We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Rho Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rokin Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cordial(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
918
37
8
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
37
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspug roomb bpeter boogaardquiet streetother guestsevery morningsmall kitchenyogurtinternet accessthe location is perfecta wonderful staydam squarecoffee makertrain stationbeautiful roomsteep stairsthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 969 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed five nights (Sep 2012) in the apartment. All the positive things said about Peter are true - he has tremendous knowledge and always willing to help. This location, on the edge of the Jordaan, is perfect for access to good restaurants and sits in a friendly neighbourhood away from the "tourist noise". It is also a short walk back towards the central canals and rail station. The apartment has everything we needed.... believe me when Peter says its well stocked with food to start you off I think the only thing we brought was milk! Each bedroom (with TV) has a good size bathroom which gave our daughter her own space. Internet was fast and extremely reliable. Given the opportunity to return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kookaburra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Yes this will be a very short review because everyone has written all that has to be said........this is one great B&B!!
Room.......a great big tick
Breakfast........a great big tick
Snacks......a great big tick
Dogs.......a great big tick
Location.......a great big tick
Oh!! Yes Peter.......an extra big tick

Thanks for an excellent stay Peter.
P.S. Hi to Tom. Cuddles for Curly and Pepe

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B and that is mainly due to how hospitable Peter Boogaard is! The location is just perfect, very close to the train station and near many important sights such as the Anne Frank House. The street his place is on is very scenic and quiet and if you feel you are a bit lost, just look for the red framed windows and you are set! What was also impressive was that his building is quite old and historical, yet has been recently renovated so in very good shape. He has decorated each room with so much charm (we stayed in the Dalmatian room which was cute, quaint and the bed was soooo comfy) and each level of each story has a common space to share with other visitors with a lounging area, kitchen, and plenty of travel books and a laptop to use for free! He even has snacks, drinks, electronic adapters and umbrellas waiting for you...he has thought of it all. He made us cream puffs from scratch that were to die for and his breakfasts totally spoiled us for the rest of our trip. Come to the table hungry and you will be set for the rest of the day! Since Peter grew up in Amsterdam but also lived in America for many years he provided us great perspective on things and gets what a tired traveler is looking for. We even got one day of free laundry and his housekeeper was so very nice! He offered great advice on sights to check out and marked them all on a map for us. He also has two adorable dogs that are very well behaved so if you are a dog lover you will appreciate this stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After reading all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor,we decided this was the place for us and our friends following a Baltic cruise. We booked in January for our 4 night July stay. Peter sent us excellent directions to the B&B from Central Station.It is centrally located, on what Peter told us is the oldest street in Amsterdam. Our rooms wouldn't be ready until 12:30pm, but we were allowed to leave our luggage while we started exploring. On our return we were shown our beautiful rooms on the 3rd floor which exceeded our expectations! Our large suitcases had even been brought up the steep,narrow stairs for us, an unexpected bonus! The bedrooms were bright, well laid out with ample storage and we discovered the beds are so very comfortable. The bathroom had a good sized shower and was cleaned daily. The sitting area is warmly decorated and very inviting after a day of touring. The only disadvantage was, we felt so comfortable coming back in the evening after dining, that we never did go out again to see the canals lit up at night! The breakfasts that Peter provided were wonderful- cheese/broccoli and ham/bacon quiches,croissants with cheese & ham, or chocolate or plain,typical Dutch farmer's breakfast, dutch pancakes, and always fresh fruit, cheeses, juice, coffee, apple turnovers, apple cake. As we tried to do justice to this feast, Peter regaled us with his life prior to opening the B&B-and what a life he had. He is a charming, warm host who welcomes you to his lovely home and makes your feel a part of his family, whom we had the pleasure of meeting (hello Tom,Pepe & Curly). He is a font of information about what to do,see,eat in Amsterdam, and makes you feel that nothing is too much trouble. On our departure, Peter gave us a thank you gift-just another example of his generous, hospitality. Do not give staying here a second thought-but book early or you'll miss out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Two couples stayed with Peter last week in the two bedroom apartment in Amsterdam. We have traveled all over the world together in the last 35 years and we all agreed that this was by far the best apartment rental experience we have ever had!!!

The location is within walking distance from the train station in a very quiet street..It is amazing how quiet it is when it is just a few blocks from restaurants, shopping and all that you might come to Amsterdam for.

What a host!! The apartment is two bedrooms, two en-suite baths, and living area and kitchen. No need to rush out for food....Peter sets the kitchen up with bread (two kinds), cheese, ham, salami, eggs, yoghurt, butter, jam, coffee, tea, beer, soft drinks and other goodies!! In addition, you will probably find freshly made brownies during your stay.

Having a free laundry service to wash dry and fold your clothes while you are there is so very helpful when you are gone for more than a day or two. What a great treat.

No innkeeper could be more helpful. Peter makes sure that whatever you are looking for, he can help you find your way around this most beautiful city. He can recommend many restaurants and sights to see.

Needless to say, we loved staying here. Make the most out of travel with your friends and stay in this wonderful apartment.

Room Tip: Come early and stay late!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORGMemphis_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews