We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a single negative thing to say about Boogaard's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Can't think of a single negative thing to say about Boogaard's!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Boogaard's for 5 nights and it was one of the best hotel/b&b experiences I have ever had. The rooms are very comfortable and decent sized and the bathrooms are private and located right off the bedrooms. The shared sitting room is comfortable and well stocked with great Amsterdam travel literature. The rooms are on the third floor and the stairs are very steep but, this being Amsterdam, that is not out of the ordinary and they weren't even close to the steepest stairs we encountered.
The location is amazing. About a 5-10 min walk from the city center including the royal palace, red light disctict, "green light" district, and Ann Frank House plus there is a great bike rental shop nearby that will make it easier to see the farther sights like the Van Gogh Museum. I don't think we could have been in a better location.
Peter is absolutely amazing. He is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about everything you would want to know about. The best part of Boogaard's though is the food. Absolutely, completely, delightfully amazing! There are literally no words to describe how great Peter's food is. I would highly recommend Boogaard's to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
644
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

All of the excellent reviews are true. Peter and Tomas are charming hosts who make you feel as if you are family. Delicious food, comfortable rooms and great location. What more can you ask? I would never think of staying anywhere else when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Four of us stayed in the apartment, two double rooms, lounge, kitchen. We were made to feel welcome, and "at home" the moment we arrived. The fridge was generously stocked with cold meats, cheese, soft drinks, beer, eggs, bacon, bread, cake, teas, coffee.... Everything you would need for a few days without the chore of shopping, and more. The lounge and beds were very comfortable. The host, Peter, was very friendly and made excellent suggestions for eating out. The location is on the edge of Jordaan district, quiet and pretty, yet within 10 minutes stroll of the Central Station and main drag. I unreservedly recommend this place, and it will be my first choice on future visits without a doubt.

Room Tip: The apartment is so well stocked with food, I think it has the advantage over the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You won't forget your stay at Boogaard's. I felt as if I been to a relative's house for a few days when I left. Comfortable room with soft (yes soft bed in Europe) bed, sitting area, snacks and drinks the fridge, so many little things provided, I'm sure we didn't notice half of them. We had the room facing the front. We needed the window open for the unseasonable heat we had while staying. A fan in the room kept us comfortable. There was no steet noise to keep us awake. Peter's breakfasts were unbelievable. His advice on where to go for meals was so good, all within close walking distance. He went out of his way to help us.

I wouldn't recommend this, and probably most B&B's in older homes in Amsterdam, for the mobility challenged. If we return to Amsterdam, we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Boogaard's for 3 nights in July and can honestly say that it was the hi-light of our 4 week holiday. You will not find a better host than Peter! His generosity, professionalism and sense of fun made this such a memorable experience. The breakfasts really are as good as they look too. Great location and fantastic house in such a lovely suburb.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the self catering apartment, which gave us the full benefits of Peter's kind and generous hospitality with a little extra flexibility. The location is perfect within a very pretty and convenient part of the city. Our bedrooms and sitting room were beautifully decorated and full of extra little touches that help to make a stay special. We were with my student daughter and friend and all of us would like to return to both Amsterdam and to Boogaard's.

Room Tip: The apartment is a good option if you travelling as a party of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

if you are in need of a lovely apartment to rent in amsterdam, look no further. i took a group of five women of all ages---from 11 to 75 years---on an 11 day trip of europe. first stop was amsterdam. we needed a good rest and a quiet place to start our journey and peter's 2 bedroom apt in amsterdam was the perfect spot. he was a pleasure to meet...friendly, helpful and full of love for his city and home. we adored the apartment which was clean, fresh and inviting and had just enough space for us to spread out and enjoy. the kitchen was stocked with goodies when we arrived...even a birthday cake for my daughter and beer for the ladies on a hot summer day. he gave us city maps, advice on where to go and eat...tram help and even called us taxis when we needed. i cant say enough about how lovely he was and how perfect the apt was for us. we used hotels in the other countries we visited and nothing came close to the apt. please take the time to check out his website and lovely home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing