We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Like a perfect opera"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 332 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Like a perfect opera"”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Right from the start to the finish, a perfect production. Immaculate, well appointed, fantastic location, excellent cuisine, a million little extra's all under the direction of Peter, the owner and host. Peter is the consummate innkeeper, knowledgable about the area and willing to share information as to where to find gourmet dining, shopping as well as how to pace yourself to get the most out of your stay. He is extremely sensitive and attentive to the needs of his guests. His B&B is absolutely fantastic in every way and his two little Jack Russell dogs are adorable and well behaved. I would highly recommend this B&B for a visit to Amsterdam or as a prep for further ventures into Europe. My wife and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and can't wait to visit with Peter and his family again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psychuaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    31
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
634
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This was the best experience a traveller could hope for. The owner, Peter, made the stay seem like we were with family. From the immaculately clean and appointed rooms to the themed breakfasts to the fresh baked cakes, Peter goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. Peter was a wealth of tourist information and was always available to answer questions or give directions. Our only regret was that we missed Peter at the end of the day, after he graciously let us leave our luggage well past the checkout time, to say thank you for everything he had done for us. It was a great pleasure to get to know Peter, Tomas and the puppies. Thank you from Jeff and Diane Herback

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jherback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Superb B&B with great service, everything was thought about from umbrellas to european adaptors. The room was large for Amsterdam standards and was at the back of the house. We enjoyed the shared common room area where we chatted with the other guests from Germany and Peter the owner.

The quiet location is ideal walking distance from central station and all the main tourist areas.

We loved the fact that you had your own key to come and go as you please and the friendliness of the owners. We also loved the breakfasts - now this is no ordinary breakfast, this is a feast. First morning bagels, second morning pancakes (to die for), and third morning a Dutch breakfast. All very yummy and without the need to eat for hours after.

Can't wait till we return again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytigercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The rooms are extremely comfortable, most pleasing to the eye and so clean. The sitting room area, with its well stocked kitchenette, is fantastic and when two couples are travelling and staying together this is a wonderful area to share after a long and enjoyable day. The attention paid to every detail is exceptional; the breakfasts and the not-so-little extras are unbelievably tasty. Peter's home made cakes alone make this a place you must stay at.
The location is ideal for visiting the restaurants and coffee houses of the Jordaan. Peter, the multi talented host, has a wealth of information on local history and knows the best places you must visit or dine at. The Nooderkirk markets are particularly well worth a stroll through.
Our most greatful thanks go to Peter, Thomas and family for allowing us to share their most beautiful home, we will most definetly be staying at Boogaard's again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDandEJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Boogaard's B&B was the best B&B we've stayed at. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Peter as he was out of town, but Susan who was helping him out was just great and full of helpful information.

We were able to walk around town very easily. Booagaard's is on a very quite street and we never felt unsafe at night. The breakfasts were wonderful!

The stairs to the 2nd floor inside are pretty steep, so make sure you request a room on the 1st floor if stairs are a problem for you. This was a great place to stay and we highly reccomend it while visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralphlaurine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

My wife and I spent 8 nights. We concur with the previous reviews. Great host, wonderful breakfasts, perfect location, very comfortable, like living in a cozy house of an Amsterdam family.
Hopefully we will visit Amsterdam again and we will return to Boogaard's.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bogiesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

When we read all the write ups on Trip Advisor on Boogaard's we thought it was too good to be true. But after being there we can testify its all true. This is truly an amazing place and it is the only place we will stay at when we go back. Peter is a delightful host, he is very charming, very helpful and a wonderful cook.
Boogaard's is an easy walk to the main train station and to a number of great restaurants and to all the sights you want to see in Amsterdam.
Peter's breakfasts are truly amazing and we stayed a week but wish we stayed longer to enjoy his hosiptality and his breakfasts. If you go to Amsterdam this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 368 in Amsterdam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing