We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely the best B&B ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surely the best B&B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned to Malta after 5 days in Amsterdam. This short holiday was absolutely amazing!
What we especially miss is this perfect B&B. Boogaard's was exceptional! Peter was such a great host! Always made reservations for restaurants, suggested places to visit and helped us every time we needed something. His cooking... I just can't find the words to describe the breakfasts... Something new every morning, freshly baked and just delicious! He also prepared a packed lunch since we had to leave very early in the morning! And his daily baked goods... Mouth-watering goodness!
The rooms were always clean and tidy... the bed was too comfortable, which made it almost impossible to get out of in the morning! The location is absolutely perfect...
there's absolutely NOTHING to complain about... We will definitely return to Amsterdam and we sure know where we're staying next time! Thank you so much for making our stay so amazing Peter, Tom, Curly and Pepe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erica025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    29
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
627
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned to the States from a little over a week in Paris and Amsterdam. While we were sad to leave Paris, our blues turned to smiles when we entered Boogaard's B&B. This place has to be the most special, well thought out, comfortable, and delicious home away from home in Amsterdam. The B&B is charming, filled with laughter, joy, and superb food. The host Peter has clearly put so much effort into making this B&B over-the-top comfortable for his guests. Everything has his special touch on it, and the only word to describe Peter and Boogaard's is exceptional. The location is quaint and highly convenient, the rooms and beds made for a very restful stay, and Peter's cooking and baking make mornings worth waking up for. From lavender-ironed sheets, to milk and freshly baked treats daily, Peter and Tom's hospitality defines customer service - though you feel more like family than a customer. We have to agree with enthusiasm that Boogaard's B&B is an absolute gem. Thank you Peter, Tom, Curly and Peppe for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

An exceptional b & b, centrally situated less than 10 minutes walk from the central station in Amsterdam. Beautifully furnished and very comfortable, with such a friendly and welcoming host. The highlights of our stay at Boogaards were, however, the incredible breakfasts that Peter served up each day. No room for lunch after feasting on the delights served each morning!
The b & b is well situated for all the attractions of the town and Peter is only too willing to recommend restaurants, sites, events, etc.
Don't bother to look any further for your choice of b & b's in Amsterdam - STAY AT BOOGAARDS!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LifeIs1BigHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We began our ‘once in a lifetime' all-expense paid, European river cruise from Amsterdam to Prague at Boogaard’s Bed & Breakfast. A River Cruise – sound Amazing? Absolutely! BUT!! Our 6 nights at Peter Boogaurds B&B before the cruise was MORE AMAZING!!!
We had the absolute best time at Peters B&B.
At all times we were made to feel very welcome. At no stage did we feel we were staying in a B&B, it felt like our own home (with a breakfast chef).
Peter is a very generous person with his time, knowledge of Amsterdam, his house and the constant supply of cakes and sweeties. The house is just ‘Class’. So comfortable, warm and cosy. Peters breakfasts are to ’die for’, he is a fabulous cook and the amount of food available at breakfast would feed a small army. One morning we had a pancake competition to see who could eat the most pancakes. Yes, well the Aussies won, Brits second, USA third and fourth.
This is honestly the very best B&B we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a few all over the world)
We will return, not to see Amsterdam (although it is a beautiful city), but to again receive the 10 star treatment at Peters B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'd rather give Boogaard's B&B 10 stars if possible and really can't understand the 2nd place in the ranking. What else can I say about Peter, Tomasz and their gorgeous property that has not been written already? Just read all the previous reviews... Everything is top of the top.
In the city of diamonds, don't miss this absolute gem. Thank you guys for this precious gift!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Returned from a two week river cruise and three day stay in Amsterdam yesterday. BBB was most definitely a highlight of the trip. There were four of us and we like to have a kitchen so the 2 bedroom apartment made sense for us. We have NO reason to look anywhere else in the city for a place to stay. Peter is in a league of his own when it comes to hotel managers. He spent well over half an hour with us telling us about the city and how to do everything. From the fresh baked brownies and fully stocked kitchen to the fast laptop to his wonderful stories and fantastic restaurant recommendations. Just be aware, plan ahead and/or talk to Peter if you are unable to carry your luggage up the stairs. The treads are narrow and require good balance. Peter, thank you for making our Amsterdam stay so memorable!!

Room Tip: Floor 1 (second floor for us Americans) is a two-bedroom apartment. Floor 2 has the B&B rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Boogaard's for 4 nights. What can we say? You don't get to 600 five-star reviews easily, and Peter keeps rightfully earning these amazing ratings with every guest. All the reviews here are spot on: amazing homemade breakfasts, excellent location, everything spotless clean, comfortable beds, surprises and treats during the stay, super fast internet, recommendations for restaurants and things to do. And above all - Peter is a great host - he goes the extra mile to make your vacation great and unforgettable (an example: after coming back soaking wet from a rainy morning jog, he had my cloths washed and dried that same morning).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EranRippel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing