We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Extremely cosy hotel with spontaneous, efficient service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #135 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Oud-Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extremely cosy hotel with spontaneous, efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a second one night stay at the College hotel. I called the reception desk on the day itself to make the booking (A'dam is only a few hours drive from our home). There were only 2 standard rooms left on the second floor, so we took one of those, although our preference would have been for those on the first floor as they have large windows and high ceilings, whereas on the 2nd floor, you are litterally under the roof with small windows. The girl at the reception advised to book breakfast in advance as it would then cost 15€ pp only (instead of 19€ pp) and so we did. We arrived at 8 pm at the hotel and were greeted by friendly staff who made us feel welcome. Subsequently we were pleasantly surprised to find out they had upgraded us to a room on the first floor (119) (luxury, I believe). Well that was a nice surprise, at least until we opened the door and were thrown back by a thick tobacco smell. Opening the window was of no help, as it was already open! So down we went again to reception: staff there was absolutely fantastic: there was no argument at all and to compensate for the inconvenience, we were promptly upgraded (so by ow it was a double upgrade), this time to a duplex room on the 2nd floor (206) which is one of their nicest rooms!! Minutes later a complimentary bottle of water arrived plus extra towels (although there were plenty already). In line with the common spaces of the hotel, the rooms are very tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are reasonably spacious, immaculately clean with solid and good looking fittings. 206 does not have a walk-in shower but a bathtub with an in-built shower: no worries here, this shower is heavenly! The towels should soon be replaced by new ones though:frequent washing has turned them into the kind of though cloth you would rather expect in a boys' boarding school indeed. 206 has a comfy downstairs sitting area and an inviting bed upstairs on the mezzanine with a window in the ceiling that can be closed by pulling a thick robe. The beds at the College hotel are very, very comfortable and make you sail off the moment your head touches the big, fluffy pillow. Although very cosy, many rooms are rather somber due to the dark colours of the upholstering and curtains combined with very discreet lighting. Normally we would not like this, but this is A'dam and the interior puts you in the right mood to enjoy the 17th century masters at the nearby Rijksmuseum.
Staff at reception, assisted by the chef who happened to pass by, were also more than helpful with booking a table (it was 8.30 pm by then) at one of the best fish restaurants in A'dam: Vis aan de Schelde; normally you need to book weeks in advance, but miraculously they had a table for us! This dinner was one of the best we had in the past six months! Thank you very much indeed!
As during our first stay, breakfast remains one area they seem to struggle with: it is served in what looks to have been the old "refter" canteen or sports hall, a beautifully restored large hall with lots of wood and trendy furniture, that looksout on to the courtyard that is furnished with stylish rotan garden furniture, has big olive trees and well trimmed buxus bushes. That is to say, you would have this view if staff would think of opening the curtains! One curtain was opened at my request, but the others remained closed, for no apparent reason, which is truely a shame. Breakfast now is a buffet with a good spread of smoked salmon, cheese and cold cuts, scrambled eggs (I do not recommend them), yoghurt, orange juice, croissants. Service is however still very slow and not very efficient: are they putting the absolute beginners here?? It turned out that our pre-booked breakfast had not been registered and brf would cost us 49€ for the two of us. This was however rectified upon check-out: not only did they reduce it to the agreed 30 € but they took the charge off our bill altogether! Needless to say that we were extremely satisfied with our stay at the College hotel and we will definitely return there! This is a college in the litteral sense of the word, but we find that true professionals might learn a lot from these yougsters who really do their utmost best to make your stay a success. Do they make mistakes? Yes they do, but the difference with a traduitional hotel is that at the College, at least, they will make up for it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathilde46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    204
    76
    35
    27
See reviews for
63
206
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We originally booked two days before going on to Paris and were so pleased that we returned for two more after returning to Amsterdam; additionally, I was unable to fly out the day I planned and once again came back to the College for an extra night. The entire staff was so welcoming that I truly felt at home and the disappointment of not being able to get back to the States as planned quickly dissipated at the College. The service was exceptional throughout our stay. This is a beautiful hotel in a great area within walking distance to museums but far enough away from touristy city center with great neighborhoods to explore.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunnyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Although the location is now the best attraction for this hotel (it is located next to the Van Gogh Museum and the P.C. Hooftstrat, but a little bit far from the other attractions), the College rests one of the best hotel in Amsterdam. Spotless room and bathroom (almost impossible to find in Holland), very professional concierge and high standard services. And not so expensive!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesecret2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I booked the College because I wanted 'boutique' and the Dylan and the Lloyd both looked too similar to much London interior design (and are also very expensive!). I had some last-minute misgivings about this hotel when I browsed some of the online reviews, but kept my fingers crossed that all would be OK for our stay if we were patient with the 'Fifteen' style social enterprise aspect.

In the event, The College delivered exactly what I wanted. I specifically asked for room 123, as recommended by two reviewers, and was rewarded with the most impressive hotel room I've ever been lucky enough to stay in. This room, on the first floor, is at the end of a projecting wing and features monumental 19th century schoolroom windows on three sides (think London Queen Anne Revival from the 1880's). The split-level interior has been cleverly and sympathetically decorated in a black lacquer and taupe colour scheme that in this context looks much more 'aesthetic movement' than Kelly Hoppen. And the shower was huge and torrential. Brilliant.

As some other bloggers have noted, the excellent interior design is occasionally let down by minor wear and tear, and the service is what you'd expect from teenagers; slightly hesitant and a bit gauche. Breakfast was expensive and the light switches in the room were just too clever to be usable. Don't let any of that put you off, though. In high summer, with the Centrum sweltering and full of gawping backpackers, The College is an air-conditioned oasis of style and poise. Located just beyond the tourist areas, but still around the corner from the boho Pijp district and the delights of Albert Cuyp Markt, it's a great base to explore contemporary Amsterdam. If you're the traveller who can sort out what to see and how to move around for yourself, it's absolutely perfect

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LastofEnglamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We've stayed at this gorgeous hotel a number of times now and I'm just a little bit in love with it. The bar area and drinks are great, the restaurant pretty divine, I love the slightly hit and miss service from the kids working there, it's all part of the fabulous charm. It's in a lovely spot near the Van Gogh museum, but easy to get to the main shopping bits by tram and the rooms - they are so dreamily good with beds to sink into, all lit beautifully, you'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julofromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The exterior of the College Hotel is pretty, and the interior is quite modern, welcoming and interesting. The bar occupies a large area of the ground floor, and is rather good, with comfortable nooks and crannies, many with working fire places; the restaurant serves well-prepared and imaginative food. The service was a bit 'Fawlty Towers' but we found ourselves tending to forgive the sometimes inept student waiters / student manager, as they were all generally eager, if inexperienced (for example, it took rather a long time to catch a waiter's eye, so as to place an order for a desert and tea, then the tea arrived before the desert - that sort of thing).
It's position is not far south of the main museums, so quite convenient, but a bit of walk to the 'Nine Streets'.
On arrival we asked for a quiet room, which the enthusiastic reception staff seemed excited to be able to arrange, although we didn't find it that quiet.
The lighting everywhere (but particularly in the rooms) is very low, and the colours are all muted and dark, which can make finding things an interesting challenge...
It's a fun hotel - go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This hotel is beautiful. They have done a fabulous job of creating a modern hotel but retaining the features of the old building. Its the only place I've ever been where there is a seat in the lift (one would think that if you are already taking the lift, perhaps you don't need the sit down?) which was an interesting design feature....

Our room was glamorous, high ceiling, wooden beams, divine Egyptian cotton sheets...but very dark. Mood lighting is fine, and welcome for romantic evenings, but not when you want to read a paper or a book, or locate something in your unpacked suitcase. The bathroom was also very good, with a powerful rain shower.

The hotel is right on a tram line so easy to get around if you don't mind being a bit out of the centre (museums are only 5 minutes walk away and its about 15/20 minutes walk to the centre). Its actually a good thing if, like us, you'd rather avoid the more tacky side of the city and don't mind a walk. There were some great local resturants a short walk away which we really enjoyed for lunch and dinner.

We only stayed one night and left early so we didn't try breakfast at the hotel or have too much to do with the staff. They seemed fine - not quite the standard of efficiency or professionalism you would expect at a more expensive chain hotel but totally adequate (we got the double bed we requested on the phone, the taxi we asked them to order arrived on time). The room wasn't ready until 3pm (we arrived just after 12pm) which was a little annoying as you'd normally expect hotels to be able to check you in if you arrive in the early afternoon, but it didn't really matter.

All in all, a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms - well worth the E150 we paid.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CQMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing