We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed with Peter earlier this month. It was like staying with family. The b&b was charming and the breakfasts absolutely delicious. We really felt at home and got a feel for what Amsterdam is really like. Peter's advice helped us get the most out of our vacation. If we are back in Amsterdam, Boogaard's is where we will stay.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 954 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2008

We had seen the reviews and were very excited to stay at this bed and breakfast for our honeymoon, but unfortunately the move to the new location did not go as planned and our reservation had to be cancelled. Mr Boogaard was very kind and made us a reservation at another hotel. When we decided it was not what we were looking for he compensated for the canceled reservation with a rebate.

While we were disappointed at not being able to stay at this highly rated bed and breakfast, we were very pleased with Mr. Boogard's degree of professionalism. You can't go wrong with a reservation to this B and B.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank rataturium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I am happy to say that Peter and Tomas have done it again! Their new location (at Langestraat 34) is perfect! After 8 months of renovations they reopened recently and it is exactly what you would want in a first class B&B. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with personal touches everywhere. There is free wireless internet (and even a computer to use if you need it!) We rented a two bedroom "apartment" with a kitchen and a living room. Each day, the fridge was stocked with delicious breakfast items and beer, which was included in our daily rate! They were helpful with everything, down to arranging for a babysitter for our two small children. The new location is excellent, a few blocks from the train station and within walking distance to just about everything. Trust me, if you need a great place in Amsterdam... this is the place you should try and book!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Cristianajurgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from four nights in Amsterdam. My friend had recommended Boogaard's to us and we were not disappointed! The location is perfect, situated in the beautiful west canal district but also very central. You can walk from the central train station in 10 minutes and there are many lovely cafes and restaurants in the nearby Jordaan district. Just around the corner is Anne Frank's house, a very moving experience, but an absolute must.

We stayed in the Pug Room which was beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. There was a lounge area outside our bedroom that we could use with access to travel guides and a wireless laptop. In the corner of this is a kitchen area with a well-stocked fridge of cold drinks and beer, tea and coffee making facilities and a range of biscuits and cereal bars at no extra cost! The proprietor Peter is an exceptional host who goes out of his way to provide the most excellent of service. He is genuinely warm and friendly as well as being incredibly knowledgable and we were entertained by his conversation. Peter really has thought of everything to keep his guests happy. His breakfasts really are something else, we were treated to a different homecooked delight each day, and the choice was fantastic.

We could not recommend Boogaard's B and B more highly and wewould stay there again without hesitation. As the title says, we couldn't fault it!

Helen and Mark Sommerville, Bristol, England

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen101Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

In May of 2007, my wife and I enjoyed a three week trip to Europe that started in Amsterdam. After reading the amazing reviews of "Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast" in Trip Advisors, we very excitedly looked forward to our stay as we reserved our room there. I must say, however, that Boogaard's far exceeded our expectations! Peter's hospitality, friendliness and professionalism were second to none, and Pepe (Peter's Jack Russell Terrier) helps him run a very tight ship. They make you feel like an old friend that's being invited to stay in their home.

Our room was very clean and extremely comfortable and I also have to admit that the best meals we had on our entire trip were there at Peter's breakfast table in the morning as we started our days in Amsterdam! The pride that Peter has in serving genuine home cooked breakfasts is evident! (This reminds me... I need to contact Peter to get the recipe for his homemade sliced apples and cinnamon compote ... The best I've ever tasted!)

We plan on visiting Amsterdam again on our next trip to Europe, and we can think of no other place that we'd even consider staying than Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank pdeckard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights and had the most amazing stay with Peter. The Pug room was warm, cosy and comfortable and was exquisitely decorated. The bed was so comfortable it was sometimes difficut to get up in a morning but a breakfast of lovely pastries, fruits and coffee soon lured us away. The fridge was stocked with drinks and nibbles for during the day and re-stocked daily.

Peter is a mine of information and can direct you to great places to eat and places of interest. He also gives great advice on getting the most out of your stay e.g. buying a strippenkart vs. a daily travel card or which museums are not fully open at the moment. He offers you free internet access. He also offered me the use of his mobile phone to call my uncle on the outskirts of the city. Nothing is too much trouble and he made our stay in Amsterdam so much more memorable and enjoyable.

His dogs, Pepe and Curly, add to the homely feel of the place and another bonus for us was having breakfast with other guests instead of being sat at different tables - you get to meet some really interesting people.

Have a look on the Boogaard's website - it is a true representation of what you are booking and does it more justice than my photos.

We will definitely be back to Boogaard's and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Within minutes of arriving we felt at home. (except my house is not as exquisite!) Peter is a generous host. He was an excellent source of information on Amsterdam. He offers suggestions for our stay withour being overbearing. His home is incredible from the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in to the beautiful decor. All areas were kept immaculately clean and tidy. Breakfasts were fun, and drinks, snacks and fruit available throughout the day. We were in walking distance from all the main attractions and restaurants, which were easy to locate.
The real stars were Pepe and Curly, who were equally good as Peter at being hosts! Boogaard's is not your run of the mill B&B. It offers a truely exceptional experience and one we can't wait to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Heartsandsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $170 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing