping for a relaxing four days in Amsterdam, taking in sights at a leisurely pace, and resting up a bit from a busy travel schedule before heading home to Vancouver, BC, Canada.

Boogaard's met our needs in every possible way. The location is ideal, close to transportation within the city (both canal boats and streetcars) and to the airport, within walking distance of major museums and other attractions. The house itself and our room were sparkling clean, sunlit, and attractively decorated - altogether inviting. We were longing for English language movies and Peter turned us loose on his collection of 500! We were able to watch our selection in our room, ensconced on the bed with piles of comfy cushions at our backs, munching on yummy pound cake (different flavour every day) which Peter provides in a space off the hall where we could also make a cup of tea at any time.

Breakfasts were fabulous. There was a different spread every morning and we found ourselves waking up with our mouths watering in response to the smells drifting up from below. (My favourite was the Dutch pancakes with a choice of Peter's apple compote, Dutch stroop and a variety of other syrups - and heaps of bacon.) Breakfast was so generous that we found we lasted until the evening meal with nothing more than a light afternoon snack.

Peter was always cheerfully ready with reliable advice the many times we consulted him - the restaurants, all within walking distance, which he suggested for our dinners were all exceptional. Whenever we sallied forth he provided us with maps, clear directions, and even umbrellas when they seemed warranted.

Our stay with Peter was everything we could have wished for. He is a kind and generous person and we are so very happy that we have come to know him and that his B & B became our nesting place for a great 4 days in Amsterdam.

Wendie Reinhardt and Bill Dyer

  • Liked — our host, food, comfort and proximity to museums
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — take as little luggage as you can get by with
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank WendieReinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

A quite splendid B+B with 4 double rooms. I booked with my family - seven of us in total -for the w/e of the Amsterdam Marathon, as my wife and daughter were running. We could not have been made more welcome. Peter coped wonderfully with a mixed diet package - 5 vegies - and produced breakfasts to die for. When we return to Amsterdam, as we will, we would not consider stopping elsewhere. Unless, of course, Peter is booked solid - as he deserves to be!

  • Liked — Just about every thing
  • Disliked — Like everywhere in Amstertdam -steep stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Great location - handy for everywhere
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank EricandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We have just spent four nights at Peter Boogard's. We were influenced by the many favourable reviews, even so the experience exceeded our expectations.
The accommodation was exactly as described, but we were not
prepared for such careful attention to our needs, nor for the variety of foods available for breakfast.
The location is in a quiet residential neighbourhood, handy for Amsterdam's inexpensive public transport complex. We did not miss our car, and were not surprised at the number of locals who travel by sit-up-and-beg bicycles on the flat roads. greatly exceeding the number of motorists. Amsterdam must have the world's biggest central multi-storey bike park.
The time passed all too quickly, we would not now consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.
Eric & Maude, Leicestershire, England

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
20 Thank Eric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing