We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This guesthouse has a badger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This guesthouse has a badger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at boorgaard's in November 2013. Our host peter is a lovely man who made us feel very welcome.

He baked us some lovely breakfasts such as home made croissants.

The bedrooms were nice and a reasonable size for a 400 year old building in Amsterdam. Loved the sitting room between the 2 bedrooms as well. If you're lucky, you can meet Peter and tom's badger!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
592
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Peter is awesome! A fantastic host, a wonderful chef, and a fount of tourist knowledge. The property is well decorated, impeccably clean and it is a vibrant community of people coming and going interacting with the locals. Plus their two Jack Russells are quite entertaining as they protect the perimeter from dangerous postal incursions and menacing dogs and cats passing by in the little street.

Be prepared to climb the typically Dutch-style stairs.

A very highly recommended adventure in B&Bing! And Peter is moving the B&B to a new location in January, so I look forward to seeing that also, as the plans look marvellous.

Room Tip: Two words: Good shoes. And that applies for going about Amstersdam in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEddieBear_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Boogaard's is a great B and B in a wonderful location. Our lovely room faced a charming and quiet street and I enjoyed people watching from our window. We also shared a beautiful sitting room with the one other room on our floor. There is a fridge in an alcove stocked with drinks, wine, a couple of beers and coffee and tea making things. Peter is a gracious and friendly host who goes out of his way to make you feel at home and get the most out of Amsterdam. I can't say enough about the extra care he provided--his restaurant suggestions were excellent and his suggestions about museums spot on. Thank you, Peter, for suggesting the Museum of Bags and Purses and The Yellow Bike Tour. He is a fabulous baker and his breakfasts and afternoon treats in the sitting room were one of the highlights of our stay. We spend 4 nights at Boogaards and I wish it could have been longer. Peter is friendly and a great story teller, who knows the Amsterdam and America well. I hope we can return some day soon. Best location, best host, best breakfast, best attention to detail! Emily and John

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow - we really landed on our feet with this choice from the internet. The B&B Boogaards is owned and operated by Peter Boogaard who is the loveliest landlord ever. The building is situated in a quiet street (we rarely saw any cars going through), and consists of a 2-bedroom apartment which can also be rented as 2 B&B rooms, then there are another 2 B&B rooms upstairs. It is about a 10 minute walk to Dam Square, and just a few minutes to great restaurants. To say the rooms are exquisitely and tastefully decorated is an understatement, and soooooo comfortable. We had the 2-bedroom apartment which comes complete with a full kitchen, and I mean a FULL kitchen - complete with food, drinks, cleaning products etc etc. We have never stayed anywhere before that has been so thoughtfully outfitted. Peter can't do enough for you, and will advise on restaurants, attractions etc. The steps up to the rooms may be a problem for anyone physically challenged. We absolutely loved this place and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Boogaard’s is undoubtedly the best B&B I've stayed at. Peter is the consummate host, making you feel like you’re part of the family from the moment you arrive. The house is an easy 5-10 minute walk from Centraal Station on a quiet street between two beautiful canals, and a 20 minute walk from the Bloemenmarkt and all the major sights.
Peter’s attention to detail really sets Boogaard’s apart. He goes above and beyond to ensure his guests’ comfort. The house is spotless and our bed in the Pug room was large and comfortable. All of the amenities you could want are provided: laundry service, a guest fridge stocked with drinks, afternoon treats baked by Peter himself, toiletries in the bathroom, and the incredible breakfast each morning. I could go on and on…
Peter was so helpful with information for things to do, restaurant recommendations, and even booked reservations for us. Everyone we encountered at Boogaard’s was warm and friendly. Chatting with Peter and hearing about his life was one of my favorite things about our stay. He really has a gift for making you feel like you’re visiting an old friend - without being intrusive on your privacy while staying.
You really must go and experience Boogaard’s for yourself! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicopier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I cannot say enough about Peter and his second-to-none service and friendliness. This is the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. The day we arrived, after a long flight, Peter let us drop off our bags since it was still too early to check in. When we came back later, Peter offered to launder our clothes for us and place them in our room the next morning. I have never had that offered anywhere else. Peter also stocks a refrigerator with cold drinks, even a few beers, at no extra charge. He also makes a special dessert each afternoon that is kept in a dish near the room that you can enjoy after your day of sightseeing. Just when I started thinking it couldn't get much better, Peter makes breakfast each morning, completely from scratch, and he's an excellent cook! One morning we had ham and cheese croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit etc. Another morning we had Dutch pancakes with about 25 different toppings to choose from, and I'm not exaggerating. Peter even took the time to show us where he and his partner live inside the building, I have never had that offered before. Other touches like a razor and toothpaste in your bathroom really just ice the already delicious cake here. I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are staying overnight in Amsterdam. Book early, it's popular for a reason!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Boogaards B&B in Amsterdam is the ideal home away from home! Peter is friendly, resourceful,
helpful and a great cook! His B&B is in an ideal location, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary items you may have forgotten. The location is quiet and easy to find, but close to anything you might want or need!! This is among our favorite B&B's ever!!! If we should ever get back to Amsterdam, Boogaards will be our first stop!
Ralph and Carolyn, California

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn_Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing