We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very affordable luxury hotel thanks the "hotel-school" concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #133 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very affordable luxury hotel thanks the "hotel-school" concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

A former college rebuilt in a luxury hotel in a very professional way. Everything has been re-done, the renovation is fantastic and the building is now a true hotel building. The hotel is staffed by learning students. Expect a beautiful place with the "adventures" that an amateur (in the positive sense) staff can offer. 8:30 wake-up calls rings at 6:00, check-out requires 10 minutes, No staff attended the garage despite a phone call. But the staff is so nice an patient and candid that I forgave everything. I'll definitively return. The college hotel is located south of downton and the vondel which is not to far away for a run. Ride to the city is EUR 10. Maybe not the best business hotel in town if you are in a rush but a fantastic place -even much better than more famous a more expensives places along the graacht- if you have time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    211
    78
    36
    27
See reviews for
67
216
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the College Hotel and loved it. The building itself is an old College and the large corridors and large door ways are still in tact. The decor is very warm and stylish. The room was very spacious, with a beautiful bathroom with a large tub that was perfect after long walks around the city.

The bar area is full of life, with a seemingly local crowd mixed with the hotel guests. The best thing is that the setup of the hotel means you don't get disturbed by the noise or anything. The service is warm and energetic, i was very impressed by the speed of things. When we called for something it seemed to be at the door before the phone was hung up. There are always little goodies such as macaroons at the front desk an apple drink in the lobby or the small raspberry tarts in the bar, which are great touches. The room was spotless and everything was functioning perfectly, we never had any problems.

They also have 2 vespa scooters which looked like fun, unfortunately i can't ride one and would probably have ended up under a tram if I had tried. There are bicycles also to rent there.

Amsterdam is a great city to visit, the conceirge helped us with excellent restaurant reservations and helping us understand the tram routes. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandEdlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel for the first time and for only one night a few months ago and thus, of course, my experience may not be considered to be totally representative of all this establishment represents to its certain fans. I recommended it yet with one or two suggestions.

The College is chic, contemporary chic, and slick and Dark (dark in that Schraeger hotels kind of way), its night all day because, hey, you’re that type .. aren’t you? … like us? . Dark equals modern and “Today”, an environment for an urban tribe that you are never sure will accept ya as a member or to which you even belong. Dark with smouldering fig scented candles, young staff, slicked hair, dark suits, black shirts with matching ties. Staff as your equal, your pal, a fellow traveller, ( here at the College they were never condescending .. for that try other Dark Temples of Today such as the Costes in Paris or a few places in NYC (You can guess).

A former school it continues to be a school for its staff, all students studying the Hotel business. On first reading this on their web site I was somewhat anxious that this could get in the way of the efficiency a business trip often requires, I needn’t have… all contact I had with the reception or any other member of the team at the College was excellent, friendly, efficient and far from amateur, If just for the team this place is a ten star.

I checked in at 5pm after my Thalys from Paris. True it was winter and dark outside but one guesses a hotel is hooked up to the grid. I was presented my beautiful room and left with a smile. My room was spacious, the walk in shower ample ( no bath but, hey, when you are in a rush….. ). But dark, very dark, black hole dark. The exploration in the dark began. I fumblingly found the light switches only to learn that I was none the wiser or seeing with all lit. Believe me I have never had any ambitions to be a miner – as in coal – and my stay at the College only compounded my certainty that I posses no aptitudes for that way of life. A step in my room down to the level of the bed proved treacherous. It honestly took me 20 minutes to find the sockets for my computer and chargers to get all up and running. etc. etc. I suggest each room is equipped with a pocket lamp or …. a miners hat ………. to assist guests navigate their habitat at The College. My room service breakfast arrived spot on time and was great.

My other, more sinister, point of dissatisfaction was on the moment of my departure. My checkout went perfectly and I asked for a taxi to bring me to the Central Train station. User beware! The taxi driver, chosen by the hotel, met me outside and, en route, insisted that he was a car service from the hotel and that the fixed rate was Euro 45. I insisted that I had requested a taxi and not a car service … my protestations fell on deaf, stubborn and rude ears. On arrival at the train station I called the hotel to request clarification and protest at the exorbitant fee for a journey that might have cost EURO 25. They promised to call me back … I am still waiting. I suspect they haven’t found the phone in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aTRIPinTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are plush. We stayed in Room #101 which was a dluxe double. It is worth it to pay a liitle more for the deluxe. The room was beautfully decorated with fine linens and down pillows. The bathroom was marlble and mosaic tile with his and her vanities as well as a separate tub and shower and toilet area. Robes and slippers are provided as well as flat screen tv,mini bar,24hr. room service. This room was huge! We had floor to ceiling windows and furnishings are soft comtemporary style with quality fabrics. I feel the value for the dollar was well worth the $285 per night rate.
The hotel is walking distance to the museums and is a perfect location. Not on a canal if that is what you are looking for though. The hotel has dimmed lighting as well in the rooms which I found relaxing. The restaurant and bar area are chic and draw a very well heeled crowd. First choice of hotels for me was the Dylan but didnt have any available rooms the weekend I was there and also more expensive. I am glad we ended up at The College Hotel. Love it!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionGDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed at The College Hotel over Valentines Weekend February 2009 having read reviews on Trip Advisor and in Wallpaper City Guide and Conde Nast Traveller.

The location for us was perfect. We had booked a concert at The Concertgebouw which is only a leisurely 10 minute walk away and wanted to see the Dutch Master paintings at the Rijksmuseum which is just across from The Concertgebouw. We had room 206 on the 2nd floor, a mini suite with a lower sitting area, wardrobe, bathroom etc and mezzanine bedroom area up some fairly steep stairs. The room was comfortable enough but had only a small high window and a rooflight in the bedroom area. Generally we found the room quite dark. Like the rest of the hotel it was decorated in dark colours with lots of black. We found this oppressive in deepest February with sleet falling and would not have liked it at all in summer. If anything, we found the decor dated even though the hotel is only a few years old. We had the continental breakfast in the restaurant and it was OK but no bargain at 19.50 Euros. We ate in the bar and the food again was OK but lukewarm, definitely not gourmet and expensive for what it was. They were building a dining terrace outside the dining room which would be great in spring and summer.

You have to be aware that as well as being a former college this hotel is now a school for hotel and catering staff (hence COLLEGE Hotel) so the service everywhere is not slick. We returned from the concert to find a hamburger that we had not ordered congealing in our room on a tray!

The bar is something of a local destination so when we got back and wanted a drink we had to compete with a considerable crowd for service. There is wi fi but it's charged at 14.50 Euros a day for high speed.

Overall, I expected to be knocked out by The College Hotel but wasn't. I think I would try somehere else in Amsterdam next time but if you like dark decor and are not that fussy about service the location is great.

As for Amsterdam itself, a beautiful city but with the pound at 1.10 to the Euro everything was pretty expensive and I can understand why Europeans are shopping in London right now.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriusExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

The overall design theme of this hotel is 'dark'. I had a nice enough room but with a really tiny window, way above head height, which was obscured by a beam: the window let in more noise than light. I am not quite sure how the glimpse of the eaves of a neighbouring building qualifies as a 'city view' - an Ann Frank experience perhaps.

The black furniture and low lighting emphasized the gloom. I asked for extra light and after two days one feeble desk lamp arrived but as there were no plugs near the desk it was pretty useless.

The room wasn't dirty but neither was it clean. The bedside surfaces hadn't been dusted when I arrived and hadn't been cleaned when i left either.

The hotel is essentially a training college for the Stein hotel group and whilst the kids are sweet the novelty soon wears off. There is only so much inept service one can stand when paying top dollar prices.

Room service was excruciatingly amateur, restaurant service was bizarre, and the food was undercooked.

For these prices it is hard to recommend being a guinea pig at this establishment.

  • Liked — Nice building.
  • Disliked — Amateur Service and gloom.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IndigoShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed for a night and paid 215 euros. The hotel is beautiful: a nice building very well done up, a stylish bar, rooms tastefully furnished and decorated. The original room which I was given had a window which would not shut completely. After a couple of staff tried to close it, I was offered a much nicer room.

The staff very nice and polite - a slight amateurish way (I understand that the hotel is also a training school) is endearing rather than annoying (that said, I was told that the window had not shut the night prior to my arrival either - why, then, was the room considered suitable for a customer?).

The bed was very comfortable indeed and the sheets of good quality, I dined at the restaurant and had a very enjoyable evening - the food was good (and, at 45 euros for a three course meal, reasonably priced for the standard of the hotel), the service excellent, the room very good indeed.

All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLeopardUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing