We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll feel like family here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You'll feel like family here”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Boogaard's B&B is a scenic and relatively short walk from the Amsterdam Central train station. The directions provided by Boogaards's were very easy to follow. Upon entering the B&B, the steep stairs at first appeared daunting, but then that's the charm of an old Amsterdam home. Shortly, we were going up and down the stairs like we had been born there (and I'm 67). We had the Jack room on the 3rd floor, which was very comfortable and quiet. There was a sitting room which the shared with the Pug Room (also on the 3rd floor) with comfortable chairs/sofas and a little refrigerator which was stocked every day with soft drinks, beer, and Peter's delicious baked goodies. This was a perfect place to come and relax after sightseeing. The breakfasts were delicious with a different menu each day. We viisted with the other guests and planned our days with Peter's guidance. Allow plenty of time for breakfast as it starts at 9 AM and is an experience not to be missed. Peter and Dave gave us perfect travel tips, printed online tickets so that we wouldn't have to wait in line at the museums, were eager to meet or even anticipate our every need, and offered excellent suggestions for restaurants. The location is within walking distance of many sights and restaurants, and the tram line (numbers 2 or 5) to the van Gogh and Riks museums is only a short walk. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. It was an experience not to be missed and we were thoroughly pleased.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoTravelers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
625
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from a short stay in Amsterdam. Chose this wonderful b&b based on reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. Peter is a charming host. This is how all b&b's should be. We were welcomed every morning to the large breakfast table. The food was excellent and plentiful and we enjoyed some wonderful conversations with our fellow travellers. Peter gave us advice on where to go, what to see, and how to get there. He really cares about his guests and nothing is too much trouble. We would love to return to Amsterdam and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Thank you Peter for a memorable first trip to Amsterdam. Don't just take our word for it - see for yourself !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilso1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Jim and I stayed 9 nights at Boogaard's. The room: nicely decorated, spotless, great mattress. The location: small, lovely side street near the central train station, quiet. The amenities: use of kitchen, laundry service, massive and thoroughly tasty breakfasts, guidance on places to see, restaurants, always perfect suggestions. The host: Peter, what a delightful individual! Smart, kind, knowledgeable and fun to be around.

If you are an early riser, go for a walk first. Breakfast begins at 9. Don't think you will eat and run. The meal is family style, not sad little silent table islands. At the end of our stay, when thinking of our most memorable times, we agreed sitting at breakfast with our fellow tourists and Peter was at the top of the list.

We were sightseeing in Amsterdam on a budget, but we needn't have worried; breakfast was so huge that not once during our stay did we buy lunch! We would look at our watches, 4:10 pm, nope, not hungry yet.

Jim and I will be returning to Amsterdam; how can we not? And you can be sure we will book at Boogaard's.

Room Tip: All the rooms great, acccording to other tourists
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Boogaard's B & B. We felt taken care of by Peter in every way. The other reviewers have stated in detail all the wonderful services provided by this B & B. The #1 rating is well deserved given the unusual care and attention that we received. For example, we almost made a mistake when booking a train to Bruges which would have required inconvenient two change of trains with all of our luggage. Fortunately Peter asked us about our plans and redirected us to a better departure time that avoided the second change. The ticket agent at the train station did not alert us to these important details.

Thank you Peter for the delicious food, fine hospitality and your time and attention.
Ava and Nick

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickava06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We would highly recommend Boogaard’s. The place itself is charming and perfectly situated on a beautiful residential street close to the train station. Peter was an amazing host: gave endless sight-seeing and restaurant advice, made dinner reservations for us, left fresh baked goods in the shared living room, did our laundry, the list goes on. Breakfast was fresh, delicious, and generous to the extent that we rarely ate lunch. We felt completely at home and pampered at Boogaard’s.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smcm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Boogaard's B&B is as advertised and more. Beautiful accommodations, gourmet breakfasts,and a wonderful knowlegable host. Location is perfect. Thank you, Peter for a lovely five days!!

Room Tip: Laundry was included in the price of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasHoloholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

On arrival we were treated as special guests, Peter sat with us booked meals for us, advised us on best times to visit galleries and attractions, gave us guide books and showed us to our room, which was ready for us at 11am.
The special treats like fresh cakes in our lounge, the wonderful breakfasts, the good conversation round the big breakfast table with other guests was exactly what we had hoped for on our first trip to Amsterdam.We look forward to visiting again with friends who we have heard so much about the lovely quiet location and the comfortable rooms.
Many thanks again Peter hope you are well Su&Alan Williams Lymm Cheshire x x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,171 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing